We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
135
18
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jensen brothers old florida mucky duck boat rentals bait shop cayo costa fishing tips great boat bubble room nice dock bedroom cottage cheeseburger in paradise manatees and dolphins real florida island life cabbage key within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 154 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We LOVED this place. From the moment we checked in we were treated so warmly. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating. We were really made to feel welcome. It's a charming little place. The cottages are clean and inviting and have all you need. We stayed in cottage number two - and it has a great screened in porch with a nice picnic table and two chairs. Our friends stayed in # 11 and it was awesome too. We were able to park our boat at the marina every night and they helped us find room for our trailer. We tried to go to Tween Waters for lunch by boat and were treated so rudely and that has happened several times before. We will not even consider Tween Waters next time. We'll stay here or try Jensen's on the Gulf. They have got the right attitude! We loved our stay:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a WONDERUL little marina on Captiva Island, and we loved staying here. While we weren't there to fish, we loved the atmosphere, the view.........the feeling :) We stayed in the cottage closest to the street. It's is an open floor design with kitchen, bedroom, living room all in one, with a separate bathroom. The cottage was small, but very clean. The Jensen brothers are VERY nice people. We loved watching the manatees, who were at the marina most of the time. The cottages were a very short walk to the island store and numerous restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We've stayed here and also just rented boats for the day, many times over the last 15yrs and it's always the same great, helpful service. The area is fantastic as are the brothers who run this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is not a review of the accommodations but rather the property and owner/staff.
My daughter and her husband own a home in Sunset Captiva and as such are just across the street from this Jensen's site (the other Jensen site is Gulf side).
We have gone over to Jensen's a lot of times during the past 3 years. One of the neat things is to go over there to see the aquatic life (late afternoon for the manatees) up close and personal. About once a month (I'm told) some of the locals gather at Jensen's to play some good old and not so old music. Gotta tell you that when we saw them they put on a great performance.
This past Christmas (I believe it was 12/14/13)we were at Captiva and they held their traditional flotilla of various boats (sail, motorized, etc) decorated for the Christmas season. This is a contest for whoever enters with prizes awarded at the conclusion.
The boats/mini ships (very large, large and small) were beautifully decorated with some playing Christmas tunes or just singing Christmas carols. It truly was a sight to see especially for someone who has never seen such a display.
The parade cruised directly in front of Jensen's (on the bay) down towards Tween waters.
If you are in the area during the Christmas time frame I would put this event on the "to do list" for sure.
Now back to the hospitality of the Jensen's. They aren't like some other property owners in resort areas as they don't post threatening signs saying that "if caught trespassing you'll be fed to the sea creatures or worse". Instead they welcome your visit with a warm greeting and a smile.
We plan on using their cottage's next Christmas as our daughter's home will be packed and we will need to seek alternate shelter and I could not think of a better place to stay.
Keep up the super hospitality and occasional music fests.

Room Tip: They all appear to be nice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you are looking for a laid-back vacation on Captiva, then Jensen's cottages (marina on Pine Island Sound) are the way go go. Sure, you could spend more, depending on season, for something at Tween Waters or South Seas, and you could have fancier things awaiting you, OR you could have a very nice cottage waiting you and just walk outside your cottage and viola! You could watch the manatees and green herons, go rent a boat, or walk right into the village. You can enjoy everything within the village. Park your car in front of your cottage when you get there and that's it. Explore everything from there - it's such a lovely place, and you'll appreciate being able to come right back to your cottage whenever you please. If you're here to fish, you'll love the little "Fishing Museum" on site. I recommend booking a trip during the weekends after Thanksgiving through the New Year so you can enjoy some of the fun holiday events that Captiva puts on each year. It's always great fun, and it's even more fun if you don't have to leave the island. Jensen's is a great spot to sit and watch the boat parade, too.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank TwoWheelsOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews