We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
134
18
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjensen brothersold floridamucky duckboat rentalsbait shopcayo costafishing tipsgreat boatbubble roomnice dockbedroom cottagecheeseburger in paradisemanatees and dolphinsreal floridaisland lifecabbage keywithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 153 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

At the last minute we decided to call Jensen's to see if we could get a private boat trip to the outer islands. Lucky us - Captain Lamar was available to take us out for a 3 hour trip. Our idea was to go to the outer island for some shelling, but we got so much more! As we were heading onto the shore of North Captiva Island, Lamar spotted some manatee. So we decided to get into the water and see if we could get a bit closer. Lamar stayed in the boat and helped us keep an eye on where they were surfacing, and we ended up within a foot of a very friendly manatee! It was awesome!

I can't imagine what made the previous reviewer say what he did about Captain Lamar - he was very knowledgeable about the area, friendly and helpful. Honestly sounds like the reviewer may have been having a bad day or was overly sensitive about something (note - we also had children with us).

Thanks again Lamar for a day none of us will ever forget! And, I'll be coming back to try your grilled foie gras some day :-)

Room Tip: This review is only for the boat trips - we didn't stay there.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank nodice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

It's no wonder that people come back here time and time again. Jensens has a relaxing island feel about it, where nothing is too much trouble. We've been visiting Captiva for some years now, but this is the first time at Jensens....and this is precisely where we will look first in the future. The cottages are quaint, clean and well equipped and the friendliness of the owners was nothing short of superb. The beach is a short walk away, and the site is convenient to everything else.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We made a last minute reservation here for a few nights after reading the trip advisor reviews. We had never been to Captiva before and didn't really know the area, etc.

We drove in and checked in at the office. The guys that work there were very nice and accomodating. We rented a two bedroom cottage on the marina side. We traveled with our two daughters and they could not stop going to see the manatees. They could aways be found just at the seawall.

We were within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the beach. It could not have been more convenient. The cottage was older, but well maintained. The AC was amazing! Even though it was extremely hot while we were there, the cottage stayed very cool. We made breakfast there each day and the kitchen was stocked with what we needed.

I thought I would be disappointed we didn't stay on the beach, but if we had done that....the kids would not have had the manatee experience. My girls don't like to fish, but if they did, we could get equipment and fish right off the dock or rent a boat and go out.

My kids collected shells from the beach and had a great time cleaning them and displaying them all around the screened in porch.

The one negative is that mornings are busy because it is a marina. People are coming to take boats out for fishing, etc. Each cottage has its own parking, but it is not marked as such. Sometimes your parking spot might be taken if you left and came back early. We never mentioned it to the office, because there was always a spot close by, but this might be something they can fix for the future.

If you are looking for fancy, this is not it. But, if you are looking for a place that is relaxing, family friendly, and close to everything, you have found your place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Looking to get away from the all the look-a-like condos, the hectic tourist scence and really experience the Florida gulf coat? Jensen's cottages are cozy and inviting and located right at the water. A short walk to the seawall and you'll see manatees swimming right up close.

We stayed in cottage number 10—a two bedroom two bath unit. Each cottages comes with a complete kitchen and an enclosed porch. The living room has a large TV with Comcast Xfinity included. The tables and chairs are comfortable, and the wireless internet is speedy. The units are somewhat dated stylistically, but immaculately clean (think old Florida). The air-conditioning is modern and more than capable of keeping up with the stifling heat. We loved every minute we spent here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rallred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

While we did not stay in the Jensen's Cottages, we did stop by one night on a tip (which we found on trip advisor!) that you may be able to see manatees. We were thrilled! They were all congregated around the docks out back just after sunset. There must have been 10-15 just hanging out, right there about 2 feet from where we stood. It was amazing. Beware of the bugs, however! You are definitely going to want some serious bug spray if you visit in the evening. It was wonderful to just sit and watch them swimming around, coming up for air, moving a small row boat around - we were mesmerized! A very quiet and peaceful place, this was a great, off the beaten path, place we visited and won't soon forget.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank LovesTheBeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews