We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Cottages Updated for 2012”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Jensen's fishing resort is a short walking distance to restaurants, a store and the beach. The cottage was newly renovated and had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was clean and comfortable and had a complete kitchen. There are tables and chairs at the marina and lots of manatee action in the water. It is perfect for fishermen and for tourists who want to do as little as possible. You can sit at the water side and read, watch time go by or just do nothing. It is old Florida with air conditioning and television and renovated cotteges. Try for one not near the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage in the middle, like # 10 so you are not near the road or too close to the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 138 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

Jensen's is a fishing resort within a short walking distance of every restaurant in Captiva village and the beach. The cottage was clean and comfortable and had a complete kitchen. The marina and office are perfect for fishermen and tourists who want to go out on the bay. It has the feel of what Florida was like before Disney.

Room Tip: A cottage midway between the street and the marina is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerChris_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages with our young children. We liked that the cottage had two good sized bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a spacious living room and a full kitchen. The furniture was pretty old and a bit shabby, but the space and location made up for it.

The location was ideal, as the children loved looking at the boats in the marina, looking at the beautiful birds and spotting the manatees that come right up to the dock! The marina is right at your doorstep. It is walking distance to the beach on the Gulf Coast side (although for little ones, you might want to rent one of the small scooter cars that they rent).

Overall, it was a great trip and I would recommend it for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerVacationGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights with daughter, son-in-law and 2 1/2 year old grandson living in cottage #10. Perfect size for the five of us with crib provided! The BBQ picnic area at the dock was so peaceful early morning and evening but bring briquets and a table cloth. Manatees were visible morning and evening and my daughter saw them frolicking at eleven o'clock one night. The staff were helpful and the other visitors, most coming for years, were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyreflections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Everything I expected after reading the reviews and more. If you like being left alone to get on with life where they throw away the rule book, this is the place. The Jensen brothers make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble, they are there to create a great Chill Out location and they have succeeded.

If you like fishing check out the on site store from buying a hook or renting a pontoon it's all there

Room Tip: Only saw our apartment which was great but the cottages looked good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger-marston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is an awesome place, older cabins close to town and the water. The people here are great, but then fisher people usually are. Captiva Island is spendy, but well worth it, and these cabins are reasonable priced, clean and cute.

Room Tip: The best thing to do is visit and look at the vacancies, they are so nice, we looked at 2 and decid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Low key, old cottages that offer nothing but great fishing, easy beach access, birdwatching, boating, and a great deal of laughter. These cottages are spotless. The enclave could be considered the last hold out of a simpler life on Captiva, BC - before causeway. Picnic tables, BBQ grills, spectacular sunrises on over bay make this a wonderful place for people who don't need to be waited on hand and foot, instead you can go at your own speed.
The kitchens are equipped if you'd like to cook.Restaurants, beach and the Island Store are all within a couple of blocks. The entire Captiva Village is a treat in easy walking distances. No sense going out into the rest of the world if you don't have to. Once you are there you'll understand why you won't want to leave.
If you are lucky there's manatees most of the time. If you are really lucky a few times a month Jimmy's band or Nashville songwriters will be making some music.
My parents are in their 80s. my friends in their 50's and other family in 30's and teens. They all love this place. I still make as much time as I can laughing and taking sights of people coming and going- fishing guides, boat rentals, manatee seeking, shrimp buyers, bicyclists, and people just looking because as soon as you cross through the palm trees, you know this place is different. It's real Florida, with great hospitality and a joy to be there.

Room Tip: Cabin 8 for a couple to wake up with a view of sunrise over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthCaptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,398 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,408 reviews
8.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina

Address: 15107 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $145 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina, Captiva's Boating & Fishing Headquarters, offers some of the most affordable accommodations on exclusive Captiva Island. Family owned and operated for nearly 40 years - our family & staff want to do all we can to make your stay the best. Our historical bayside marina setting offers you the choice of charming cottages and apartment suites. Each accommodation has a complete kitchen. The best location, directly on the waters of Pine Island Sound, closest to outer islands and steps from great restaurants, shops, galleries and the Gulf of Mexico's shell strewn beach. Family friendly, safe, like stepping back to a simpler, more innocent, time. Enjoy spectacular sunrises and evening stargazing, great fishing, boat rentals, bait and tackle, water taxi services, charter guide referrals, boat rides, manatee watching - or simply chillin on the beach. True Captiva - true peace & relaxation. You may also want to check out our Beach Resort ~ Jensen's "On The Gulf". Captiva's only boutique resort directly on the beach. Casual chic - on your own peace - True Captiva... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing