We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
136
18
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jensen brothers old florida mucky duck boat rentals bait shop cayo costa bubble room nice dock bedroom cottage cheeseburger in paradise cabbage key within walking distance fishing poles screened porch great shelling andy rosse gulf side
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 155 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is an awesome place, older cabins close to town and the water. The people here are great, but then fisher people usually are. Captiva Island is spendy, but well worth it, and these cabins are reasonable priced, clean and cute.

Room Tip: The best thing to do is visit and look at the vacancies, they are so nice, we looked at 2 and decided we liked the cabin with the screen porch.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Low key, old cottages that offer nothing but great fishing, easy beach access, birdwatching, boating, and a great deal of laughter. These cottages are spotless. The enclave could be considered the last hold out of a simpler life on Captiva, BC - before causeway. Picnic tables, BBQ grills, spectacular sunrises on over bay make this a wonderful place for people who don't need to be waited on hand and foot, instead you can go at your own speed.
The kitchens are equipped if you'd like to cook.Restaurants, beach and the Island Store are all within a couple of blocks. The entire Captiva Village is a treat in easy walking distances. No sense going out into the rest of the world if you don't have to. Once you are there you'll understand why you won't want to leave.
If you are lucky there's manatees most of the time. If you are really lucky a few times a month Jimmy's band or Nashville songwriters will be making some music.
My parents are in their 80s. my friends in their 50's and other family in 30's and teens. They all love this place. I still make as much time as I can laughing and taking sights of people coming and going- fishing guides, boat rentals, manatee seeking, shrimp buyers, bicyclists, and people just looking because as soon as you cross through the palm trees, you know this place is different. It's real Florida, with great hospitality and a joy to be there.

Room Tip: Cabin 8 for a couple to wake up with a view of sunrise over the bay.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IslandsEducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Jensen's offers Old Florida ambiance and wonderful casual service that is hard to find these days. The Marina Cottages are basic but perfect for a getaway. Even if you are not staying there, stop by the waterfront office/bait shop/store to get a feel for what Captiva and Florida was like before the developers took over.... If you do, I would not be surprised if you stayed there on your next Captiva visit.

Room Tip: Find a way to get out to nearby Cabbage Key for lunch or dinner. It's another fabulous Old Florida experience.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloatsomeJetsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

To celebrate our wedding anniversary, my wife and I just completed a 4 day stay at Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages. Living in Ft Myers, we enjoy finding local establishments that offer a true Old Florida experience. Starting with our warm welcome from John and Jimmy and ending with a gracious farewell from brother Dave, the Jensens' hospitality highlighted a wonderful 4 days on Captiva. It is easy to tell that the Jensen brothers enjoy their work and idyllic lifestyle in the heart of old Captiva. Every interaction with our hosts brought a smile and a story. Their easy laughter and true joy in serving their customers was the best part of our trip.

This is a place that invites you to leave your cell phones, computers and technology at home. At Jensen's, it is easy to enjoy a slower pace watching a sunrise over the bay, observing the manatees feeding and swimming at the marina, or gazing at the stars in the evening sky. If you are looking to simplify your life, this is the place.

Within walking distance to the beach via Andy Rosse Lane, you can park your car or dock your boat and not need to burn any fossil fuel for the remainder of your stay. We brought our beach chairs and a backpack to haul our picnic and drinks for our beach outings. There are plenty of restaurants and the Captiva General store within 2 blocks. Be aware that in September, several establishments close up for a few weeks for vacation during the slow season. There were still plenty of places available including the Mucky Duck, RC Otters, Cantina Captiva, The Green Flash, The Bubble Room, and Key Lime Bistro.

We stayed in Cottage #2 close to the main road. The screened porch entry offered an inviting sitting area for relaxing in the cool of the evening or for early morning coffee. The single room cottage was immaculate! The room was white beadboard with tongue and groove white wood ceiling. My wife really admired the light decor and questioned whether one of the Jensen boys picked the pretty floral curtains. We guessed that one of the Jensen spouses may have had a hand in the decoration. A well stocked kitchenette with stove, microwave,refrigerator / freezer provided ample storage space for our provisions and libations. Even with the king sized bed, the room was was light, open and remarkably comfortable. There is a flat screen TV with cable in case you need to watch your favorite local college football game. If you enjoy cooking out, there are a couple of weber grills next to the bay with picnic tables and cheeki huts so you can eat by the water. And if you want to rent a boat for some sight-seeing or fish with an experienced guide, the Jensen's will take care of all of your needs for your outing.

If you come, realize that this is not a super high end resort. There is no pool or spa. However, if you want a great getaway in a beautiful setting with access to either the bay or the beach, this is one of the most peaceful, enjoyable destinations in the area. The Jensen's are great people and they know how to make their customers feel special in this unique little corner of paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Jensens is not for folks who want a resort with fancy drinks and white fluffy robes. This is for the laid back, chilled and easy going. AND ITS AWESOME ! As are the owners who assisted me with a smile each time.

The room was spotless. Furnished with the necessities of being on the beach. The kitchen was perfect and stocked with everything you might need. The bed was extremley comfy and as the kids put it " the ac was freezing !" ( In august thats a good thing.) It reminded me of the beach house my friend had in the keys back in the day. It just made you feel warm and at ease.

It is a peaceful tranquil setting that made my two son's and our get away from the "real world vacation " PERFECT and we will stay there again. They fished off the dock and spotted manatee's and dolphins.

Ask for Dave. He is accomedating, friendly, fair and just amazing. THANK YOU JENSENS FOR A FANTASTIC FOUR NIGHT STAY !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancemom_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews