We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laughter, fishing, music and pure joy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Low key, old cottages that offer nothing but great fishing, easy beach access, birdwatching, boating, and a great deal of laughter. These cottages are spotless. The enclave could be considered the last hold out of a simpler life on Captiva, BC - before causeway. Picnic tables, BBQ grills, spectacular sunrises on over bay make this a wonderful place for people who don't need to be waited on hand and foot, instead you can go at your own speed.
The kitchens are equipped if you'd like to cook.Restaurants, beach and the Island Store are all within a couple of blocks. The entire Captiva Village is a treat in easy walking distances. No sense going out into the rest of the world if you don't have to. Once you are there you'll understand why you won't want to leave.
If you are lucky there's manatees most of the time. If you are really lucky a few times a month Jimmy's band or Nashville songwriters will be making some music.
My parents are in their 80s. my friends in their 50's and other family in 30's and teens. They all love this place. I still make as much time as I can laughing and taking sights of people coming and going- fishing guides, boat rentals, manatee seeking, shrimp buyers, bicyclists, and people just looking because as soon as you cross through the palm trees, you know this place is different. It's real Florida, with great hospitality and a joy to be there.

Room Tip: Cabin 8 for a couple to wake up with a view of sunrise over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthCaptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

Jensen's offers Old Florida ambiance and wonderful casual service that is hard to find these days. The Marina Cottages are basic but perfect for a getaway. Even if you are not staying there, stop by the waterfront office/bait shop/store to get a feel for what Captiva and Florida was like before the developers took over.... If you do, I would not be surprised if you stayed there on your next Captiva visit.

Room Tip: Find a way to get out to nearby Cabbage Key for lunch or dinner. It's another fabulous Old Flor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloatsomeJetsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

To celebrate our wedding anniversary, my wife and I just completed a 4 day stay at Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages. Living in Ft Myers, we enjoy finding local establishments that offer a true Old Florida experience. Starting with our warm welcome from John and Jimmy and ending with a gracious farewell from brother Dave, the Jensens' hospitality highlighted a wonderful 4 days on Captiva. It is easy to tell that the Jensen brothers enjoy their work and idyllic lifestyle in the heart of old Captiva. Every interaction with our hosts brought a smile and a story. Their easy laughter and true joy in serving their customers was the best part of our trip.

This is a place that invites you to leave your cell phones, computers and technology at home. At Jensen's, it is easy to enjoy a slower pace watching a sunrise over the bay, observing the manatees feeding and swimming at the marina, or gazing at the stars in the evening sky. If you are looking to simplify your life, this is the place.

Within walking distance to the beach via Andy Rosse Lane, you can park your car or dock your boat and not need to burn any fossil fuel for the remainder of your stay. We brought our beach chairs and a backpack to haul our picnic and drinks for our beach outings. There are plenty of restaurants and the Captiva General store within 2 blocks. Be aware that in September, several establishments close up for a few weeks for vacation during the slow season. There were still plenty of places available including the Mucky Duck, RC Otters, Cantina Captiva, The Green Flash, The Bubble Room, and Key Lime Bistro.

We stayed in Cottage #2 close to the main road. The screened porch entry offered an inviting sitting area for relaxing in the cool of the evening or for early morning coffee. The single room cottage was immaculate! The room was white beadboard with tongue and groove white wood ceiling. My wife really admired the light decor and questioned whether one of the Jensen boys picked the pretty floral curtains. We guessed that one of the Jensen spouses may have had a hand in the decoration. A well stocked kitchenette with stove, microwave,refrigerator / freezer provided ample storage space for our provisions and libations. Even with the king sized bed, the room was was light, open and remarkably comfortable. There is a flat screen TV with cable in case you need to watch your favorite local college football game. If you enjoy cooking out, there are a couple of weber grills next to the bay with picnic tables and cheeki huts so you can eat by the water. And if you want to rent a boat for some sight-seeing or fish with an experienced guide, the Jensen's will take care of all of your needs for your outing.

If you come, realize that this is not a super high end resort. There is no pool or spa. However, if you want a great getaway in a beautiful setting with access to either the bay or the beach, this is one of the most peaceful, enjoyable destinations in the area. The Jensen's are great people and they know how to make their customers feel special in this unique little corner of paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Jensens is not for folks who want a resort with fancy drinks and white fluffy robes. This is for the laid back, chilled and easy going. AND ITS AWESOME ! As are the owners who assisted me with a smile each time.

The room was spotless. Furnished with the necessities of being on the beach. The kitchen was perfect and stocked with everything you might need. The bed was extremley comfy and as the kids put it " the ac was freezing !" ( In august thats a good thing.) It reminded me of the beach house my friend had in the keys back in the day. It just made you feel warm and at ease.

It is a peaceful tranquil setting that made my two son's and our get away from the "real world vacation " PERFECT and we will stay there again. They fished off the dock and spotted manatee's and dolphins.

Ask for Dave. He is accomedating, friendly, fair and just amazing. THANK YOU JENSENS FOR A FANTASTIC FOUR NIGHT STAY !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancemom_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just returned from a long girls only weekend on beautiful Captiva Island. We were 10 women from 26 to 58 celebrating my daughters soon to be wedding. Although I have vacationed many times on Captiva, this was a first, but definitely not last stay at Jensen's. The cottages are well maintained, clean,very comfortable and cozy. The "resort" is a living being...has a vibe and personality of it's own. Captiva Island is a very popular vacation spot and teeming with visitors, but staying at Jensen's is like having the island to yourself. I absolutely recommend Jensen's over any resort accomodations on the island. Wish I could stay forever!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacksgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is old Florida at it's best with all the amenities including free WiFi. This resort, part on Pine Island Sound and part on the Gulf of Mexico, has been owned and operated by the same family since the 1970s. If you are looking for laid back cool without the BS of a corporate run place this is where you want to be. The office is an attraction in itself. The owners themselves either handle or oversee every detail. The place is extremely clean and the rates are reasonable and even under priced.They rent boats and other toys. Restaurants are within walking distance. Our family will be back soon. Thanks, Jensen family, for keeping it real.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCAdamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We've been coming to Jensen's Marina for years, and it's always like stepping back in time. It actually feels like a Northern Minnesota resort with banging screen doors, water right outside your door and crusty fishermen. Rooms are immaculate, furnishings are comfortable and well-loved. Kitchens are equipped with the necessities. Some rooms have less-desirable views out of side or main windows, so look into that before booking. People often passed right outside our bedroom window, which takes some getting used to. Bathrooms are small and basic - be sure to bring the toiletries you need. Kids love the dock and the manatees and pelicans that hang out there. The picnic area is very charming. Chartered fishing trips are available (and recommended: we caught enough fish for dinner for six one night, which a local restaurant cooked for us). The beach is barely a 10 minute walk away. We were a little leery of the heavy traffic through Jensen's driveway on this visit since we have little kids. It would be nice if the traffic were less busy or if parking were available behind the rooms instead of out front, since all those cars interfere with the relaxed, quiet and rustic feel of the place. The Jensen family is wonderful. Know that you're not checking into a chic-chic boutique hotel that caters to your every need but that you're staying at a truly authentic and unique resort that is hard to find these days - even in Northern Minnesota.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ortteb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,386 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,403 reviews
8.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina

Address: 15107 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $145 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina, Captiva's Boating & Fishing Headquarters, offers some of the most affordable accommodations on exclusive Captiva Island. Family owned and operated for nearly 40 years - our family & staff want to do all we can to make your stay the best. Our historical bayside marina setting offers you the choice of charming cottages and apartment suites. Each accommodation has a complete kitchen. The best location, directly on the waters of Pine Island Sound, closest to outer islands and steps from great restaurants, shops, galleries and the Gulf of Mexico's shell strewn beach. Family friendly, safe, like stepping back to a simpler, more innocent, time. Enjoy spectacular sunrises and evening stargazing, great fishing, boat rentals, bait and tackle, water taxi services, charter guide referrals, boat rides, manatee watching - or simply chillin on the beach. True Captiva - true peace & relaxation. You may also want to check out our Beach Resort ~ Jensen's "On The Gulf". Captiva's only boutique resort directly on the beach. Casual chic - on your own peace - True Captiva... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing