We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a wonderful week with my husband and pooch at this quiet, cosy, dog friendly get away! Great accommodation with bonus of excellent staff. Will be back for sure!!! Would recommend to friends and others looking for a terrific affordable vacation in an otherwise pricey patch of Captiva Island.

Room Tip: Ask for periwinkle loft if you bring your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChubbyMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Captiva Island Inn recently, and overall it was a very good experience! We would stay here again and recommend it to friends. Here are the details: we stayed in the Orchid cottage. The decor is really fun; it has a neat beachy feel. We're even planning to decorate our basement similarly – our Captiva away from Captiva! :)

The Orchid cabin is very big. It has a nice little dining/living area with a table and 4 chairs; a couch; and nice comfy chair; and a small TV. It has a full kitchen, a desk, and a daybed with trundle. This is all in one large area. One observation: the stove, electric, has to be about 30 years old. It could stand to be replaced. We didn't use it, though, so no biggie for us.

Then there is a good-sized bedroom with a queen bed and a couch that also pops out into a bed. This would probably be a good place for a family with kids, lots of sleeping space.

The bathroom is also a nice size, not too small. One thing I will say about the bathroom is that the fixtures in the tub could really use some updating - the faucet is pretty decrepit and at the very least, the shower head could use a good soak in some vinegar. The exhaust vent could also use a good cleaning.

Your cabin can be cleaned daily if you’d like, but we generally just requested new towels.

One thing that was rather disappointing was when we tried to open the windows. There are I think 5 windows in the living/dining area, but we could only open 2 of them. One had no screen; one had a screen that was so bent that we would have let in every critter in FL; and the last one had a broken latch. It was locked, but we couldn’t unlock it (except maybe with a wrench or pliers, and we don’t take those with us on vacation, hehe). There’s not much of a view (just the parking lot), but some fresh air would have been nice.

As far as the other aspects of the inn: they’re about 3 or 4 blocks from the beach. There is no where to park by the beach so you have to walk from the cabins. I didn’t find the walk to be a problem but for people with limited mobility maybe it would be. They have chairs and umbrellas for you to take with you.

The complementary breakfast was SO GREAT! The Keylime Bistro was just steps from our cabin, and their food was excellent. No need to get in the car and drive anywhere! The free breakfast voucher was valid until 11 AM. Don’t forget to tip your server! We didn’t have breakfast at the other place, RC Otter’s, although we did eat dinner there once and weren’t overly impressed. The one dinner we had a Keylime was awesome.

They have a small pool that we used once. The water was nice, warm as bathwater. Unfortunately we kept noticing a nasty smell when they wind would blow a certain way. I had noticed that there was a clearing next to the pool, which I thought was kind of strange – then I realized, it’s their septic system. They seemed to be having some kind of problem, leakage I think. Ick! We stopped by the office to let them know and the fellow working thanked us, and said they were aware, but didn’t give an estimate as to when they planned to get it fixed. Not a huge deal for us, since we mostly spent time on the beach, but I will say this: there is a really nice large house that can be rented out in whole or by rooms. It has some lovely balconies that look out over the pool/clearing area…and I would not be pleased if I wanted to relax on my balcony only to have the smell of sewage wafting up to greet me. Hopefully they will get that fixed soon.

The location is great. As I said, it is steps from Keylime bistro as well as a nice little grocery and liquor store, a coffee and ice cream shop, and right by the beach is The Mucky Duck. It’s not far from other eateries and shops too.

I think that’s it! As I said, I would definitely recommend Captiva Island Inn and would stay here again. I hope they get that septic system issue worked out; that is the one thing that would dissuade me from staying here, or at least in the main house that overlooks that area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WomanOnAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After all the jingle bells we needed to relax, we loved this small Inn. We were given a tour of the property by the front desk agent who recommended Sunshine Cafe, and made reservations for us. We were pleasantly surprised by the service, location, and the fun we had! Thank you, we are locals and will recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickyt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you! The staff appreciates your kind review and looks forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wow!! We had the whole third floor of the inn to ourselves. Booked as the Honeymoon Suite, it had two bedrooms -- one queen bed and one king, a huge living area and kitchen with a separate dining nook, a laundry room and the king room had another living area adjoining it. Both rooms had balconies. One overlooked the street, and the other overlooked the pool. You have your choice of two restaurants for breakfast. One is next door, the other is across the street. Mt he beach is a block's walk. At the end of the walk and right on the beach is The Mucky Duck, a pub with outstanding seafood. The only downside for us was that my husband has to have wi-if to work. His work enables us to travel more than we stay at home. He had to sit in one of the Adirondack chairs on the office's porch across the street to work. The beach is pretty shell-filled, but it was quiet and nice to walk on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you! The staff appreciates your kind review and looks forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The entire experience was great. The property manager in particular was able to accomodate our needs and knew exactly what we were looking for. I can't think of one thing I would change. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelmquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you! The staff appreciates your kind review and looks forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Step away from the frenetic world found on "the mainland" and enjoy everything that Captiva Island and the staff at the Captiva Island Inn, a wonderful B&B found in the heart of Capitva village. On arrival we were given an upgrade from the little room we reserved to one that was twice as big, and enjoyed the extra space. Not the Ritz, of course, but the room was comfortable, offering everything that two people just trying to unwind for a couple of days and nights needed. Once there, the car stayed parked as everything we needed was within walking distance. Multiple restaurants, including the one's partnered for the included full breakfast, a grocery/liquor store, watersports/bike rental shop - oh yes - and the Gulf beach were just steps away. What more could anyone want? Unfortunately, those "unwinding days" never last long enough - but the Captiva Island inn let's you forget what you have to go back to!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate South Florida locals who come out to the island. If you need a quick weekend away from the stresses of the week we are easy drive away. We hope to see you again soon! The Captiva Island Inn staff appreciates your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I wanted a place to get away for a few days over the Christmas holiday. Our hopes were pretty high - I wanted the beach, he wanted to bring the boat, we both wanted to bring our two large dogs, and we didn't want to pay too much. I was so thrilled when we called the Captiva Island Inn and were told that our dogs were welcome. They were so helpful in suggesting a couple of nearby marinas. We found one with an available slip and we were set!

The location is fantastic. Right in the middle of it all, yet tucked away and quiet. We stayed in the Orchid cottage, which was very spacious for the 4 of us. True, there is no beach view, but it's literally just a couple minutes to walk there. There are great restaurants and shops nearby, including a liquor store and a couple of small grocery and coffee shops.

The icing on the cake was the included breakfast. I mean, who includes a restaurant breakfast as part of the nightly rate? Amazing. The food was really, really great and the service was also wonderful at both restaurants. We even had dinner there one night since it was so convenient. My only critique is the wine prices at the Key Lime Bistro. To charge 76 bucks for a ten dollar bottle of wine (J Lohr), for example, seems pretty ridiculous. We found a less marked up bottle that we liked so we were happy, but were just shocked to see such markup.

Anyway....thank you for the wonderful stay, we will absolutely, positively be back. Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lseib262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

The Captiva Island Inn staff thanks you very much for the kind review. We look forward to serving you in the future! Have a great New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
12 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,553 reviews
2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11509 Andy Rosse Ln, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Captiva Island
Price Range: $133 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Captiva Beach, fabulous restaurants, and quaint shops, the Captiva Island Inn provides the perfect location in the heart of the beachside Captiva Village. The Captiva Island Inn’s cottages and suites sit squarely between the Captiva Island beach on one side and the bay on the other. Either way you go, the scenery is fantastic… Captiva Island Inn Accommodations. 17 Unique 1 and 2-Bedroom Cottages, Suites, and Rooms. Choose a 1-bedroom cottage, a 1-bedroom suite, a 2-bedroom suite, the 2-bedroom penthouse suite or relax in splendor with an ensuite room in a gorgeous 5,000 square foot home. Or, if you desire, rent the entire Celebration house. We have accommodations to suit every need! See why Southern Living Magazine featured the Captiva Island Inn as one of their top beach picks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Island Hotel Captiva Island
Captiva Island Inn Bed And Breakfast
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing