We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and Lovin' It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Step away from the frenetic world found on "the mainland" and enjoy everything that Captiva Island and the staff at the Captiva Island Inn, a wonderful B&B found in the heart of Capitva village. On arrival we were given an upgrade from the little room we reserved to one that was twice as big, and enjoyed the extra space. Not the Ritz, of course, but the room was comfortable, offering everything that two people just trying to unwind for a couple of days and nights needed. Once there, the car stayed parked as everything we needed was within walking distance. Multiple restaurants, including the one's partnered for the included full breakfast, a grocery/liquor store, watersports/bike rental shop - oh yes - and the Gulf beach were just steps away. What more could anyone want? Unfortunately, those "unwinding days" never last long enough - but the Captiva Island inn let's you forget what you have to go back to!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate South Florida locals who come out to the island. If you need a quick weekend away from the stresses of the week we are easy drive away. We hope to see you again soon! The Captiva Island Inn staff appreciates your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 307 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I wanted a place to get away for a few days over the Christmas holiday. Our hopes were pretty high - I wanted the beach, he wanted to bring the boat, we both wanted to bring our two large dogs, and we didn't want to pay too much. I was so thrilled when we called the Captiva Island Inn and were told that our dogs were welcome. They were so helpful in suggesting a couple of nearby marinas. We found one with an available slip and we were set!

The location is fantastic. Right in the middle of it all, yet tucked away and quiet. We stayed in the Orchid cottage, which was very spacious for the 4 of us. True, there is no beach view, but it's literally just a couple minutes to walk there. There are great restaurants and shops nearby, including a liquor store and a couple of small grocery and coffee shops.

The icing on the cake was the included breakfast. I mean, who includes a restaurant breakfast as part of the nightly rate? Amazing. The food was really, really great and the service was also wonderful at both restaurants. We even had dinner there one night since it was so convenient. My only critique is the wine prices at the Key Lime Bistro. To charge 76 bucks for a ten dollar bottle of wine (J Lohr), for example, seems pretty ridiculous. We found a less marked up bottle that we liked so we were happy, but were just shocked to see such markup.

Anyway....thank you for the wonderful stay, we will absolutely, positively be back. Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lseib262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

The Captiva Island Inn staff thanks you very much for the kind review. We look forward to serving you in the future! Have a great New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Some have mentioned a certain "uncleanliness," however 1) this is a quaint little hotel/B&B; 2) it's on the beach; 3) IT'S NOT THE RITZ! I realize we spend a lot of money on this little properties, but embracing a little wilderness is ok. Don't expect the same level of redundant cleaning here as you would the Waldorf. It's part of the charm. If you can't handle some dust, dirt, and sand go back North. If you want an authentic and extremely pleasant Florida vacation, the way it should be, look no farther. This property is hands-down amazing. And, if you have little ones, just let the nice people at the desk know ahead of time, and give them Benadryl before you come to dinner :) But, seriously, all should come here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are beachier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

The Captiva Island Inn staff thanks you very much for the kind review. We look forward to serving you in the future! Have a great New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway to Captiva Island for my birthday. And what a pleasant surprise it was to pull up to this quaint Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of Captiva Island... The friendly staff, Jason and Corbin, knew it was my birthday and treated us like royalty! It truly was old Florida Hospitality at it's best! They put us up in a sweet and cozy beach cottage with all the amenities of home. It was perfect and very romantic! Every night, we loved eating at the Mucky Duck down the street and enjoyed the live music from the beach as we watched the lovely sunsets. And every morning with our stay, breakfast was included at our choice of two restaurants next-door, The Key Lime Bistro and The Otter. We can't wait to come back to our new wonderful home away from home! Corbin and Jason were simply the best! They made our stay one that we will never forget! Thank you to the Amazing staff for helping to make this a special Birthday!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review, we hope to see again soon! Happy Birthday! Captiva Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place was so perfect! It was a gorgeous example of "Old Florida" with all the charm and character you would expect. if you are looking for shiny and new, try a standard issue resort, if you want to relax and enjoy, go to the Inn. My husband and I went for our honeymoon and it was delightful. It is in the heart of Captiva so we were able to walk everywhere. The restaurants there tend to have pretty heavy food, so being able to grill and cook ourselves was perfect. We were about a block and a half away from a sunset on the beach every night. I loved this place and we will go back every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for choosing Captiva Island Inn for such a special occasion! We look forward to seeing you again next year! The Captiva Island Inn staff appreciates your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We drove into Captiva for a night while staying in a nearby town for two weeks. Bird of Paradise was the only room available. The check-in rep told us it was her favorite room but check-out wasn't for a few hours, so given some reviews we had read in travel guides and her recommendation, we paid up front. It would have been a lovely room had it been cleaned in recent months. I'm not talking dust under beds, I'm talking about dust in plain sight. Ewww. We were also told that they regretfully did not carry cribs or pack 'n plays (something the travel guides said they would have on hand), but that our toddler would be more than comfortable in the pull out couch. It was FILTHY. In all honesty, I was afraid to touch a lot of things in the room. Had we planned on staying for more than one night, I would have asked for our money back, but since we were doing just the beach and dinner, we thought we'd stick it out. Later in the day, after showering, I stopped into the front office to ask for towels and it was clearly an inconvenience to the now-different front desk rep. It's a shame. It has the location and the potential, but it doesn't seem to have the desire to live up to its potential.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FlipFlopFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

I am sorry you were unhappy with the Bid of Paradise, it is a quaint, and historic cottage. If you are traveling with an infant we would like to know in advance so that special arrangements can be made for the little ones. We welcome families but given the care a small child needs would like to make sure you have everything you need for a safe and happy stay for your family.

We provide free beach chairs and umbrellas although not beach towels they can be purchased at nearby shops, we provide towels and linens for the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I really loved the little Captiva town it reminded me of Key West, we booked the love shack and lantana, the desk clerk Corbin suggested we stay in the main house so we could all be together. It was an amazing beautiful home! Breakfast is at two restruants but we just went to Keylime Bistro and it was great. This is classy place with friendly staff. We already booked for next year! Thank you Captiva Island Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polos2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, It was pleasure serving you and your wonderful family we look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
329 reviews
12 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,553 reviews
2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11509 Andy Rosse Ln, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Captiva Island
Price Range: $133 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Captiva Beach, fabulous restaurants, and quaint shops, the Captiva Island Inn provides the perfect location in the heart of the beachside Captiva Village. The Captiva Island Inn’s cottages and suites sit squarely between the Captiva Island beach on one side and the bay on the other. Either way you go, the scenery is fantastic… Captiva Island Inn Accommodations. 17 Unique 1 and 2-Bedroom Cottages, Suites, and Rooms. Choose a 1-bedroom cottage, a 1-bedroom suite, a 2-bedroom suite, the 2-bedroom penthouse suite or relax in splendor with an ensuite room in a gorgeous 5,000 square foot home. Or, if you desire, rent the entire Celebration house. We have accommodations to suit every need! See why Southern Living Magazine featured the Captiva Island Inn as one of their top beach picks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Island Hotel Captiva Island
Captiva Island Inn Bed And Breakfast
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing