We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Cape Coral Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I got the (birthday) gift of a two night stay here from my brother and sister-in-law. What a treasure. Charming, cozy cottages with a short walk to the beach. Jason, the front desk staff was extremely accommodating. We asked for a late check-out, an iron, etc. all requests were met quickly and with a great attitude. Your stay includes breakfast at either the Key Lime Bistro or R.C. Otter's. Both had very good breakfasts, we preferred Key Lime Bistro, slightly over Otter's...the food, just a bit better. Despite rather rainy (unseasonable) weather, we enjoyed the beach. With the Mucky Duck restaurant, right on the beach, cold beer is readily available; no alcohol, yet-they are working on getting their license. I wouldn't venture much, in to their menu; anything other than the basics were mediocre...i.e. the burger and fries were good. I highly suggest a trip to The Mad Hatter, at the beginning of Captiva; a cozy, cute, but elegant (you have to see it!) restaurant with 5 star (if there were such a thing as 6 or 10 star, I would rate it so) cuisine and a marvelous wine list. We have eaten there several times and it was always outstanding; excellent service as well.

Room Tip: We were in "Rosebud"; any of the cottages toward the rear are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsadogslife52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    47
    38
    34
See reviews for
50
162
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The bed and breakfast was a good place to stay on the island. The small cottages were clean and charming. We stayed in the Hibiscus cottage and it could have used some updating, but it was clean. The beach is a little far for my taste (we brought a young child), but the walk isn't bad for adults. The breakfast that is included was great. We ate at RC Otters twice (we prefered this place for breakfast) and key lime bistro once. The location is great as it's right next to a few restaurants, the small grocery store, and stores. Overall I would recommend staying here if you want to stay on Captiva Island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in the Celebration House, got married on the beach and had an amazing time. The staff was extra friendly and willing to do anything within their power to make your stay enjoyable. 5 stars from the newly weds!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominoooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at the Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast. While the weather and beaches were beautiful the cottages were not. We stayed in the Orchid cottage and it needs updating both for modernization and comfort. The owners would be well served by investing some money into each unit, specifically: mattresses - the worst I've slept on in years, the sofa was a better option, with a blanket on it of course; replace television, it was very small with a built-in VHS (yep) player; lights that worked; replace musty window A/C units; a shower that drains; and add a dishwasher - who really wants to use utensils from a cupboard that a prior guest may or may not have washed?
While we appreciate the beach cottage and quaint nature of the property I cannot imagine that we would ever return without some needed updates.
On the upside, the Keylime Bistro was very good for both breakfast and dinner. The live music was different each night so they offered something for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for your business and input. The Orchid Cottage is one of the few remaining historical cottages left on Captiva Island, in order to preserve the originality we are limited to what we can do structurally to it. The Orchid Cottage has housed some interesting people such as Anne Morrow Lindbergh who wrote "Gift From the Sea." We hope to keep preserving this cottage as large homes and resorts have almost eliminated the remembrance of bygone simpler lifestyle without as many modern distractions.

We appreciate your business at our restaurants and Inn and we hope to see you again soon, your input will be addressed. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Captiva Island hotels

Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We live in Punta Gorda just a hour north of Captiva Island, My wife and I were in need of a get-a-way from reality for the weekend, this place was great! We ate every morning at keylime Bisto and the food was excellent portions were big. The room was a small cottage and my wife adored it, she had some issues with the deck having leafs and table being dirty, the manager himself went and swept and cleaned the table. The a/c was a window unit and made some noise but not a big deal. It is service and value that will keep us coming back..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were upgraded (by the outstandingly gracious property manager Corban) to the Hibiscus cottage when we arrived for a 4 night staycation from Tampa - roomy living room/ kitchenette with comfy full/queen bed & large bathroom. Good size proch to store stuff on (no issue with crime to worry about here)
Difficult first night as cottage AC had some trouble getting down to sleeping temp (75 on vaca) and insisted on raining on us in the bathroom (condensation) but keep in mind....this is an old Florida cottage! Unfortunately there seemed to be no timers on the parking lot lights so my hubby unscrewed them at 3 am the first night when we just could not take it anymore! - that issue needs to be taken care of (& has probably already been remedied - attention is paid to this facility)
We were kept with clean towels but a broom for our use to take out sand would be a good idea. The dishware provided needed cleaning but we had brought our own (& a blender - this is frozen drink beach country!). If we needed something - asked Corban & it was taken care of.
The pool & grounds seemed well maintained but the entire island is in desperate need of mosquito control (bad enough that we are unlikely to return for that reason & that reason alone - repellant did not stop these things!).
Breakfast is provided in one of two restaurants but you need to tip out the staff when you eat - you are in a restaurant!
Would definitely go back - but someone has to tell me mosquitoes are gone (& no see ums should also be addressed if possible) - beautiful place on a beautiful island

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed in the Orchid Cottage
Pluses+ 10 minute walk to the beach, don't need to use your car at all, we actually decided to rent scooters for fun but not necessary everything is right next door. RC Otters is delicious and so is the mexican Cantina. Room was very cute
minuses- kinda of in a back alley with a slight smell, mold in the shower, main faucet was black. and an OLD TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybeemiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
11.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
8.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11509 Andy Rosse Ln, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Island Hotel Captiva Island
Captiva Island Inn Bed And Breakfast
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing