We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bug infested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
toledo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bug infested”
Reviewed March 18, 2007

There was mold of the window treatments. The lights in the room were not working. The covers on the outlets were coming off the wall. If you were really bored you could sit on the toilets and kill the bugs that infested the bathroom. The place is overrated . I can send pictures of the bugs.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bugs and mold in the room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank ToledoShepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    721
    272
    109
    77
See reviews for
1,057
1,213
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

Eventhough we saw some previous bad reviews on trip advisor regarding the Tween Waters Inn we still booked a cottage there and wanted to give it the benefit of the doubt. Boy were we glad we did. The staff was very courteous throughout our stay. No matter who it was they were very friendly and happy to assist in every way. We spent a long weekend as it was "girls weekend" away from family and our everyday work schedules and it was so worth it. We each partook in spa treatments and felt the services and staff to be friendly and professional. We stayed in the Snapper cottage - 101 which was extremely nice and new. No bugs and a fantastic view of the ocean. Also the cottage was extremely clean. Well done and a great location. The continental breakfast each morning was filled with fresh fruit, cereals, juices, pastries and more than enough to keep one satisfied until dinner. We would book this place again and cannot wait until our return next year!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MKTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home at home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

The location on The Gulf cannot be beat, however, there were aspects about the room that were questionable. For example, when my husband pulled the shower curtain closed, the rod fell down. When we turned one of the switches on in the bathroom nothing happened. When we turned on the other light switch in the bathroom we heard an awful (loud and obnoxious) ceiling fan but finally got some light. As for the blow dryer, the mount was hanging loose from the bathroom wall. The bathroom was hazardous, especially for our two children, and too old to look clean. But the location on The Gulf cannot be beat, so think twice about what you want in your hotel accommodations when it comes to this Inn.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank eleveneleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We too had read a couple recent cricital comments re 'Tween Waters Inn and were surprised, as we live nearby on Sanibel Island and often visit the resort for dining and recreation activities (my wife took a seaplane ride from the TWI marina on her birthday).
Our impression has always been very positive.
We had the occasion to stay the weekend while tile work was being done on our home. Our experience was terrific from arrival to departure. With 2 small children (4 and 2) who are very active, there was much to do between pool, beach, shelling and other activities. Bonus for opur kids was the arrival of a seaplane that Saturday (we stayed bayside overlooking marina in a very nicely updated suite with a flat screen), our two year old boy spent about an hour waiting for the plane to return. Bottom line: the room was clean, newly renovated, very nice and contemporary, help was courteous and the grounds beautiful. Now our kids bug us about going back every time we drive by!

  • Liked — Location, history, hospitality
  • Disliked — internet service was spotty
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jackabobacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

After booking our stay at Tween Waters, but before leaving on our trip to Captiva Island, I read recent reviews of the Tween Waters Innand was a little worried. We were pleasantly surprised. Our family (my, my husband, 2 1/2 year old, 5 month old, and my in-laws) stayed for 5 nights in early January. We stayed in a bayside suite with kitchen, while my inlaws stayed in a traditional hotel room with an ocean view. We had absolutely no problems with bugs in either room - the rooms were very clean, though with rather outdated decor. Housekeeping did a great job every day, cleaning our dishes and getting everything in order and giving plenty of towels. There is a small sign in the kitchen warning us to put food away in sealed containers to keep bugs away, but again, we saw no bugs at all. The pool area (including wading pool for kids and two hot tubs) was great. Clean, helpful waitstaff, plenty of towels and chairs. The fitness room isn't good, but it is easy to go for a run along the road in front of the hotel. The ocean is across the road, but very, very close. Not a problem at all. We had the complimentary continental breakfast every day and were actually impressed - loads of fresh fruit, cold cereals, cheese, breads, and pastries. We also ordered pancakes off the menu one day - very good. Out of curiousity, we took a look at one of the cottages on the property - definitely the way to go. They are newly decorated, again very clean, and really attractive. The Tween Waters is a very old resort, and you shouldn't expect luxurious accomodations, but we found it very casual and friendly, clean, and fun, and we'd definitely return.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank JTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

First I'd like to say most the posts for this resort are true, we flew in from Detroit without booking a room because we were too scared to get ourselves committed somewhere and end up wanting to leave and having to pay a fee! It sure does look great from the website though, so we thought we would give it a chance and booked 2 nights....Good thing! After one night of seeing these small little crawling bugs all over our bathroom and kitchen, I was ready to go. The front desk staff was more than bothered upon my complaints, but let us check another couple rooms out.

Well, they let us change rooms 2 times till we could not find any bugs. So this being our third room... packing up myself, husband and 3 small children, we went to the pool to hang out. The pool is a blast, waitstaff at the bar are great and we were very relaxed down there! Kids splashing in pool, laughing and did not seem to bother anyone.

Returning to the room, found huge ANTS all over the kitchen counter and on the ceilings.......When we confronted the front desk staff about our bug problem again, they simply replied, "Oh, you must be from up north somewhere and are not used to bugs! This is Florida and we have them everywhere!" AHhh!! My husband killed about 10 and we decided to shut the door to the kitchen and try to sleep it out! We woke up at 5 am and headed for Fort Myers!

The breakfast is nothing to brag about, fruit, yogurt, bagels....

We probably will not return due to the bug problem and rudeness of the front desk staff...mostly the young girls up there working were rude.

  • Liked — beautiful beachfront
  • Disliked — the bugs in the rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jennyschem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2006

Our "Baby Moon" vacation to Captiva had some problems, and they were all due to the Tween Waters Inn. I will do my best to be fair and honest about the stay (there are some positives). As a global business traveller, I have come to expect certain things from "resort" properties and from places charging "resort" rates. My experiences range from Luxury resorts for vacations and business conferences to Days Inns on overnights into the boondocks. So, I feel like I know a thing or two about this stuff.

Reservations: The TWI made my wife feel as though she committed a mortal sin by changing our reservations two weeks prior to arrival (our party went from 4 to 2). TWI was rude, pretentious and slightly nasty to her during the process- where we EXTENDED our stay!!! One more thing, how come the property looks NOTHING like the website or brochures make it out to be???

Check-in: Was painless enough, but clearly the staff had better things to do than deal with customers. They had ZERO local knowledge or just simply couldn't be bothered. UPCHARGE city, everything has an upcharge, and they start hitting you up for them as soon as you check in.

NOTE: during the check-in process, no one mentioned anything about the property or anything happening on the property. We found out at lunch that THE POOL IS EMPTY. The board of health had ordered it drained for repairs. A week before Christmas and the pool is EMPTY!!! Whats worse is that NO ONE on staff knew when it would be repaired, and worse the front desk staff didn't even KNOW it was empty. They actually had the audacity to say to us "what do you mean it's empty? You must be mistaken." We were told that we could use the TWI's sister location's pool (three miles away). The Castaway's pool is a fraction of the size of the TWI pool, has no hot tub, no towels, no vending or poolside bar, and is full when there are 6 bathers. MAJOR disappointment, not to mention NO shuttle service between the two locations.

Room/Cottage: The Orchid Cottage is nice enough. Smallish for the price, but nice enough. Yes, there are ANTS- but nothing major. There seemed to be worse bug problems in the "hotel" rooms. Complaints of fleas, LOUD AC, and outdated ammenities abound. Our in-room safe did not work, and needed to be replaced- it was a day later. One quirky thing about the room; there was an overabundance of light switches and after three days we still couldn't figure out what some of them were for. Housekeeping did a nice job, but considering it was a beach resort there were never enough towels and the ones they had were health club quality- again a dissappointment for a "resort".

Beach/Gulf: GORGEOUS sunsets. Nice "cabanas" (Beach lounge chairs with mats and shade) and old, but functional beach chairs and umbrellas. Because the pool was out, the chairs and cabanas were complimentary. However, TWI clearly kept this to themselves as we only found out from the "cabana boy" who sits out on the beach all day writing down the usage of the chairs. Most of the guests we spoke to knew nothing about the complimentary chairs as the sign indicating prices is the first thing you see when you walk on the private beach. The gulf is great for shelling, swimming, lounging and watching the birds feed and the dolphins swim by. The beach ABSOLUTELY saved our vacation.

Breakfast: Continental was complimentary with our reservation package. Nothing special.

Lunch: Crappy grilled grub. Nachos covered in cheese whiz and 7-Eleven Chili. Go off site.

Dinner: HELLO!!! The last place on Captiva that I thought I would have a GREAT meal is the TWI. After all the frustrations of the staff and facilities, we thought dinner would suck. How wrong we were. The service is very sweet and almost homey (versus professional and articulate). My meal of Carribean Grouper was the best meal I had on island, not to mention the best Grouper I've ever had (having lived in Miami for 3 years, I've eaten my share). The wine list is not long, but complimentary to the food. As my wife is with child, she has some dietary restrictions. The staff accomodated and made recommendations accordingly. Usually this means a second vegetable or some such thing. Our waiter TL and the chef reworked two of their entrees to make a "super" entree for my wife. They didn't have to do this, but were happy to. The meal was spectacular. I was almost afraid to have dessert as my dinner was so great. Dessert was amazing too.

Overall: The front desk staff and management have absolutely no idea what is going on. They are rude, unprofessional and to make matters worse, they are unaware. I realize that things go a little slower and recognize the whole "island time" thing. However, as other Tripadvisor reviewers have had similarly bad experiences, you'd think they might catch a clue. Captiva is (albeit a tad expensive) nice and everything good about our vacation had to do with the island and not the TWI. Aside from our dinner, there is nothing I can say positive about the TWI. I was glad when we left the TWI, but not when we left Captiva.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service/Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Captiva, stay away from the TWI
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank godzuki24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,828 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing