We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Comfortable and Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife, our Labrador and I just spent a long weekend (3 days and nights) at Tween Waters for our wedding anniversary. It was our fourth or fifth visit and each time we like it more and more. The front desk staff is friendly and courteous, the grounds are well kept and the restaurants on site all serve good reasonably priced food. Our favorite is the Crow's Nest because of its casual vibe and super friendly bartenders and staff. At the end of a long day on the water it is a great place to wind down. The live music was very nice on the two nights we ate there. Try the pizza and the calamari, both were excellent. We bring our waverunner and explore the area. On this trip we encountered some amazing wildlife including about a dozen dolphin and two large manatee.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, we always try for one of the cottages on the ocean side of the property. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,066 - 2,072 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently had a family reunion here. 3 hotel rooms booked along with a marina slip rental. We like this place a lot and come here often on our boat. However it is really a slap in the face when you go to the restaurant for breakfast and find out that the family members who have a hotel room get a free breakfast but for us in the marina did not. Our marina slip was over $100 per night. Tween only supplies electricity and water. Nothing else. So go figure why us staying in the marina can't get a free breakfast? Really? How ridiculous is this. Tween doesn't have to take care of a room and handle all the costs of maintaining a room when you're on your own boat. So needless to say every morning that we wanted to have breakfast with our family it cost us $12 for their continental breakfast buffet. You can't order anything cheaper than that. Not happy! Will not plan another reunion there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Dottiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dottiv,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I do apologize that you were disappointed with our hotel policy. As a marina guest you are entitled to complimentary use of all resort amenities including our pools, beach, tennis courts, etc. In addition we offer our marina guests complimentary electric, water, cable TV and Wi-Fi. It cost us approximately $10 per person to offer our breakfast buffet to our resort guests. Unfortunately the price we charge, of $2.60 per foot which is very competitive with other local marinas, does not allow us to offer our complimentary continental breakfast buffet. In the past we have discussed offering a slightly higher per foot rate and include our breakfast buffet but most boaters that we polled opted for the lower rate without breakfast. In addition a vessel could have 2, 4, 6 or more persons staying aboard. We find it difficult to account for the number of persons per vessel in a per foot rate. I hope this gives you a better understanding as to why we do not offer complimentary continental breakfast buffet to our marina guests. We do try to offer our guests many other value added advantages to staying with us. For example we are now offering a prepaid pre-purchased dinner dining credit card that entitles the purchaser to a 20% discount to dinner purchases on our property. Please ask our reservation counselors or our marina staff for details. We thank you and your family for staying with us and we do hope you will reconsider and stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our beautiful islands. If I may be of any further assistance or you would like to discuss our policy or offer suggestions please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards.

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts
Dbabcock@Tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Spent a long weekend here for a family wedding. Our room was facing the gulf so a beautiful view from the screened balcony. Comfortable, clean, cool and quiet. Bathroom was updated, bed linens and towels were good but carpet edges were frayed. Resort pool was large and included a separate "kiddie" pool in the shade. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. The pool and adjoining bar closes at 5:30pm; not a problem for us. The complimentary continental breakfast had fruit, juices, cereal, bagels and Danish. Only small "complaint" would be the system they use for beach/pool towels. Sometimes, especially with a big family, keeping track of # of towels and blue cards we had was confusing. Very easy access to the beach across the street with plenty of umbrellas with chairs and cabanas for rent. Be advised that beach is very shelly and not comfortable on bare feet! Outside of the resort, not many restaurants close by. Also a 45-60 minute car ride from Ft. Myers I-75 exit.

Room Tip: We were in the "Sea Grapes" bldg. which faced the gulf and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momlubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I HOPE that Maria is there at the end of this month! She is Truly a gem!!!
The beach is the reason that we went, but ended up spending most of our time at the pool!
"The New Moon" sailing boat experience is NOT to be MISSED!.. Mike Gurley is a wonderful guy and knows all the places to show you! I haven't traveled very much, but this place is DELIGHTFUL!!! I don't think that it could be ANY BETTER!

Susie

Room Tip: I like to stay by the marina! I like the activity, but I suppose some people would rather have it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mymackinac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

the place itself is lovely. rustic tropical. quaint. if you are looking grand scale luxury this is not for you. the staff was in general efficient, friendly and accommodating. we were there for a wedding and on the plus side the food was suberb. everything dish we tried was a winner. the downside for us was the room. we had the "ding darling" cottage. a one bed with a small combined living area and kitchenette. it was small and dark to the point of almost being claustrophobic. the furnishings were cheap and ugly. there was absolutely no esthetic all to this cottage. the bedroom was mainly taken up by the king size bed. since there was not enough room to lay my suitcase out i had no choice but to use the drawers in the bedside tables which were so cheaply constructed that they fell completely out if you pulled them out more than about 4 inches. the bathroom was all new, but very very small. the bath towels were way too small and as thin as paper, but the worst thing about the bathroom was that the mirror over the sink was made for tall folks, at 5'1" i had to stand on my tip-toes to use it. the cottage had no full length mirror and the only other mirror in the place there was 14x7 wall mirror. (so much for seeing how i looked before i went out at night), the friend that we were there with was in the hibiscus cottage which was really lovely and had a very large bathroom to boot, and yes, even a full length mirror. it was tastefully furnished and was very sunny and open. and I would have been a very happy camper in it, but the hibiscus is for a max of 2. last comment....the free "continental" breakfast. I guess no ever told them that a continental breakfast should include an assortment of cheeses. I'd go back but I would be very careful about what cottage i was in.

Room Tip: the cottages are all in general groupings and every group is similar. i'd steer clear of anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macsgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had our first trip to Captiva and it will not be our last. We stayed at Tween Waters and was pleasantly surprised by their rooms and the view was amazing of the ocean. Service was wonderful. Complementary breakfast was perfect for our family, the fresh fruit was great. My girls throughly enjoyed the pool as well. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJFamily08225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and staff very accommodating. Food at restaurant was fair at best. Dog wise, the experience was good. You can walk your dog on the beach a mile in each direction. Beach was nice. Very quite, not many people. Activity on Captiva is limited. You need to go to Sanibel for good shopping areas.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Agjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,962 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $180 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing