We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tween Waters Excitement and Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tween Waters Excitement and Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

What an incredible 3 days. Wish we had a week here. Nothing but a perfect experience. The beach was ours personal haven from the world. Very few people out this time of year. The Bubble Room is a must see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommytwohatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    660
    230
    99
    68
See reviews for
908
1,093
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is the 1st time we visited Captiva. The Inn is very nice. It is well located just across from the ocean. We had a room over looking the ocean. We sat in the screened in porch and watched the sun set. Breakfast is continental. If you want hot breakfast it is extra. The rooms are spacious and have a little kitchenette. Captivia is expensive so if you want food or drinks for your room get them in Ft. Myers before you come across the causeway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have been staying on Sanibel island since 1988 and this is the best location with easy access to both Captivas main area (walking distance by beach and road) and Sanibel. Nice long beach just across the road,nice pool area with snack bar ,captiva house restaurant very nice with cont. breakfast incl....nice for dinners as well. Crows nest casual restaurant and bar which hosts crab races every mon and thurs also very fun as well as live music on the wknds! Rooms are nice even tho hotel is older. The staff was nice as well! My only suggestion would be to buy water to keep in the fridge...not sold in their machines and water tastes funny. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had the ocean view with a small screened in porch but the bay view rooms looked nice as well as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We just got back from ‘Tween Waters after a 2 night stay. It was lovely, and I wouldn’t be surprised if we return in the future, with a few changes. We checked in around 4 pm and the very attentive staff patiently waited to escort us to our room and show us where to park. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. In the future I might ask for a room facing the ocean. There were people in the hot tub directly below our room and they were a little loud. Our 2 queen bedroom was adequate but very small. To be fair, this is a historic property, and you simply will not find lavish accommodations on this unique little island unless you want to rent a private home. There was not room for a chair or table. The bathroom was tiny but had been recently updated. The room had a small screened in balcony that fit 2 chairs and a small side table. All in all, we thought the price was high for the quality of the room. We wouldn’t normally have spent a lot of time in the room- after all, you’re here for the beautiful ocean views and pool scene. However, we were dealt with unusually cold weather and after dinner there didn’t seem to be much to do at night other than retire to our room with our 5 year old. The pool closes at dusk as well. Even sitting out on the balcony was difficult and we wrapped ourselves in blankets. Certainly not the resort’s fault, of course. Other than the pool and beach (and restaurants) there doesn’t seem to be any public places where guests can relax or congregate.

Our first night we had dinner at the Crow’s Nest which was unexpectedly good. Our server Casey was excellent. I had expected the restaurant to be more “bar-like” based on the reviews but I would equate it to a casual Midwestern supper club. They were setting up live music when we left. We liked it so much we went back the second night, although the service was not good that night. Our server kept forgetting our drinks and we barely saw him.

Our second day we woke early and had the free continental breakfast in the Old Captiva House. It was wonderful. A huge spread of fruits, pastries, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, juices, coffee. My meat-eating husband was pleased to find that you can order a number of proteins from the menu at a reasonable cost. We decided to brave the chill and walk into Captiva. We tried to walk along the ocean with our 5 year old but the wind got to be too much. The road is narrow and the shoulder is narrow for walking. I wouldn’t have felt comfortable letting him ride his bike. It was about a 20 minute walk; we looked around town a bit and headed back. It was nice and sunny so we found a spot poolside where we spent most of the day laying in the sun and enjoying the nicely heated pool. We were surprised at how reasonable the Oasis bar menu and drinks were.

My impressions of this resort were that it is extremely quaint and charming. The entire resort was a little smaller than I expected, and only took a few minutes to walk the grounds. The beach was flawless. The marina is small but pretty. The pool area was nicely laid out. We spent our first half of our vacation in a luxury condo on the mainland, so our small room was a bit of a disappointment. We might look into renting a cottage if we come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpls25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are ending another great week at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and it is a depressing day indeed, since we are leaving for 19 degrees and 4 inches of snow. This week has been incredible. The staff at Tween Waters absolutely goes out of their way to take care of your every need and is so friendly and accommodating. While everyone was nice, there were a few that were truly exceptional and we thought were worth mentioning by name. Geana is the "Hostess with the Most-est" at The Crow's Nest Restaurant on site. Excellent food by the way and the Executive Chef, Jason, came out to visit our table and talked for a few minutes (nice guy and excellent chef). He even made something special that my daughter requested. Alex at the Old Captiva House restaurant was the absolute sweetest and most attentive waiter that we've ever had and made us look forward to the complementary continental breakfast every morning. He is amazing and goes way above and beyond what he would have to do for customers. Maria at the pool bar has to be one of the nicest people we've ever met and took such great care of us and our children. She made us feel like family and you couldn't ask for a kinder person. Victoria at the front desk also went out of her way to make sure our pre-arrival questions were all answered. Tween Waters is a beautiful place, but what keeps us coming back, for the 2nd year in a row, are the people that have worked here for years and years. Thank you for another wonderful week and we will see you all next year. Readers, if you want a place that has it all in a beautiful package, Tween Waters Inn is the place to stay. The owners should really be honored to have such loyal and wonderful employees.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk. They have gulf view, bay view and pool view rooms. We like the cottages becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escape_and_Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Beautiful place - great views and walking distance to the beach. Staff was wonderful, clean and nice enviroment. Great pool. Resturant on site is good. Walking distance to many other shops and dining in Captiva. We rented kayaks from the group outside the Palmetto building and they were a great help. We stayed on the Bay side - you'll want the 3rd floor to insure you can see over the mangrove. I would assume you'd want to do the same on the ocean side. Our flight was delayed and we got in incredibly late - the desk is staffed 24 hours - we called ahead and check in was a breeze, which we appreciated after being in airports all day. Continental breakfast that is included is great - pastries and fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. No hot food but more than adequate to start your day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palmetto building which had a Bay view - choose the 3rd floor to insure you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersLV08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went down for a quick trip before Christmas to just get away (12/12/13-12/15/13). We had not stayed at Tween Waters before so this quick trip was a good way for us to check it out! (We come to Sanibel for a MINI vacation every year). The resort was beautifully decorated (as was the whole island) for Christmas. The room we had was ocean front so we were able to sit on our balcony and watch the sunset every night! Very comfortable room... we were VERY impressed. All the staff was very friendly! We ate breakfast one morning on the resort, but the rest of the time we were somewhere else on the island. It was a little cool & rainy so we were not able to check out the pool or the pool bar. We did lay out on the beach 1/2 day. The water was soo calm and beautiful... ashame it was too cool to get in! For us the resort is a little pricy as there are a lot of things they offer that we do not use... but all in all, We will definitely look at staying there again! Just watch for their SPECIAL OFFERS!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit (ocean front) which was perfect and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
10.9 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing