We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Captiva!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything was excellent- from the restaurants to the pool to the room and the parking. The room was beautiful and the bed linens were so Florida, with stitched shells on the quilts - very tasteful and comfortable. Nice flat screen tv. The channel changer needed new batteries and an employee was quickly sent to solve the problem. We always found a space to park, the pool was super clean and welcoming, and there were always lounge chairs available along with large, clean towels. My girls ordered lunch for us at the pool and it came promptly, plentiful and scrumptious. There was even a monitor in the parking lot to make sure random people didn't come in and take up the parking spaces along the beach side. The restaurant food was delish, the wait staff was very attentive, and the entertainment at night was wonderful! We ended up eating there every night we stayed. The lively singer/entertainer went around to each table and mingled with the diners and we LOVED his music. He made sure to include the diners in his show and celebrate their many events (wedding, birthday, anniversary). His music catered to us Baby Boomers and also the younger generation. The restaurant prices were no higher than the other restaurants in the area (and definitely lower than the Bubble Room!). The free continental breakfast was vast and excellent and included a HUGE variety of fresh fruits and pastries along with cereals, bagels, juices, drinks, and yogurts. A hot breakfast menu was also available for those who desired meats and/or eggs, etc. We did not visit the beach save for one early morning visit when the "no seeums" were horrible. We had not planned ahead for bugs so we kept to the pool area which suited the kids just fine. I was told bug repellent would have done the trick. We will definitely return some day, hopefully to rent a cottage with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwhitten56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

pwhitten56 thank you for such a great, detailed review! We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our property and that our service as well as our product and location suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again and promise to have the bug spray ready (which you really only need a few weeks out of the year).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 3,061 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the Sea Grape, a guest room. Remodeled older building but very nice. We had ocean view which was spectacular,and was very convenient to get to the beach.We did not have a microwave in our room,but requested one and it was promply brought to us.Restaurants within are very pricey,but food is very good. The free continental breakfast was superior with many fresh fruits,pastries,bagals,cereals,juices,coffees,breads and yogurts.
Only one complaint,but minor. First day on the beach,the man who was in charge of renting his beach chairs and umbrellas did not want us setting up our things next to his to allow room for his renters. The beach is a private beach to the Inn and I felt as if I had every right to sit anywhere I wanted as I was a paying customer just like everyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your candid comments about the highlights of your visit with us as well as the constructive feedback to our beach services. The constructive comments help us to improve so please know that we will be utilizing your review as a training tool in service in order to better communicate to our guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Tween Waters Inn has the most amazing oceanfront for beach-lovers. It also has the back bay area for kayak and paddle board-lovers. You can't go wrong staying here. Yes, it's costly, but it does have what you'd expect for a grand island vacation.

And let's say you live nearby (in Fort Myers, Cape Coral or Naples) and you want to bring your family and friends here for the day. It's so much fun! Parking is $25 for the day but you also receive a coupon for $25 for food at the outdoor pool bar or indoor restaurant on-site. Either way, you get the best of both worlds.

The food at the pool bar is AWESOME. It's not your typical grilled hot dog or burger food. It is so much more. As a family group, we showed up recently at the pool bar with hunger pangs and hell-bent on celebrating. The food was at minimum, a 9 out of 10 possible points. The drinks were also very good, to almost perfect, for each of our family, a group of ten people.

I'd recommend this pool bar for many reasons; the large pool area, the showers, the closeness to the beach, the great, fresh food, and the happy servers we encountered. Great food, great attitudes, and great access to beautiful beachfront. You can't go wrong here. We'll be back!

2  Thank VickisTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are regular visitors at Tween Waters Marina. The marina is well managed and the staff is helpful and competent. It is a lovely resort overall and the beauty of this marina is that those staying on boats in the marina have full use of all the facilities. The beach is across the street and for a very small fee you can rent a cabana and be a beach bum for as long as you wish. If the beach is not your "thing", the pool is really big,clean and well maintained with the pool bar at one end so you can get food and drink delivered to your favorite lounge chair and eat under the umbrella between dips in the refreshing pool. You can rent kayaks, canoes, bicycles, and (I think) even runabouts. There are also two restaurants in addition to the pool bar. The upscale restaurant has wonderful food that is expertly prepared by the chef and served by the efficient, personable waitstaff. I just love this place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The stay was amazing!I stayed there 3 days and I have never seen an inn like this one.Only one problem,the pool has to be a little more clean.Except that everything was perfect!I wish everyday was like my stay.I would tottaly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salyale12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Captiva last winter. We have been to tween waters a few times in the past and we know how busy it can be during the March/April time frame. Needless to say we didn't have high hopes for getting a room on such short notice. We called and spoke with Marissa who informed us that there wasn't any vacancy but told us she would take our contact information in case there were any cancellations. I've had this happen to us before, people say they would take our name down and call us back but they never followed through with it. Much to our surprise, 3 days later Marissa called us right after a cancellation came through. We were so excited! We had a great mini get away on the beach and couldn't have done it with out the great service we had at Tween Waters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our stay at 'Tween was a great week! I am so impressed by the service we received and the overall charm of the place. We travelled with a senior citizen (90) and a young adult on crutches. Every effort was made to accommodate both! Kudos to the Bell Hops who ferried our daughter to and from the beach!

Our favorites this week included a breakfast leaving you wanting for nothing, two great dinners-The Crow's Nest and Old Captiva House, beautiful days at the beach in the early part of each day and poolside in the afternoon, great coffee drinks and piña coladas at the pool, sunsets every evening on the beach, a gorgeous porch for my elderly father, fresh towels whenever we wanted, clean facilities all around the resort, a friendly staff at the front desk...especially Riley, and they even blow up pool toys!

Our stay was relaxing, amazing and filled with great memories. It is the sign of a great place when you try to make a reservation to return as you are checking out! That's how great this place is! I recommend it to all. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,551 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
12 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,519 reviews
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,061 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $221 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing