We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location & hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

3 days spent in this idyllic place. Our own bit of heaven but not cut off from people. Excellent in every way. Loved the beach and being able to see it at all times. Both restaurants were very good. The sunset boat trip, with 'President Rousevelt' was great fun and gave us some lovely pictures. Even were joined by the dolphins. Loved the amble to the end of the island, finding some lovely shops to make a purchase as a memory of a superb break. We had travelled from Orlando, Miami Beach, Key West, The everglades, Captiva and Siesta Key. Perfect. thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy209940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,807)
There are newer reviews for Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,202 - 2,208 of 2,807 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have come to Sanibel Island several times and usually stay at the same place. We thought we'd try Captiva this time, but needed somewhere where we had a kitchen and family size room as we are a big group and like to hang out and play games after a day at the beach or shopping. Tween Waters looked really good online, but has not lived up to it's marketing. The kitchen was miniscule, there is no place to sit and eat and the front room consists of some chairs, a couch and a coffee table. Won't seat more than 5 people even though the rooms sleep 6. Part of our party was across the complex even though we were assured we'd all be together. We've had to have the phone fixed in our room, and all remotes need new batteries. A bit frustrating.
On the positive, the hotel is close to the beach and has a great pool and wasn't as crowded as other places we've stayed for spring break. The cabanas and chairs for rent on the beach are in good condition and the beach personnel are very helpful. Captiva is a quaint interesting area as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kathy H,

We are glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed our staff, location, beach and Captiva. We do apologize that your accommodations were not what you were expecting. From your review it sounds like you booked online and chose a 1 bedroom suite. We always encourage our prospective guests, especially first timers, to call our onsite reservation agents to help ensure that we match your accommodations to the size and needs of your party. Our 1 bedroom suites will sleep 6 but we do not recommend 6 adults stay in a unit of this size which includes 2 queen beds, a sleeper sofa and only 1 bathroom. In addition our 1 bedroom suites are advertised with kitchenettes and not full kitchens. Given the size of your party and your desire to spend evenings in your room we would recommend a larger 2 or 3 bedroom suite or cottage. These units would have offered better sleeping arrangements for all 6 adults, 2 bathrooms, a larger sitting area and a full kitchen. We also apologize for the issues you experienced with your remote and phone. I do hope our maintenance department was able to quickly resolve your issues. We hope you will come back and enjoy Captiva and our location again in one of our larger units. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Doug Babcock
Vice President
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dougbabcock22@gmail.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at Tween Waters Inn. All amenities are in close walking distance. The resort is small but has everything you could want or need. The restaurants are very good, the spa is lovely, the pool area is nice. We also enjoyed the use of kayaks and bikes. The bay and marina are directly behind the hotel with a beautiful sunrise view. The only drawback is that the beach is across a busy street but this was a minor issue. We plan to stay at Tween Waters Inn again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoodleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Again a wonderful 2 weeks! I'd like to mention certain staff members for their excellent service...the host/hostess in Old Captiva House Joyce and Dan are wonderful. So friendly and personable..they made breakfast a very pleasing experience...along with the super Continental breakfast, of course! AlsoLudmila our housekeeper kept our room in excellent condition and again was very friendly and lovely.We were happy to be given the same room as last year (366) which is a gulf view room in Seagrape...as far as I am concerned the very best.We have reserved for next year but only able to book a week until Carol lets us know if a second week is available. I will be calling for sure!!! Cannot magine not having 2 weeks...even thinking of adding on a few more days!
The grounds are very well kept and ALL staff members greet you with a smile. The location is right between the Guld and the bay...what more could you ask for???

Room Tip: ask or a studio so you will have a small kitchenette...well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to Tween Waters for the last 8 years. Always a great experience. Great beaches. You don't have to leave the resort to have a good time but if you do there is so much to do here. Its quiet, people/ staff are friendly, food is good. You can see dolphin and manatee without leaving the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mds899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Tween Waters in March for the last six or seven years. We feel it is in the best location for such a resort on all of Captiva. The Gulf of Mexico is on the western side of the resort while the bay between it and the Florida mainland is on the eastern side. The resort has all the facilities and amenities one would want (great pool, restaurant, and bar with night-time entertainment. It is just the right distance (about a mile away) from Captiva center, which is fun and lively, but also very congested during the season. So there is alot to like about Tween Waters.

Here is the "but." After having gone there so many years in a row, the place is getting a little dated. Everywhere you look there is maintenance that has been deferred. This runs the gamut from drab colors and saggy mattresses in the hotel rooms to chipped paint here and there throughout the facility. The beach cabanas are getting pretty beat up and the cushions they give you for the wooden lounges are not as soft as they once were. The internet connectivity has historically been very poor and was supposedly addressed with an improved WIFI during the off-season. However, it has never been worse. I had to connect my laptop using my Verizon service which also isn't very good way out there on a Gulf Coast island.

One thing that has not become dated is the friendliness of the staff. The guy who greets you at breakfast and gets you a table has been there for as long as we have been coming and is funny, friendly, and someone we look forward to seeing each year. Lee, who helps customers lug their suitcases from car to room and handles beach chairs and cabanas has been there for three seasons and is delightful. The servers in the breakfast dining room, Alex, Barbara, and the rest, are all terrific. We like all the people who work there. They seem to like working there too.

So, we have some decisions to make about next year. We can easily find a place that is more modern and better maintained, but it will probably not be in such an excellent location. Clearly, Tween Waters management has used that same thought process in determining whether or not to make much needed improvements.

Room Tip: Gulf side rooms get a view of the sunset and a little noise from the main road. Bay side room get a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear jcduane,

We thank you for your many return visits over the past several years and for sharing your experiences with others. I am glad that you and your wife enjoy our location, our staff and our amenities. We do apologize that you had a “but” in your experience. However, we appreciate you offering your valued feedback. Please allow me to address your concerns and offer you an update as to where we stand on our maintenance schedule. We will be replacing all of the mattresses on all three of our Sanibel and Captiva properties this summer. We currently are experimenting with new mattresses in several of our rooms to find the best solution. In addition we did spend considerable effort updating and upgrading our complimentary Wi-Fi service by adding repeaters, stronger signal and more powerful directional antenna. We keep a log book at the front desk to track connectivity issues and have seen a dramatic decrease in the number of issues since the installation of the new equipment. Many times there is a setting in the guest’s computer that is blocking our signal preventing Wi-Fi access. Our front desk staff or our IT department can help correct these issues. Thank you for your comments about our beach chairs and cabanas. We purchase new beach chair and umbrellas every year and rotate out the oldest stock. I will check with our beach staff to discuss the cabana cushions. I have sent you a personal message and would welcome your feedback as to other maintenance issue you experienced and where we should focus our attention in the future. Here is a list of what we have accomplished over the past year. Complete renovation of all 12 suites in the Mangrove Building, new furniture in all rooms of the Coconut and Areca Buildings, New 32” and 42” flat screen TV’s in all rooms (high definition service coming this year). New split AC units in all water view guest rooms and studios in the Palmetto and Seagrape Buildings. Updated bathrooms in the water view guest rooms with new tubs, tile, granite counter tops, and LED lighting in the Palmetto and Seagrape Building. Buried the power lines to improve our Gulf of Mexico view. In addition we have repainted the exterior of all of our buildings except the Palmetto which will be done this summer. We also plan to completely renovate all 10 suites in our Gumbo Limbo building this summer which will include new kitchens with granite counter tops and appliances, new tile and carpet, new furniture, and new AC systems. Please continue to check our Facebook page for updates on this project as well as the many other maintenance projects we will be undertaking in the near future. Thank you again for all the years of return visits and for sharing your valuable insight. We do hope to see you and your wife with us again next year. Please let me know if I may be of any further assistance.

Kind regards

Doug Babcock
Vice President
Rochester resorts Inc.
Dougbabcock22@gmail.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Tween Waters was just perfect for the relaxing vacation we were looking for. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the bay and the view was fabulous! We also had a small screened in porch so we could sit outside and not be bothered by bugs. Our morning view was especially gorgeous and perfect for our coffee time. The onsite restaurants were excellent! We met many fellow travelers and had wonderful conversations both with them and staff members. My favorite eatery was The Crow's Nest as it has a relaxed club atmosphere with 5 star food. Since we like to eat at the bar we found Chantelle, our server, and she made sure everything was to our liking! After our first night there she remembered what we liked to eat and drink and made us feel quite at home! We just returned home and are already planning our dates for next year!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the bayside because of the view and it was extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroleGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,366 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,854 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
7.9 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 20 in Sanibel Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $155 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing