We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Tween Waters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Tween Waters was just perfect for the relaxing vacation we were looking for. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the bay and the view was fabulous! We also had a small screened in porch so we could sit outside and not be bothered by bugs. Our morning view was especially gorgeous and perfect for our coffee time. The onsite restaurants were excellent! We met many fellow travelers and had wonderful conversations both with them and staff members. My favorite eatery was The Crow's Nest as it has a relaxed club atmosphere with 5 star food. Since we like to eat at the bar we found Chantelle, our server, and she made sure everything was to our liking! After our first night there she remembered what we liked to eat and drink and made us feel quite at home! We just returned home and are already planning our dates for next year!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the bayside because of the view and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroleGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,458 - 2,464 of 3,061 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very quiet. Week or so before christmas. Weather lovely perfect to cycle the island. Hotel very friendly, rooms facing gulf great for sunsets, all balconies with mosquito nets. Restaurant good although felt it could have some cosy seats for bar area rather than just stalls but not a big issue.

Room Tip: Bike hire from the village is cheaper if want the whole week. Can cycle down to spaniel beaches quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Why do we keep coming back? All of the other places Linda and I have been were very good but 'been there,done that'. Tween Waters is somehow different. It could be Carole back in reservations who seems to know everyone. Or Dan at breakfast who asks why we were late one morning but still gave us our same table where we always sit. Or Galena in houskeeping checking on us regularly and our personal housekeeper Nadjia(sp) who apologized for taking a day off.
Also want to mention Chris Bickhart and Don______ at the Marina. They worked hard to see that our kayak trip was smooth sailing. Paul, the chef (or kitchen manager) even ordered extra cheese for us at no extra cost.
We just keep coming back. Complimentary breakfast is world class. We loved the luncheon on the patio at Captiva House. The people we meet are also returnees. What does that tell you about Tween Waters? All the special people that we encounter every year to make sure our visit is special. Ray and Linda Vermilya Jan.31 - Feb.14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayandlindaShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear rayandlindashelby,

Thank you for staying with us again and sharing your experience with others. We are very glad that you enjoyed another stay at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa and that you will be returning in the future. I have shared your comments with our staff and we thank you for highlighting their efforts. I always tell our staff that it maybe our location or our amenities that result in a guest staying with us for the first time. But, it is how our guests are treated while they are here with us that will determine if the return and share their experience with their friends and family. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Doug Babcock
Vice President
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dougbabcock22@gmail.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a nice place to vacation! The staff are perhaps the friendliest people we have ever met and they seem to be from all over the world. Beautiful beach, warm large pool with two hot tubs, and a wading pool for the little ones.This place was very full but we never felt crowded or were disturbed by noise.Our room was nice with very comfy beds and a view of the sound.Visit YOLO in Captiva for gifts. We also really liked the Lazy Flamingo at Blind Pass for oysters, clams, and shrimp..go early and eat at the bar! The restaurants on site are good, too. Have fun..we did!

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa or gym but they looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I recently vacationed at the Tween Waters Resort with our daughter and 3 grandchildren. The resort was perfect as a relaxing getaway with the small ones. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We opted to rent a three bedroom bungalow which was perfect and provides us our own home away from home. Each morning we would stroll to the restaurant for the a wonderful continental breakfast buffet which was included in our rate. Afternoons were spent by the pool where we could order lunch and drinks during the day. The wait staff was very attentive. We could have rented chairs and cabanas on the beach which was steps away from the resort as well. It was a short drive to the center of Captiva where there are restaurants, and a longer drive to Sanibel (about 12 miles). We did not feel the need to go to Sanibel, everything we needed was close by. We did buy groceries on our way from the airport so that we could have lunch, snacks, drinks and dinner in our bungalow if we chose. We did grill twice on a charcoal grill on the bay beach.

Room Tip: Stand alone bungalows provide a "staying in a cottage" feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Most of my Florida memories are dominated by crowded theme parks and big beach hotels. I am happy to report Tween Waters Inn, and Captiva Island in general, were a pleasant surprise! Tween Waters double-booked our suite, so they called us several weeks before our trip and upgraded us to a Tarpon Cottage. Wow! It was a spacious three bedroom, two bath cottage with a functional kitchen, screened in porch, large living space - just gorgeous!

Our cottage was by the marina and we woke up each morning to see which manatees were hanging out by the warm springs flowing into in the harbor. (Unfortunately, you can identify them by the boat propeller scars on their backs.) Then we headed across the road to the beach, where we could walk for miles picking up all sorts of shells. Bring a bag - there are tons of great shells!

The staff was friendly and courteous, the accommodations were impressive and clean, and there is a great continental breakfast included with your stay. The breakfast features pastries and fresh fruit, fresh juices (wonderful orange juice!), bagels, breads, cereal, yogurt and more. There is also a pool, tennis facilities, a spa... more than we could discover in our short three-day stay.

We were less than impressed by the restaurant in the evening (expensive and the food was just okay). I would recommend dining at one of the many other restaurants on the island for your evening meal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Last month we stayed only a few days at Tween Waters Inn but found it wonderful. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We had a flat tire on our rental car which they noticed and promptly helped us fix. The location between bay and gulf is beautiful, peaceful and still feels a little "Old Florida." There was a delightful singer in the Crow's Nest, and dancing. The tennis courts are in good shape and the pool is a wonderful gathering place. The pool bar makes a mean Pina Colada. Our room, facing the bay, had a beautiful view, was large and updated. We will definitely return. I didn't use the spa as our stay was very short.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerriAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,551 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
12 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,519 reviews
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,061 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $221 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing