We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite marinas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

One of our favorite marinas in SW Florida. The marina is not fancy and does need upgrading but Harry and Chris have always made the marina a great place to go to. They are professional and very customer service friendly. They take a personal pride in the marina amd making sure you are comfortable and secure in the slip. During busy times they do a good job of trying to keep everyone happy. Thanks Harry and Chris!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank seajaydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,391 - 2,397 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Southwest Florida Yacht Club cruise could not have been better. All the staff and especially the marina dock master and dock hands couldn't have been more helpfull. When boats couldn't fit in assigned slips they were more than willing to move things around to accomodate these boats. They placed 14 of our boats ranging in size from 26' to 65' without any problem. One of our boats had dead batteries when they went to leave. The operator of the boat rental came to his assistance and got him going.
Our Fleet Captain has already schulded another trip in June and I am sure it will be just as pleasurable.
Thanks again, Gary Tapken Vice Commodore SFYC

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Captiva is beautiful and Tween Waters is blessed with a location second to none - beach is lovely, and parts of the facility are good - the pool area is very nice for instance. We were somewhat taken aback by the room - on the surface a nice facility with kitchen, small living area and a separate bedroom/bathroom areas. But I would have to say that this would have all been lovely ten years ago, and I am sure it was - but the room we stayed in was seriously in need of a facelift - dark and not what one expects for the cost. Towels thin and worn, bed linens ditto. Some money spent on the basics of paint and soft furnishings would go a long way towards making this facility much better. Attention to detail with regards housekeeping is also necessary, and we had cause to discuss this with housekeeping and the front desk on a couple of occasions - again, not something you expect to have to do at a facility which charges the prices Tween Waters does.
Would we go back? To Captiva or Sanibel, yes, but to Tween Waters - not until it has been upgraded from average.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merlin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager23, General Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Tween Waters Inn. We appreciate all of your comments.
I do agree whole-heartedly that Captiva Island is a destination that is second to none. We are so fortunate to be situated in such a beautiful location! And thank you for your comments about our pool and pool area. The pool is heated during winter months with geothermal energy so the process conserves our natural resources while providing nice warm water for swimming. We also just recently replaced all the pool furniture so the pool has a new, fresh, inviting appearance.
I’m sorry you did not care for the décor of the suite you occupied. All furnishings in the suites have been replaced within the last 18 months and the resort did elect to go with the designer’s suggestion of darker wood furniture. We will certainly take your comments into consideration when refurbishing is done again. Thank you for your opinion.
I do apologize for the linens that you found being used in your unit. We do place in service new towels, sheets, pillow cases and bed covers frequently throughout the year. Our laundry should have recognized the linens that made it to your room were not acceptable quality for use. This situation has been made part of reoccurring training in that department.
Tween Waters Inn has strived over the past several years to continually increase the quality of our accommodations and offerings. There have been literally hundreds of thousands of dollars of investment to achieve that goal, and that investment process will continue into the future. For instance, the resort just contacted with our local electrical supplier to remove all electrical wires, cables and poles and place the service underground to improve our beautiful view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico – and what a change this has made! Sunsets are even more spectacular now!
Thank you again for your constructive comments. And, we hope you will in the future consider trying Tween Waters Inn again. Perhaps, next time you might like to occupy one of our unique cottages. If so, please give me a call to arrange.
Best regards,
Don Williams
dwilliams@tween-waters.com
800-223-5865

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our local boating club, chose Tween Waters Marina for our New Year's outing. The Marina staff was excellent but slightly short handed. They were patient with the arrivals and very helpful getting our boats secured to the slips, Really enjoyed the atmospherer and especially the geothermally heated pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel rooms at Tween before and have always wanted to stay in the cottages that face the beach. Knowing that the cottages are oftentimes not available, we booked two rooms at the hotel and followed up to see if a cottage had became available. Luckily, one did. We stayed in cottage 101 (Snapper) and it was magnificent. 101 has a great screened in porch facing the beach along with a roomy living room, 2 full baths and two bedrooms with queen beds. The full kitchen was very nice although we always eat out either at the various dining locations at Tween or on Captiva or Sanibel. In all, we could not have been happier with our stay at Tween and have already reserved a cottage for 2013-2014. Very nice and attentive staff, updated and clean cottages with great restaurants, pool, marina and even crab races. Perfect for our family, can't wait to stay at Tween again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ELJKGRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We really wanted to love this place. We really love Sanibel/Captiva and this place really does have a good location. The location is about where the positives start to decline. We might have just had a bad situation due to circumstances that were not entirely the hotel's fault. The hotel staff on a whole were very nice and helpful. That made things a bit better. So, some of the positives for us were the location, the free breakfast (cold), the water views and the staff. As far as the negatives are concerned - we waited forever for our meal at Old Captiva House and the place was not that full, the wait to sit at breakfast at times was terribly long even with empty tables, its like they just could not figure out a process for seating people. The free breakfast is limited so in order to have anything hot it was an additional fee. We were in the Palmetto building where people come with dogs - very loud dogs that bark all day! The room was clean but stained and old. They have fabric chairs in the room that were terribly stained and outdated. The bathroom was updated but very, very small. Attention to detail was lacking as the tile still had pencil markings on from when they installed it that would wipe right off with my wet hand. That is just lazy to leave that there. The concrete on some of the buildings was crumbling off in spots and the outside doors to the rooms were so dirty! Since the doors were outside to enter the room the Do Not Disturb sign always blew off (just paper) so the maids would come around and pound on the door every morning by 9am even if we did not want service! They have two nice hot tubs that are overrun with young children - VERY young children in diapers playing with tub toys like its a kiddie pool! So annoying and dangerous if you ask me since children overheat faster than adults and since they could drown more easily than in a pool due to the bubbles hiding them. Parents would seriously let their kids eat ice cream in there and run around the place like crazy and no one said or did anything about it. Did I mention no lifeguard on duty ever?! Finally, I will end with the Spa. I had a terrible pedicure there. It was probably the worst I have even gotten. The polish was a mess and it looked like I had two weeks worth of nail growth since she apparently did not know how to paint nails down to the cuticle. By the next day the polish was starting to wear off. We had already checked out or I would have gone back and asked for someone to do a better job. I really try to find good in places but this one was disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not allow them to put you near the dog rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cindylou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mirabella626,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and that our staff was “nice and helpful”. I am not sure of the exact date of your stay with us but it appears that you may have been with us between Christmas and New Year’s. This happens to be one of our busiest times of the year. I can see how breakfast waiting times can be a little longer than usual especially between the hours of 9 and 10 am. I observed our breakfast service most days of that week and found the wait to be no more than 5 minutes to 10 minutes. Unfortunately at this time of year that is common on the islands as it is a very busy vacation week. We did staff the breakfast service with extra servers, bussers, and hosts to help service the additional volume. We do apologize if your wait was longer than normal.

I assume that you stayed in one of our waterview guest rooms. We just finished remodeling those bathrooms with all new granite counters, tubs, tile, LED lighting and fixtures along with new efficient and much quieter split air AC units. These are some of our least expensive rooming options and the bathrooms are smaller than some of our other larger units. Our front desk staff is always willing to show our guests our many other rooming options should your current room not meet your vacation needs. You are correct that part of our Palmetto Building is pet friendly. Pet friendly units are limited to the far end (south end) of the 1st floor of that building. All guests checking in with pets are given a copy of our rules and regulations that they must sign indicating their agreement and understanding along with a pet goodie bag and a Tween Waters Inn Island Resort dog tag should their pet become lost during their stay with us. Our pets must follow the same rules as our guest and if they violate these rules and/or become disruptive to other guests they may be asked to leave our property. We very rarely receive complaints about our pet guests. If an issue should arise a call to our 24 hour front desk staff will resolve the issue. I looked back in our call logs and I did not witness any guest’s complaints about disruptive pets over the past month. I do apologize if your stay was disrupted by a barking dog.

Thank you for bring to our attention some of your housekeeping issues. I have reviewed your review with our housekeeping managers and staff. In addition we are looking into other options for posting DO NOT DISTURB signs other than the laminated plastic door tags. I can see how they can blow or fall off the doors.

We are a family resort and we do at times have a lot of families with young children especially during school holidays. We do have signs posted around the pool area informing guests that food is not allowed in the pool or hot tubs and there are signs by the hot tubs informing guests that children 12 and under must be supervised by adults. We do have a very nice covered kiddie pool area designed for our younger guests. Again, I have shared your review with our pool bar staff, reconfirmed the pool area rules, and instructed them to be more diligent in enforcing the rules with our guests.

Finally, I spoke to our spa manager about your issue. She indicated that appropriate changes have been made and she gladly would have corrected the issue.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience. I again apologize that you were somewhat disappointed with your stay. We hope your travels will again bring you back to our beautiful islands. If so please contact me personally to discuss our many different guest room and cottage options. Seeing that you like our location and our staff I am confident that we can better match your accommodations with your needs to make for a more enjoyable experience with us.

Kind regards

Doug Babcock
Vice President
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dougbabcock22@gmail.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stay here weekends a couple of times a year. Truely love everything about it. Too bad some people have to find fault in even the best. We could go to any beach in southwest Florida in a couple of hours, but this is our favorite. we put our friends up here if they want a relaxing time with the sun and the sand. Food is great the family is great, most employees have worked there for years, which says something about the managment. It's layed back island style, as it should be. My kids are 40 years old and we came there when they were babies and 'tween Waters was just cottages. DON'T KNOCK MY FAMILY'S FAVORITE "PLACE IN THE SUN"!!!!

Room Tip: We love breakfast buffet, a picnic lunch on the beach and casual dress for dinner on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $181 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing