We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the wonderfully friendly greetings on arrival to the moment you have to leave you are made to feel a part of this lovely resort. With miles of beautiful sandy beach on one side (it is across a road, but with 3 pedestrian crossings, a speed limit of 25 MPH and a dead end at the end of the island this is never a problem) and a small but fairly buisy marina on the other, two restaurants and a large swimming pool (that with its pool bar & coffee shop is more like the best Mediteranean resort pools than the usual American pools) the resort is a self contained paradise on a jewel of an island.
We had a Gulf view studio which was large, clean and very comfortable withy everything we could possibly need including a full kitchen area and an in room safe. The balcony was large with very confortable chairs and a outstanding sunset view (It did get hot in the afternoons as there no shade trees).
The complimemntary buffet breakfast was excellent with the added bonus of being served in the beautiful restaurant where a cooked breakfast could also be ordered. We did not eat in this restaurant in the evenings, but eat in the grill restauraunt also on site which had an extensive meanu.
The small village of Captiva is 20 minutes walk along the road or along the beach. it has a number of restaurants including the wonderful Green Flash and the equally good Key Lime Bistro. (I can also highly recomment the Island Cow on Sanibel for breakfast, lunch of dinner. It is about 30 minutes drive, but is well worth the effort). The village also has a small supermarket (there is a large supermarket in the centre of Sanibel Island about 30 mins drive away)
The J.N "Ding" Darling nature reserve on Sanibel is 20 minutes drive and is a must.
Having previously stayed on Sanibel Island I would recommend anyone wishing to visit Sanibel or Captiva to stay at the 'Tween Waters Inn. I cannot imagine that there is a better place to stay on either of the two islands.

Room Tip: A gulf view studio or a bay view studio for the wonderful sunrises & sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatnLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,422 - 2,428 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently vacationed here for a 35th anniversary trip(Oct15-19) and were well pleased with everything that this beautiful resort has to offer! Our pool view room(353) was comfortable, attractive, convenient and kept clean and well serviced by Tonya. The spacious pool and the beautiful beach, just a quick stroll across the road from the hotel, were what we enjoyed the most, but there is certainly plenty more to do there if you like. A bonus to a stay here is that the beach is a perfect spot to view gorgeous sunsets on the Gulf. Bring your camera! The hotel has a great system to ensure that guests always have as many clean beach towels as are needed. We found interesting sea shells on this beach and even more of them on nearby Blind Pass beach, a short drive from this resort. The grounds at Tween Waters are lovely and well kept. As northerners, we appreciated and enjoyed that many palms and plants, had sign markers that told us their names and about them.
As for the restaurants at Tween Waters..it's all good! Our complimentary continental breakfasts included abundant choices of fresh fruit, pastries and bagels. Dinners at Crows Nest and Old Captiva Inn were delicious! Oasis Pool Bar served tasty light food and drinks. Tasha, at Tween Beans Coffee, made great coffee drinks, especially enjoyed the Iced carmel and Kahlua!
We found that employees were friendly, professional, and always helpful. Thanks to every one of the staff at the hotel and restaurants there, whose professional service contributed our great vacation experience there! A special thanks to Liz, Christine, Olga, Brett, Tasha, Tonya, Jarrett, Tammy, Dana, and Vilda, whose names I have remembered because of especially pleasant service that helped make our 35th anniversary stay there one to remember!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weavertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Mid to late October always delivers clear skies, low humidity and warm sun. Tween Waters makes a trip to Captiva perfect. We mixed our days between the pool and nearby bar with quiet time at the beach using the resort chairs and the Gulf to entertain us. Thanks to the great staff for accommodating a few small changes and making everything so lovely.

Room Tip: The cottages are adorable and worth the splurge for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our son and daughter-in-law picked this property for their October wedding. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the quiet laid back Florida property. We booked a king suite with a separate living room, kitchen and two patio door access to our balcony overlooking Roosevelt Bay. The parking was easy at the elevator right below our room. The abundance of palms and vegetation and lack of high rises made the property feel intimate. We used all the restaurants on the property and were not disappointed by any of them. The best one for our large family was the extensive complimentary continental breakfast buffet where we all met each morning. Those who wanted to could still order off the menu, as many did, but this arrangement with the buffet was wonderful for the the toddlers. The lovely pool area and two cafes were the playground for our family each day, but we had the option of the beach also which we used. The wedding planner, photographer and resort did a wonderful job with the wedding arrangements and we just couldn't say enough about the food. Most of the pool staff were very accommodating, but no one has perfection.

Room Tip: We were told bayside was the best. We were glad that we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amroutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My nephew and his fiance chose Tween Waters Inn in Captiva as their wedding destination. This place is amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The resort is very nice from the beach, to the marina to the restaurants and pool. I call it a one stop destination. If you choose, you would not have to leave the resort. Everything is here. 3 restaurants, a pool, marina, beaches, boat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, oh and crab races which are very entertaining.

The wedding was amazing. At sunset on the beach. The resort did a great job making sure everything was just perfect for Adam and Katie. The reception followed in the Old Captiva House and the food was outstanding. One of the most beautiful weddings I have been to.

We arrived on Thursday and stayed until Monday. I wish we had more time to just relax and enjoy this wonderful resort. I guess we'll just have to vist Tween Waters again.

Also, this resort is pet friendly so our little terrier mix came along for the fun. What a great place.

Room Tip: The rooms were a little small which didn't bother us but some people in our party commented on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just spent the past week here and had a GREAT time! The staff was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. The resort was beautiful from the beach to the marina, the pool and the restaurants. If you are looking to just get away and relax, this is the place to do it. It is one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever been on. We stayed in a guest room facing the gulf and it was just perfect. Oh, and the crab races...yup, the guys a nut, but it certainly was entertaining! We would go back here in a heartbeat. We also met some very nice people here and had a blast with them!

Again, thank you to the entire staff at this resort, they were wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I wrote a review on here a while back asking about the cottages and if anyone knew of any pictures of the inside of these rentals. I was amazed that I recieved a message back in just a day or two, Doug Babcock, the vice president contacted me in a message and said that I was welcome to contact him. I left him a message on his phone and got a prompt phone call back. Not only did he answer my questions, he toke the time to email me pictures of the inside and outside of the cottages and the view from the porch. (That he personally went and toke.) Iam so impressed with what he did, that I can hardly wait to visit tween cottages. I can see that management and staff care that the customers are happy. My husband, family and I are looking forward to visiting. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyAnd Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

ShelleyAnd Bob S,

I was my pleasure to assist in the planning of your visit to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa. My staff and I look forward to your visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me or our reservations department with any further questions.

Kind regards

Doug Babcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $181 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing