We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Tween Waters Inn: Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Canandaigua, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Tween Waters Inn: Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the 'Tween Waters Inn in May 2007 for one week, and I can definitely say that when we go back... we'll be staying at 'Tween Waters Inn again. While the rooms are really only of 2 star quality, they are clean and offer all of the basic amenities, nothing extra, but nothing less. What really sells this place is it's absolutely phenomenal location, beach, and general facilities. We kayaked out of their marina and watched the manatees from our room. We had a great time watching the NASCRAB races at The Crow's Nest and an absolutley delicious, elegant meal at The Old Captiva House. We ate a continental breakfast of fresh, fresh fruit, warm pastries, and hot coffee every morning out on the open terrace within view of the water. We found the rates to be equivalent to other inn's on both Sanibel and Captiva Island, and after spending an afternoon exploring some of the other inns/hotels, etc. on both islands... 'Tween Waters Inn definitely has the most private, peaceful and beautiful location. Granted, we were there in May just on the end of the tourist season, so there were really very few people there, but still, I would recommend Tween Waters Inn to anyone looking for a beautiful, convenient, fun place to stay.

Unique Qualities: Beach chair rental- pricey, but worth it.
The Old Captiva House
The Beach
The Crow's Nest
The Beach
The Location
The Beach

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NurseSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    674
    239
    102
    69
See reviews for
948
1,114
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

this was a rather nice forties or fifties style motel with some cabins, across the road from the gulf, with a nice swimming pool, boats to rent, a good restaurant, and okay breakfast (not very imaginitive and the same every morning, home baked pastries tasted more like assembled on the premises), clean and comfortable. the cabin we stayed in had no full length or makeup mirror, and the television was awkwardly placed beside the bed (we didn't watch and there is also one in the living area). the cabin was pleasant inside, but had no private patio or outside area except a little porch right on the driveway. however, i would stay there again, as it was very good value for the price and service was really terrific.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank grand-girard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

Our family of 7, with one toddler, just got back from 'Tween Waters on 12/20, and we could not have been more pleased. We rented the Tarpon cottage (3 bedrooms, 2 baths), which was recently renovated and is beautiful. The staff at the Inn could not have been more nice and accomodating. Although I cannot speak to the state of the regular rooms at the Inn, I did get a peak in a couple of the other smaller cottages and they were equally beautiful. We had a wonderful 5 nights of sunsets, warm weather and relaxation. We will be going back!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nthomp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

We just returned from a six night stay at 'Tween Waters Inn. After reviewing this web-site, we had been a bit apprehensive, as there had been some bad reviews. Fortunately, we noted the good reviews as well and took a chance. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cottage with a view of the Gulf; it was recently renovated and was very quaint and cozy, and very clean. The property appears to be very well run. A continental breakfast is included with the accomodations and was very nice. The Old Captiva House Restaurant was excellent; pricy, but well worth it. The Crows Nest has more modestly priced food, and is also the bar, with live bands most nights we were there. The pool was closed for repairs during our stay (they called us to inform us of this), but with the beautiful beach and Gulf it was not missed. (The Inn provided free chairs and umbrellas for the beach due to the pool closure - there is usually a fee for them.) A very relaxing and tropical atmosphere. They are also dog friendly. We plan to return.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNJShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We just returned from a fantastic, wonderful trip to 'Tween Waters. Some of the reviews have given some problems at Tween, but for us everything was very near perfect. First, all the staff from the registration desk to the Old Captiva House were great. They met our every expectation with smiles and a sense of fun. We stayed in a suite on the bay side and loved watching the boats and activity in the marina. Our suite was very clean and comfortable. We did not see one bug and only one lizard running across the drive.

The food at Old Captiva House was exceptional. The chef came to our table and our entrees and desserts were works of art. Try the key lime pie! The breakfast lives up to the previous reviews and we loved the very fresh fruit and the pastries were all made on the premises and delicious.

The entire resort was decorated for Christmas with magical pathways. The beach was so great and the sunsets seemed almost unreal. We went on the Sunset Cruise and the captain knew just exactly when to get us to the perfect spot for pictures.

If you want to go to a resort with a sense of gentle elegance, total relaxation, a history that we can still feel, then 'Tween Waters is for you. I can hardly wait to go back!

  • Liked — The staff made us feel special and we loved the atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing everything was great!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank occ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

we have stayed here many times. we had a suite overlooking the bay. love the big pool, the short walk to the beach, tennis, shelling. staff is great. breakfast included is great

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjackd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

We chartered a 42 foot houseboat for a week out of Fort Myres. Stayed at the Tween Waters Marina for three nights. The staff was great, and very helpful. We had a wonderful time there.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank robrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
11.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
8.3 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing