We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and caring, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and caring, helpful staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The beautiful, long pristine beach is just a few steps away and the pace is mellow and relaxing. We've just had a lovely, restorative long week-end and will return...Our studio room was in the Seagrape building an we had a kitchenette, a nice screened balcony with Gulf view and a recently renovated bathroom with both bathtub and shower, very fuctional and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dani66, thank you so much for taking the time to review our little slice of paradise at ‘Tween Waters Inn. I would humbly agree that we have one of the nicest stretches of beach you will find, especially given our location within a residential area that allows for a peaceful beach experience without all of the clutter of the “average” public beach. Thank you also for complimenting the amenities of your Gulf View Studio overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. We take great pride in providing our guests with quality accommodations, while still holding on to our connection to Old Florida, represented by our recent designation on the National Historic Registry. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at ‘Tween Waters soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    709
    263
    107
    75
See reviews for
1,028
1,189
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Beautiful view of the Gulf. Our server, Jarrett, was awesome. Ask for him. Food was great. I highly recommend stopping for lunch or dinner. Live music on the weekends -- great classic rock to dance to. And what could be more beautiful than Sanibel/Captiva, Florida?!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are very proud of Jarrett – he’s one of the hardest working persons on staff. His schedule often places him in one or the other of the resort’s restaurants, the pool bar or the poolside coffee shop. He’s a busy guy! He really cares about his guests and that is demonstrated by his attentiveness to their dining experience. Tween Waters Inn's two restaurants are a casual dining pub, the Crow’s Nest, and a fine dining restaurant, the Old Captiva House. Both are excellent for dinner. And, as pointed out by this reviewer, there is a band every Friday and Saturday night in the Crow’s Nest – just right to dance the night away! We are looking forward to your return visit…soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great place within steps to the Gulf. Only complaints were the strong sewer smell in the area near the office, wifi did not work in our room and the shower water pressure was pitiful.

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to request a room where the wifi works and the water pressure is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harborlife1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Harborlife1880,

We are very glad that you enjoyed our “tween” gulf and bay location and that you took the time to share your experience with others. I am sure that you can imagine that fresh water on our islands is very expensive. Using well water to water our landscaping is much more cost effective and environmentally friendly. Unfortunately, our well water has sulfur which if you remember from 7th grade science class has a very distinguished odor. For that reason we try to water as little as possible and in off hours. I have asked our grounds crew to change our irrigation timers to run between 2am and 6am to avoid further disruption. Thank you for bring the matter to our attention. As for our wifi, I agree that some of our rooms do not get a very strong signal. Our buildings are built with concrete blocks and metal roofs which make them very structurally sound to withstand hurricane winds but also very difficult for wifi signal to penetrate. We are experimenting with stronger signal boosters and directional antenna recommended by installation experts. We hope to have improved signal to all rooms by the end of this summer. Finally, I have not heard of any complaints about our water pressure. It may be possible that it is an isolated incident related to the shower head or valve in the room you stayed in. If you will contact me with the room you were in I will gladly have the problem addressed. My email address is dougbabcock22@gmail.com. Thank you for staying with us and bring to our attention these issues. I assure you we are working on the issues and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you're looking for glitz and flash, thankfully this is not the place. Tween Waters is on a lovely spot between the Gulf and Tarpon Bay: beaches front and back. It is a quiet, "old Florida" style resort with great amenities, caring staff, wonderful food, and excellent security. The free breakfast, with wonderful fresh fruit and home baked pastries, is enjoyed best when eaten on the terrance, overlooking the water. Private fishing and shelling expeditions can be booked at the dock; kayaks, canoes, and beach cabanas are available; there are tennis courts and a spa; and the Old Captiva House offers superlative food and wine selections. Drinks and snacks are offered at the poolside bar; one afternoon a steel band was playing at the pool. We couldn't do all that was offered in the week we were there, and we plan to return annually.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor of the Palmetto building, overlooking Tarpon Bay. We could watch pleasur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island SC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This was our first visit to 'Tween Waters Inn, but there was a real sense of deja vu', bringing back memories of beach trips with my parents in the early 60's. The atmosphere was warm and relaxed, welcoming and family-friendly. It was the first time I can remember being greeted by my first name at a reception desk, as if welcoming a family member who has been away too long. What a perfect way to start a vacation! Throughout our visit, everybody and everything we encountered seemed focused on nurturing this atmosphere.

It's obvious, of course, that 'Tween Waters is a well-oiled organization, efficiently running a large resort offering almost everything a beach vacationer could want. There are several places on-site to eat, from simple sandwiches to a very upscale restaurant. The complimentary breakfast was very good, including a variety of fresh fruits, pastries, and the usual cereals, etc. Rentals include bikes, kayaks, beach chairs, and cabanas. Fishing guides and kayak tours are available, and I suspect if they don't offer what you're looking for, they have connections to help line it up. There is a very nice swimming pool, as well as a fitness area and spa, although we did not check those out. Their Gulf beach area is clean and uncrowded, since no public parking is available anywhere nearby.

We stayed in a Gulf-side room, with Bayside rooms and cottages also available. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our screened balcony felt a little closed in and could be uncomfortably warm, since the air conditioner exhausted hot air onto the balcony. The only complaint was that their WiFi was essentially useless in our room. I was never able to connect on my laptop, and my wife's iPad connected maybe 30% of the time, but only IF the room door was left open. Checking email required carrying equipment to the pool or some area with a better signal.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Those looking for a 5-star resort experience may be a little disappointed, but if they give 'Tween Waters a chance, they might just find a great alternative to all the glass and chrome of "high end" resorts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawleysDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I posted a review earlier this week listing several issues that made our stay less than perfect. This morning I retracted that review, based on a personal email I received within a day from the manager of Tween Waters. I am extremely impressed both at the quick response and the manager's explanation which included detailed information about every point I had made.

So, I'll stick with my praise for the location, the helpful staff, the ambiance and the very positive marina experience. And now I'll add that I am more than satisfied with the efforts of the Tween Waters to make an unsatisfied customer feel so much better. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buccaneergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

What a fantastic resort and what a great place to have a weeding weekend! Just visited Tween Waters for four wonderful days for a wedding and cannot wait to go back!
The staff is very helpful and courteous, the food is great and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful...they feel like home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim53649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,299 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
268 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
505 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing