We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Jensen's "On the Gulf"(Captiva Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Mitchell's Sandcastles(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,152)
Filter reviews
3,152 results
Traveler rating
1,818
819
308
123
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,818
819
308
123
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrows nestcrab racescaptiva houseserenity pooloasis pool barsea grapebay viewold floridathe cottagescontinental breakfast isfresh fruitprivate beachscreened balconybubble roomtennis courtsgulf of mexicofamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,767 - 2,772 of 3,152 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent a few days at Tween Water Inn. Wow, awesome location with the Pine Island Sound on one side and the Gulf of Mexico on the other. We saw dolphins in the gulf and the beach is great for sunning or shelling. The sunsets are right there for every evening's viewing. The pool is heated and the cocktails are very good too. There is a kiddie wading pool and a hot tub as well as an exercise room. We had burgers by the pool and they were about the best we ever had. We plan to go back next March for a month in a cottage overlooking the gulf. Can't wait! We rented bikes and rode into town. There are kayaks you can rent also right on the grounds.

We ate dinner at the Crow's Nest. Absolutely wonderful fresh seafood and very cozy. The breakfast is a buffet and you can order off the menu.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. The ones in the front facing the street get sunset, the ones facing the bay get sunrise and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My nine year old daughter and I have been coming to this resort for over 6 years. Every year, the hotel invests in the property and there have been upgrades to this 1940's gem every year. This year, big beach towels and fresh paint on the exterior of the buildings were the surprise improvements. For those wishing a family vacation without programs for children--and that's one of the things I like about this place, come to 'Tween Waters. The dining room is great, the pool and beach superb, and staff are always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimsJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a very nice property with both incredible sunrises and sunsets -- the island is that small and the hotel and facilities literally go "coast to coast." While sunsets are more spectucular (you'll probably be asleep when the sun rises), there is the issue of a road which separates the beach and the hotel. The traffic moves slowly and is not noisy, but it does distract a bit if you want to watch from your hotel balcony. Food, spa, facilities and service are all excellent. Highly recommended as a complete island getaway while remaining in the US. Lots of good restaurants and bicycling opportunities.

Room Tip: Short term go with sunset -- they are spectacular. Longterm, go with sunrise. The view is more pure and less busy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed for one week at start of 4 week vacation.We required somewhere to completely unwind first before moving on & Tween Waters delivered just that.Reception on arrrival was cordial & friendly & we were in our cosy room overlooking the Gulf ( Great sunsets ! ) quickly.
The beach was quiet & great for early morning walks before breakfast Although there were cooked breakfasts every day we did not take this as the breakfast buffet was ample with plenty of fresh fruit cereals etc.
We dined in the Crows Nest Pub a couple of times which had entertainment - a singer - & on another occasion a renowned crab racing night which was hilarious ! Oh & not forgetting a well stocked bar
We also indulged in fine dining in the Old Captiva House which was excellent & not exhorbitant. On another night the management invited us for an early evening cocktail poolside,where it was pleasant to meet other guests.
Other than that we also catered for ourselves on the balcony & if we felt like staying in there was a good selection of movies onTV on a pay per view basis
We also went kayaking from the resort & this was great fun.
We were aware that some guests returned to Tween Waters time after time which is not surprising as the resort is well placed on Captiva with nice rooms friendly helpful staff good food - in other words all the ingredients for a relaxing holiday.
We would certainly stay again too.

Room Tip: Pick Sea Grape rooms for Gulfside views & great sunsets
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterXaghraGozoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hotel is situated in central Captiva which is about 15 miles to the mainland via Sanibel - there are speed restrictions on the road and so that journey can take about 30 mins.
The Hotel is in a superb location between with the sea with great beach just across the road and the sound behind. (Manitees regularly seen close to shore in the sound)
The Reception Staff, and in fact all staff, are very helpful and friendly.
The Rooms are clean and well furnished containing two comfortable twin beds, old style TV, table, fridge, Coffee making, pictures, etc. Bathroom is relatively small, but fine although ours was showing some signs of wear / age. Our Room faced the sea with a screened balcony containing chairs and table. In Room safe also provided. The room had a nice comfortable feel.
Although there was Wi Fi access in the rooms the strength of the signal was poor and not really usable.
There is a large pleasant swimming pool with bar - plus slightly irritating music !!!. Kayak rental available for use in the sound and also bicycle rental available.
The Hotel provide either cabanas or seats / umbrellas on the beach at a cost of $15 or $20 respectively which seems a bit pricey particularly since they were not that good quality. A superb beach and great for swimming or fishing. (Dolphins regularly seen)
A good quality / choice continental breakfast is provided between 7.30 - 11.00. Cooked options are available to residents for an extra $5.95.
There are two Restaurants as part of the Hotel - Old Captiva (up market quality style) and The Crows Nest (Pub style). Both are good and reliable.
This was our second visit to Tween Waters and we will probably return again. One downside is that it takes some time to get back to the mainland, but this must be balanced against the location - Captiva is a bit less busy than Sanibel.
A very good hotel perhaps falling just short of excellent in my view.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper level room with better views so long as you are ok with carrying luggage up stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews