We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to really love this place..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wanted to really love this place..”
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband and I love Captiva. It is a great, beautiful, relaxing getaway for us thats not far from home. This year we opted to try the South Seas Resort. I was very impressed by there website. We booked a king harborside room with a 3-night special they had on there website. When we arrived they stated they did not have any king rooms available, we had to take a double. The front check in was very rude about the way checking in was handled in general. We had already put down a deposit for our room, but were told because we didnt have a credit card they would have to hold the full charge of the whole room on our debit card. I wish this would have been explained when I had called to confirm our reservation before arriving. Thank goodness this did not cause a problem for us, but I can see how it may for some or even cash paying customers. When we arrived to our room it was very spacious as well as the bathroom and the view from the balcony was superb. We could see dolphins, manatees, otters, and stingrays all from the balcony of our room. It was a great thing to wake-up too each morning. On the downside, our tv did not work properly. It would turn off on us almost every 2 minutes. We complained but to no avail was anything done. The pool was closed one of the days of our stay for a function. The area of the beach was very small, there was no-one there to offer to get you a lounge chair or even a drink and the people that were there looked like sardines all on top of each other every time we were there. We had to walk further down the beach and lay out on our own towels. Every restaurant, store, icecream, or any place on the premises for that matter did not accept cash or credit card. You had to use there resort card that was linked in our case to our debit card. On top of that there prices were pretty high. We opted to eat off the property for each meal, and bring groceries in with us. The housekeeping lady assigned to our room was the most pleasent woman I have ever met. She really went that xtra mile for us. All in all I do not think I would stay at this resort again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank herburlness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    902
    479
    219
    168
See reviews for
1,798
841
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Stayed in a 1 bedroom tennis villa for a 3 night stay. Check-in was OK, but needed to clarify the promised rate and resort credit that was included in the Travelzoo promotion. Seems like their system is not always correct because I had to make a call before arriving and was also given conflicting information.

The tennis villa is clean and recently updated. It was complete with a full kitchen (fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher). The kitchen was nice to have since resort dining facilities were few and quite expensive for the type of food they serve.

The queen bed and sofabed was quite nice with ample amount of pillows. The sole bathroom was the only real issue I had with the room. The bathroom was tiny with the toilet and tub separated from the sink which was outside the bedroom. The tub drain was slow and caused water to accumulate in the tub. The bathroom lighting could also be brightened a bit as well.

The beach was nice with complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas set up by the beach staff. Towels were readily available from them as well. Water was nice and warm with little or no waves when we stayed.

Overall, the staff was accomodating, but not real warm with its service. To me this could be an excellent resort, but something was missing with this place. It could be the "warmth" factor that is sorely missing from this place.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank balti_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We lasted one night this July at the South Seas "Resort". We used American Express reward points to buy a two-night stay. Check-in on a Friday afternoon was a complete zoo, with only two people working the desk and thirty people waiting in line (this is a big resort). It took us forty minutes just to get to the desk, and though they confirmed our reservation (which American Express had made, not us, and paid for with our points), they said our room had not been paid for. We asked the manager to figure it out and headed to our room. There was no help offered with luggage or anything else -- they just hand you a poorly-drawn map and send you off.

We some trouble determining which building was ours (nonexistant signage), and no staff was anywhere in sight to help us -- finally we found some employees who were chatting in the jammed-full parking lot who pointed out our building. Again, no offer of help with luggage, which we dragged a long way from the solitary elevator to our room on the third floor. The building area was not clean. Our room, however, was nicely decorated and had a good view over the yacht harbor. Amenities were minimal -- only two towels in the room, which we used before heading out to dinner, and these were not replaced though we put out the "Please service this room" sign at 6:00. There was no turn-down service -- service was essentially nonexistant. We decided to check out a day early, which took us a while because there were angry guests ahead of us complaining about services they hadn't received, and again the front desk was understaffed even though it was checkout time. I would not return here.

  • Liked — The room decor was attractive.
  • Disliked — Totally disorganized administration, no services, overcrowded
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We (two adults & 2 kids, ages 9 & 11) stayed at the South Seas from June 30 to July 6 and had a fabulous time! We stayed in the Harbourside Waterview Guestrooms on the north end. The room was just as lovely as it appears on the website and had a gorgeous view of the boats and yachts docked in the marina. From our balcony, we saw dolphins and manatees welcoming the boats into the harbour.

If you are going to the South Seas, be sure to stay on the north end. The pools are steps away, as is the beach, golf course, Scoops Ice Cream & Pizza shop, the Ships Store, etc. It really is where all the action takes place.

I really can't say enough about the South Seas and Captiva Island in general. We were hesitant about travelling to Florida as we associated it with Disney World and crowded tourist spots, but we were delighted with the natural beauty of Captiva. Captiva and Sanibel are both charming (reminiscent of Bermuda) with quaint shops & restaurants and multi-coloured beach houses.

The ocean was wonderfully warm and the beach was magnificent -- we collected a ton of shells. I think some people's feet must be ultra-sensitive because we were able to walk and run along the beach without any discomfort whatsoever.

All in all, a truly magical holiday -- we will be returning again next year.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrayBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Nice, but it’s just too over priced

We had a 3 night stay at a beach side villa (#2200 building) for the quoted price of $379.00 per night. Check in took about 35 minutes to get to the desk. Unacceptable. The 2 bedroom/2 bath unit was very nice and clean inside. The only complaint was the patio sliding glass door handle that kept falling off. Even after numerous calls to “engineering”, who never showed up, it remained inoperative.

The view from our patio was semi-picturesque of the Gulf, obstructed with jutting portions of adjacent villa walls and a ridge of foliage and flora about 40 yards deep. Nice, but not as I had pictured it in my mind from talking with reservations or from looking at the web site.

The beach itself was better than the Atlantic Coast, yet disappointing to a degree. The Gulf waters were murky (don’t know where the previous reviewer was to see the crystal clear waters because it didn’t exist on the Gulf side of the island) and very warm. Beach was tan in color, not the pristine white but you’ll have this after a CAT 3 hurricane in 2006. Some areas had sparse coverage with seaweed. Beach chairs and umbrellas were plentiful. Shells are there, but not as seen on the website or brochures – so don’t expect to find an overabundance of intact shells just waiting for you to pick up.

Stay away from the Villa Pools!!! Our first and only visit to the pool in the #2200 building was a terrible experience. The pool water was “hot”; warmer than the Gulf of Mexico which had to have been at least 90 degrees. The water was cloudy and after jumping in, we found that the surface of the water was coated with hair. Even after quickly exiting the pool and drying off, you’ll find that there is some infestation of small biting insects nibbling at your feet. We call them the “no-see-‘ums”. Needless to say, that was the last time we ventured into the Villa Pool (I nicknamed it the Villa Cesspool).

On-site eateries and provisions are way over-priced. Then again, they have you captive unless you take a lengthy drive south of the island for dining and necessities. I highly recommend this if you want to keep the costs down. On site, one can only pay using the room card. No cash – No credit cards! Room Cards only which leave me with the uneasy feeling of having my room bill padded with charges I didn’t make. Thankfully, that wasn’t the case with us but I am sure this issue has surfaced with others.

The main pool on the Northern end of the island was beautiful! The family enjoyed it and we made it point to use that pool during our stay, versus the beach or the “Villa Cesspool”. Poolside service was very good with the only complaint being the Room Charge concept.

Trolley service is available, but untimely. Long waits can exist so if you have a car, take it to the North End. But then again, that might be why the North End guests complain of “lack of parking”.

Keep track of your credit card transactions!!! Internet access is available and we found that the Resort has a bad habit of arbitrarily locking up a good portion of your available credit based upon what “they think” you will spend on incidentals besides your room charges. Let’s just say that accessing an additional $1,100 onto the account is a bit ridiculous for a 3-night stay. Be very wary of what credit card you use. I would highly recommend using one with a small credit limit to prevent the possibilities of having to try to retrieve “double dipped” funds back into your account. Our dilemma was solved rather easily (thank you Capitol One).

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the Arcade. Albeit a nice island paradise, this is not really a place for the kids.

Would I come back? Probably not. The resort is overpriced and a bit over-rated in the literature. The majority of the staff is friendly but there are some very clueless individuals amongst the group. This is something the Blackstone folks need to straighten out. I also do not like being forced into using room charges for my purchases. There should be an option for paying cash for a soda or bottle of water.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms
  • Disliked — Lousy Villa Pool,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fokkerpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

The good:
1. The pool complex is awesome. The service was great(they even let us use a cabana for free because they felt it was going to storm later). The pools themselves are amazing, the view is perfect. The pointe restaurant and bar is very good.(not fancy, but perfect for the pool)
2. Pizza restaurant - Great place, great for kids. Good pizza, good ice cream , great candy
3. Golf - nice golf course, not too hard
4. The view and property. Great views, nice beach, the rooms are even very nice.
The bad:
1. Service and maintenance(outside of the aforementioned). We never got our phone to work despite repeated dealings with management. The tub was a really slow drainer, we could barely get the shower on. The staff(outside of the pool), was less than helpful, difficult to understand. We were amazed the cleaning staff even showed up.
2. Amenities - No pressing service? Two days for dry cleaning? Limited room service? Definitely not a full-service resort(except the pool)

Overall, it has great potential, but I won't go there again, and will not recommend it.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mc3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettynpink66227
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

I absolutely loved South Seas! After reading some of the reviews I wasn't really that excited to go but I am glad I did. You may have some problems getting there from the airport and it does take a while to get there. On your way there stop by a grocery store to buy stuff like pop and paper towels. When we got there checking in went really fast surprisingly. We stayed in the Marina Villas and our place looked exactly like the one on the website. My grandma stayed in a privitely owned beach villa and that one wasn't as good looking as a ours. Everyday we got to see some manatees and dolphins out our back screened porch and that was really cool. I would suggest staying somewhere close to the Marina Villas because they are close to the main "attractions" like the arcade, pool, restraunts. We rented a golf cart for the week and it was really fun to drive around so you wouldn't get your car all gross and sandy/wet. We also took it to breakfast off the property almost every morning. Go to Key Lime Bistro for breakfast. For lunch we just ate sandwiches and chips since it was quick and easy. The lagoon pools are nice but sometimes crowded. The beach just outside of the beach villas is nicer than the beach across from the marina villas. Go to Scoops and Slices for great pizza, ice cream, and candy. That place is a lot of fun. The best dinner we had on our trip was at Harbourside Grille. Their clam chowder was absolutely amazing!! We booked a fishing trip through the resort and we wnt out onto the ocean for about an hour but had to come in because of lightning. We were so happy to find out that we could choose another day to go and if the same thing happened we wouldn't get charged for anything. We also went parasailing and if you have never done it you should because it was so awesome and relaxing. Everyone at this hotel was so friendly toward us EXCEPT the golf cart rental place on the resort. We got an electric golf cart so it had to be charged everyday and when we went back to have them charge it up for us, the guy said that he really didn't want us to keep coming back! So pretty much he didn't care if our golf cart died in the middle of the road. He was a real jerk. The lady there was nice but she kept telling us everyday that she would have a better gas golf cart later and she would call us. But guess what? They never called us, EVER!
Aside from that this was probably one of the best trips and I experienced a lot more than I expected.

  • Liked — the laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank prettynpink66227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,301 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,540 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,789 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing