We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love South Seaa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2006

My husband & I have been going down to South Seas the last 16 years (+16 more with my family). We are anxiously awaiting its re-opening from Charley. It is relaxing & peaceful. The resort has its own trolley service that goes through the resort every 15 minutes. It is gated so you don't have everyone driving through the resort. You can rent bikes & go riding. Nearby restaurant, Mucky Duck, has the best BQ
shrimp plus many other great things. The resort has a kids club that my 7 & 10 year old love - not just staying inside watching a video. They have kids crab races by the many pool. The gulf of mexico's water is so blue & peaceful. The shelling is great. We go on l fishing charters with Captain Tim Hickey. We have had a fabulious time catching many different fish including shark & tarpon. Yes, the resort is not cheap, but so worth the experience. We visited Ding Darling National Wildlife to see nature in their home setting. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mmcw9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,193 - 3,199 of 3,456 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Minnesota
14
Reviewed January 8, 2006

I am 18 years old and I have visited south seas 12 times. South Seas is an amazing resort for people of all ages. It truly has something to offer for everyone. I will agree with people that it is expensive, but some people need to realize that there are doctors, lawyers, and corporate executives in the world that can and will dish out money for a luxury vacation. And give me a break.... people are trying to compare this piece of paradise to the Keys? This isn't supposed to be a night club scene... it is a tropical resort! I love south seas and I will continue to visit each year with my family because of the tropical setting, 5 star accomodations, and family friendly environment. This resort is very laid back and comfortable and I would reccomend it to anyone that wants a luxury vacation. Research the resort and if you feel that you can afford it, I guarantee that you will have a great time!! I reccomend staying in a Condo and trying a different pool each day! My personal favorite is the pool at land's end!

Stayed: November 2003
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ROANOKE, VA
110
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We have visited SOUTH SEAS many times over the past 15 years. The natural beauty draws us back, year after year.

Every evening at sunset, We take a walk on the beach.It is usually a place for quiet solitude. You may see a few people doing the "Sanibel stoop", as Captiva and Sanibel have the most beautiful shells in the world. There is an area called "Red Fish Pass, that is beautiful beyond compare,especially at sunset, also We'll walk along the golf course, which is "picture perfect", with gorgeous gulf views at most of the 9 holes. If you are a golfer, you are in for a treat...................and if you are not......try the sunset walk !

We always stay in the HARBOURSIDE HOTEL and request a junior suite with a gulf view (No building is taller than the trees). Our favorite suite overlooks the fishing pier, which is busy with water sport rentals during the day, but in the evening turns into a peaceful tropical paradise..with pink clouds and turquoise water.

Having visited most of the Islands, including Bermuda and Hawaii, We would rank the accommodations as average, most of the restaurants are average, except for Kings Crown and also the steak restaurant, which are both exceptional. The service is also average throughout the resort. Many years ago they employed only college students from around the country. The resort was called SOUTH SEAS PLANTATION at that time and the service was truly exceptional.

As you can surmise....we like everything about SOUTH SEAS RESORT, but would especially recommend it..............if you would like to visit a "naturally" beautiful paradise !!

  • Stayed: May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2005

My husband and I visit Captiva at least once a year, and we typically stay at South Seas. The first time we stayed at South Seas, we booked directly through their reservation service, and paid way too much for a tiny room near the tennis courts. We got wiser and started booking through Royal Shell Vacations. The rates are much better than booking through South Seas. For example, you can rent a 1 bedroom/1 bath condo directly on the beach for approximately $185/night (maybe less in the summer) through Royal Shell. If you were to book the same type of unit through South Seas, you would pay at least $289/night.

If you go, book through Royal Shell Vacations. We have rented private homes and condominiums through Royal Shell and have never been disappointed with the accommodations.

When it's just me and my husband, we prefer to stay at South Seas in a 1 bedroom/1 bath condo. These units are close to the entrance of the resort, which makes the Captiva village area within walking distance.

Our favorite places to eat in Captiva are Key Lime Bistro for outdoor dining, Lazy Flamingo for relaxed atmosphere, Bubble Room for the awesome cake, and Mucky Duck for fabulous sunsets. Don't waste your money on the restaurants at South Seas. There are much better places to eat in Captiva and Sanibel.

One last word of advice. Do not go during Spring Break if you hate traffic and crowds. We usually go in late summer (when rates are 40% less) or at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years. Temperatures are still pleasant and there are less people on the islands.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
26  Thank pantherfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
223
Reviewed April 17, 2005

ehh. it was okay.
THE ROOMS WERE AMAZING!
also the water is nicer in Captiva then Sanibel.
the resturaunts were WAY over-priced and NOT very good! but if your going, stop at the Island Cow in Sanibel. Better than anything you'll ever have at the South Seas and 10 times less money.
the gift shops aren't so great. bad stuff for a lot of money. go to one of the little shops around the area.
the pools could be found in your backyard. nothing special. actually, my pool is nicer!
check out the rest of the area. they have cute shops and really yummy resturaunts.

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ft Myers Fl
19
Reviewed April 8, 2005

South Sea Resort has decided to do a mojor upgrade to its facilities rather than just clean-up and repairs after Hurricane Charley in August, 2004. It will re-open in entirety about January 2006.

Until then, acommodations can be found by searching for "Captiva vacation rentals" on any search engine. The houses in the village have been taking guests since October and the village restaurants are in great shape. While there, you can walk the South Seas beach and see the progress in the major renovations.

Stayed: June 2001
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Stayed at South Seas resort on spring break two years ago. Didn't know about tripadvisor website, but we wished we had. The hotel type room we booked was just gross--after reading so many of the other reviews, I knew we were right thinking how could this be so disgusting. We went back to front desk, upgraded to a $700 condo at golf course end. Pretty location, very dated condo--sliding glass door wouldn't even open, steel part of the shower crashed down on my 10 year old daughter--told front desk. Slow to fix and never even apologized. Front desk staff especially rude-can't even believe people would ever return to this place. If you must go, find the timeshares or condos at the end of the golf course, but we will never return. Spent less in Cayman Islands (Discovery Point condos) on room and had better time. The restaurants there on the resort are just awful. I don't mind spending money as long as the food and service are great. We did have a great time at the Bubble Room. We have been to Hawaii, Cancun, St. Thomas, Cayman Islands, Cozumel usually at condos around the $400-700 range. This place was the worst and I agree with so many of the other reviews--this is a Motel 6 type resort--take your money somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank sunntann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,960 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,678 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $224 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing