We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet, beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great, quiet, beautiful beach”
Reviewed January 29, 2005

We spent a week in April 2003 at South Seas.

We were upgraded from a one bedroom marina view condo to a three bedroom and this obviously made us very happy. The condo was tropically furnished and very clean. Housekeeping did a good job.

The beaches are beautiful but the chairs are filled up early and the staff doesn't apologize for it. We really loved walking on the beach and looking for shells.

The dining options are good but after a week we were a bit tired of Capn'Al's. The buffet place isn't great. The steak place was wonderful.

We had one small child with us and everyone was very accomodating to us and him. He especially enjoyed the trolley and the sunset festival. The clientele was extremely nice and I didn't experience any snobbines as another reviewer described.

We will definitely return again and we'd love to stay in the Land's End area next time.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank coldinrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    911
    488
    222
    170
See reviews for
1,822
847
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2004

We thought we'd splurge on a few nights at a wonderful resort... though this was far from wonderful for us, simply because it is much too expensive to truly enjoy unless you are seriously wealthy and/or willing to blow your whole vacation budget on a single vacation. This review therefore pertains only to those 'middle class' or even upper middle class vacationers like us who are thinking of staying here for a splurge. If money isn't an issue for you, then I have no doubt you'll enjoy all that South Seas has to offer and this review is not meant to disparage the resort. After our expensive 'splurge' --- of about $320 per night, upon entering the TINY room IN a parking lot, with a view of more parking lots and pavement, I actually, for the first time ever on a vacation, broke down into tears. The room we had splurged on was fine, but, no different than a Days Inn or Comfort Inn... same room, same tiny size, same asphalt view. PLease believe me when I say this was TINY -- it felt dark and small like a motel. Drapes opened out onto a picture window and the railing/walkway just like a motel! We looked out at a parking lot, and across the way another building just like ours. We had thought we were splurging, but realized that what was expensive to us, was the bottom of the barrel room here. When we inquired about an upgrade, or moving to a better room, the next 'level' was $800 per night. We are college educated professionals in our mid thirties, and do have some money to spend, (thinking $320/night was pretty expensive, and therefore ought to buy a decent room!) but it seemed that many of the guests here were seriously wealthy... think HUGE yachts and OLD money families that look like they belong in a Ralph Lauren commercial, not at South Seas Plantation. Lunch at the marina side restaurant was filled with competitive conversations about whose children were going to which Ivy League school and everywhere we turned it seemed people were trying to "out best" others on their achievements and activities. Pretentious is the word that comes to mind. If you wear navy blue blazers with gaudy nautical trim and gold hair clips out to lunch, this may be the place for you. No offense, this is just my obsevation. Our pool was directly next to the parking lot as well. Picture concrete buildings all around and parking lots and cars. Okay, there were a few palms, so we knew we weren't in Kansas anymore, but, this could have been any roadside hotel/motel anywhere in the country. One night, the pool was used for a business function. The cocktail hour was getting going just as I jumped in for a swim. I continued my swimming, determined not to let the suit and tie crowd ringing the pool make me uncomfortable. This is NOT what I generally envision when I think "lovely, relaxing tropical vacation". Making the best of the resort requires LOTS of money. I don't usually bring sandwiches from home on vacation, or make my own margaritas in a sippy cooler to save money... We were prepared to spend some good money, just not $4 grand which is about what you'd need to REALLY enjoy this place. We luckily had a car, and were able to get out to some smaller 'local' restaurants, going back and forth through this gated fortress. The resort is very spread out --- VERY --- think -- you may need to get in your car, not just take a 'long walk' -- it is more of a gated community than a resort. This is not a 'negative review' so much as a reality check. You'll be far better off somewhere else. There are beautiful beach views and upscale, yet elegant resorts elsewhere that you can still do on a decent budget. Try Cheeca Lodge in the Keys for example. Even in the "low rent' rooms, you can still enjoy the surroundings and feel welcomed. We were very uncomfortable here, and could not wait to leave. Spend $2K at another place, and go on two vacations for the price of one stuffy one!!

Helpful?
29 Thank karilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2004

Visted nine times in the past eleven years. Loved the peace, quiet, ambiance, flora and fauna, and of course weather and water proximity. Found food options excellent; but ate primarily at Captain Al's with great food and relaxed informal atmosphere. Now shut down for repairs and improvements, I expect to be one of the first guests to return early in 2006.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2004

We stayed here for a week in the Summer of 2000. We loved everything about this place. The island is peaceful, yet there is plenty to do. The beach is a short walk or trolley ride from anywhere on the resort. I didn't, however, like the dining options on the property. We went off-property for most meals. Other than that, it was a great trip.

Helpful?
4 Thank Swezfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2004

We own timeshare property at South Seas Club. I agree with the previous comment. Rent from a person who owns a timeshare. This facility is wonderful. You have your own pool, free laundry facilities (I do mine while I lay by the pool and read!), free golf (less the cart rental of $13) and free tennis for those who own weeks in the South Seas Club. If you rent from an owner, you also receive the free golf. I agree, not really a place for children, but they can have fun too. It’s not a 24x7 entertainment joint. It’s to help you relax, bond with your family and enjoy nature. There is a dolphin cruise and for the romantic at heart, a sunset cruise with live music. (A tip re: the dolphin cruise, when the ship speeds up, go to the back of the ship on the bottom. The dolphins will be jumping no more that 12" from you. They even spray you with their splash!! True, the shells are crushed on some parts, but take the Usuppa cruise and go to an empty island in itself for tons of shells, and even sand dollars. (Don't take live shells, it's against the law..live sand dollars are brown. The sun turns them white) The cruises depart right by Cap’n Al’s. We look forward to going every year, and I personally would love to own there. My husband and I are busy Chicago professionals with a 19 year old. We have been taking our son here since he was 10, and he’d rather be at Captiva than at Disney World. Yes, you do have to pay $$ for cruises and wave runners, but well worth the $$. I suggest that you buy the book Sanibel and Captiva by Julie and Mike Neal before you go. We used to eat at the resort all the time and stay close, now, we go up to Sanibel and really enjoy the islands. Thought the food at SS was okay, but not the greatest and pretty spendy. Now, we go to the restaurants on Captiva. They might look like dives, but Yummm! Try RC Otters, great food, and cheap, Sunset Café, all great food! You won’t regret it!

Helpful?
5 Thank travelingchicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2004

We've vacationed at South Seas for four years. Staying at accommodations from Land's End Village to the Beach Vilas. I do agree that the views are spectacular but that does not excuse the condition of the rooms. Quite frankly, your not looking at that gulf view all day and night. However, you are looking at the dirty carpet, leaking faucet, fingerprints on the glass doors much more frequently. We don't mind paying top dollar for a vacation - but we expect that all elements of the vacation would be at that level not just the view. Our top rated vacations included clean updated well-kept rooms. Service that was courteous and helpful and a variety of food choices ranging from casual to expensive. A travel agent told us that the rating on this resort had been downgraded and unfortunately, after our last visit, we must agree. South Seas could be a truly magnificent resort, it has all the potential but there needs to be an upgrading of service, food and rooms that are refurbished on a timely basis. For now, there are too many other resorts to choose from where they not only provide a great view, but spas, large fitness centers, and other amenities that truly make your vacation top notch.

Helpful?
9 Thank blsWestfield_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 22, 2004

We just got back from a one week vacation at the South Seas Resort. We stayed in a one bedroom beach villa. We were very happy with our accomodations. The rooms were clean, well equipped, and spacious for our family of four. We were a very short walk from the beach. We used the trolley several times - very efficient. If you had teenage kids that would be a huge convenience. We found all of the resort employees we encountered to be friendly and helpful. We did not eat at any of the resort restaurants. We were so close to the Captiva restaurants that we chose to eat there instead. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the South Seas Resort to anyone. It is very family friendly. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,345 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,568 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing