We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Seas Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa(Captiva Island)(Great Value!)
$258
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
$239
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$209
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,606)
Filter reviews
3,606 results
Traveler rating
1,691
970
531
234
180
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,691
970
531
234
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis villassunset beachgolf cartscoops and slicesthe north endbayside villasmain poolbubble roommucky duckships storescavenger huntharbourside restauranttrolley servicedoc fordsbar grillbedroom villagreen flash
Filter
Updating list...
1,800 - 1,805 of 3,606 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The location of this hotel is Prime Real Estate. It is a huge property and there is not really a need to leave and go around the island.
We stayed at the Beach cottages and i thought they were just average. They are right on the water so the location is great, they are roomy, but one of the rooms had a queen bed while the other had twin beds, and we were 2 couples so this was not really an ideal accommodation situation.
However, we had a nice little balcony right outside the living room were we could sit to talk and watch the sunset. The closeness to the beach was fabulous.
The kitchen was convenient to have.
The bed however was not comfortable at all, mattress was very lumpy. The rooms have carpet and the carpet in our room was old and dirty. They really need to be replaced soon!.

I also lost a very expensive watch while i was there. However, i do not know if it was stolen or if i just misplaced it, so it is what it is.

The restaurant close to the hotel was big and the food was just ok, nothing special. We had a great time though but overall i think we paid too much just for average hotel.
I don't know a lot about the other hotel properties in Captiva, but there may be way better places to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalifa282003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I'd welcome the opportunity to discuss with you how we can take your good experience and turn it into the great experience you were expecting. Please email me at asmith2@southseas.com to further this discussion.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will consider returning for an even better stay next time.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We came for a family wedding and stayed in the Tennis Villas.

Hotel Pros:
Great activities
Clean rooms
Great balconies

Hotel Cons:
Rude and disorganized front desk staff
Incredibly hard bed
Incredibly stiff and hard sheets
Incredibly cheap and uncomfortable pillows
Cheapest toilet paper possible (it was so uncomfortable, we bought our own TP and brought it to the hotel)
Whatever they use to wash the towels smells like paint thinner
The bathroom is so small you have to turn sideways to shut the bathroom door (not easy for a 6 months pregnant woman)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I'd like to learn more about your experience, particularly about your experience at the front desk. If you're willing to further the discussion, please email me at asmith2@southseas.com.

Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Easy access to beaches, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pools. However try to buy your own food and make it there because the food in the resort is expensive and mediocre. You pay a lot for small portions, drinks are weak and over priced. Be prepared to spend most of your money on food and drinks. Scoops and slices, way over priced and the portions were tiny. Not good at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denisse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I'd welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail. If you're willing, please contact me at asmith2@southseas.com.

Again I thank you for your comments and I hope to speak to you soon.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Every year my extended family converges on this resort.We have been coming here for over 13 years. It is quiet and relaxing and offers lots of activities for every age group. We stay in the Cottages each year and they are always well equipped and generally clean. The North end of the Resort is where most of the day time activities are located. Staying down this end allows us the ability for everyone to do what they want to yet still be somewhat together. Our children can have some autonomy to go around the pools, game room, fish dock and even to Scoops and Slices(pizza and ice cream) without supervision. It is extremely safe and they can roam freely. (Kids are now 12 and 14and have been coming here their whole lives) The resort has two main pools along with another waterslide/zero entry pool. Each of the individual accommodation complexes has a pool as well with the exception of the Cottages. Their pool was "given up" to add the waterslide pool. Finding chairs can sometimes be challenging if you get to the main pools after 10am. The beach is also very nice and has non-motorized water sports available there as well. For motorized water sports head to the desk at the fish dock. Para sailing and jet skies, etc can be rented there. The prices aren't cheap but little is on Captiva. The golf course is a Par 3 executive course and pretty nice too. We take our kids out on it, great for beginner golfers even with all the water hazards. In the evening take a stroll around the Marina area and look for Manatees. (a great time passer for the little ones before dinner.) The only draw back to this resort is that the restaurants are not spectacular. I highly recommend leaving the resort at night and going to The Green Flash, Key Lime Bistro (they have music) or Old Captiva House. You can take the trolley to the south end of the resort and walk into town. Lots of people rave about the Bubble Room and Mucky Duck and I have no idea why. Neither are worth visiting. They are mediocre at best. On the resort each complex has gas grills so plan on a nice BBQ and catching the sunset at the beach as an alternative. On your way into Captiva you can stop at the grocery store in Sanibel and get a few things. The Provisions Store and Ships Stores on property are very expensive and very limited. This vacation is best enjoyed while the sun is up. The "night life" is minimal. Years ago there was a piano bar and formal dinning restaurant but no longer. Other than the music at Key Lime there isn't much happening. So get up early and soak up all this resort has to offer.

Room Tip: Room Tip...stay on the North end. You can take the Trolley to tennis or the restaurants if you want to go there but better to be where all the other activities are for the daytime. The south end is really quiet and not much there to do. Also book through the hotel or Hilton Grand Resorts. If you book your stay privately you will not have access to any of the resort amenities. Cash is not accepted at any of the resort outlets with the one exception of the ship's store. You must have a bracelet and card key to access anything here. The hotel does not allow you to buy daily passes any longer.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MomWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for continued patronage at South Seas Island Resort. We are honored that you have chosen us for your annual family retreat. Thank you for sharing your experience.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My family stayed here last week and had a fantastic time. Every employee we encountered truly wanted to help and assist. The pools and the beach is to die for! We will be back! No more flights to the caribbean.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenzGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for staying at South Seas Island Resort and sharing your experience. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time in Captiva. Being just up the road in Tampa, we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews