We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for little kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for little kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just got back from a weekend vacation at this resort and have returned with great memories! I was worried that there wouldn't be enough for my toddler to enjoy and boy was I wrong. From Skully's to fishing on the pier to the great pool set up, he was happily entertained the whole time. And Scoops & Slices was a perfect place for all of us to "kid" around and enjoy some pizza and ice cream.
We stayed in a Harbourside Marina View room and the sunrise view with the sun hitting the boats was b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l. (rm 1707) For the most part everything was clean in the room. The room was never hot, but that's because it seemed like the AC ran every 5 min. It wasn't "too" loud, but was kind of annoying at first.
Gotta say, the entire staff at this resort are A+++. Never did I encounter a foul mood or an unwillingness to help and/or go above and beyond. Seriously superior friendliness at every turn from the restaurants to random workers that we asked for directions! Special shout out to Chrestena (?) at the Harbourside Bar & Grill and the woman (can't remember her name) at Scoops. So nice, both of them!
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBC2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for bringing your family to South Seas Island Resort. We take great pride in reading reviews in which we accomplish our goal - creating a truly memorable vacation experience for guests of all ages.

We look forward to your next visit to Captiva.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    874
    462
    214
    156
See reviews for
1,734
824
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just got back from our wedding at South Seas Island Resort. It was simply and utterly perfect. Our guests had the most wonderful time and everyone keeps asking if we can renew our vows already next year! The resort is picture perfect, with the most beautiful sunsets! Staff are friendly and welcoming, and we received the best service for our rehearsal dinner, wedding reception and brunch. It really is the perfect resort for any age- there is a lot to do! Regardless of the fact that we had our wedding there- we will be back as guests soon! Highly recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the North Pointe over looking the ocean. You can see the sun rise from your bed! Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessByrne89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at South Seas Island Resort, congratulations! Thank you for choosing South Seas for your destination wedding and we are so glad that you and your guests enjoyed yourselves.

Please let me know if I can assist you in planning your next getaway to Captiva.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in a bayside villa. Upon arrival, we moved into our room and quickly determined that the AC was not working. The front desk immediately sent a crew to investigate and then moved us to the villa next door when it was determined to be a significant problem. They were polite and professional through this, which was nice.

The next day, when we were trying to do laundry, one of the two washers in the building broke. The staff was again quick to come by to investigate, but two problems in as many days may be indicative of the age and condition of these villas. I also found the bed to be incredibly uncomfortable. In fact, I traded with my daughter so that I could sleep on the sofa.

As others have noted, the beach was being dredged. That only impacted the beach access closest to our villa. The Sunset Beach was not impacted, although you could not walk as far along the beach as we wanted to. This beach work would not have been a "show stopper," but I think it would have been a nice gesture if the resort had informed us of the situation before our arrival. If I were a person who cherished long walks on the beach, I would have wanted to go elsewhere.

If you like manatees and dolphins, this is a good place to see them. The manatees hang out in the marina every day (although they should be leaving soon). We saw dolphins every day from the T-dock and from Sunset Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCAAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback about your stay. I apologize that you ran into a few issues. I'm happy to say that the beach nourishment project is over the beach looks amazing. I hope that you will contact me prior to your return so that we can ensure you have a truly enjoyable stay.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Wonderful, peaceful location. Balcony overlooking harbor, wading birds, dolphin, each night very peaceful. Housekeeping really lacking. Suspect tile floor hadn't been mopped in a month. Front desk receptionist just shrugged her shoulders - didn't expect anything - but an apology might have been nice, or at least a look of chagrin! No access to advertised miles of beach - due to dredging operations. Understand the need to do - but felt that guests should have been forewarned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdr4081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at South Seas. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Should you wish to return to Sanibel & Captiva, please let me know so that I can address your concerns and ensure your visit exceeds your expectations.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My family and I have made South Seas Island Resort a must stay for the past 17 years. It is peaceful, relaxing and a touch of paradise. If you like golf, fishing and water sports, there is no better place in the state of Florida.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your many years of patronage at South Seas Island Resort. We look forward to making year 18 the best yet.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend for our anniversary at a bayside water view room, we loved the view from our balcony to the sea a mere 12 yards away. The location is an island paradise, the facilities are flawless, and the staff is very amicable and accommodating.
The only minuses were no breakfast room service and the main restaurant was closed for renovations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Congratulations and thank you for celebrating with us. The Harbourside Bar & Grill renovations are complete now and I hope that your travels bring you back to Sanibel, Captiva, and South Seas island Resort.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our first trip to South Seas and we were thrilled with all that they had to offer. Stayed in a Beach Villa, which was at the quieter South end of the resort. Good ammenities on that end, but all of the main activity was at the North end of the resort - a short trolley ride away. We were celebrating our wedding anniverary (sans children) and enjoyed the quiet of the South end. Would definitely recommend those travelling with kids to stay at the North end narest the pools and activities. Plenty of activities to choose from - we enjoyed beaches, Sunset Beach bar, waverunner rental, dolphin and manatee watching in the marina, guided fishing, shell collecting and pools. Prices for rentals and activities were very reasonable and equivalent to other SW FL locations. Staff were all very friendly and polite and made you feel welcome wherever you went. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Captiva!

Room Tip: South end is quieter. If you are in a villa, buy grocery items BEFORE you get to the Sanibel bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Congratulations on your recent anniversary. Thank you for choosing South Seas as your getaway retreat. The fall is a wonderful time to come to Captiva to celebrate anniversaries and honeymoons since the kids are back in school and the weather is so nice (warm, but not too hot). We hope that you will come back with the whole family or see you next year for your anniversary.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing