We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Beach Villa and had a wonderful time. The beach is in walking distance every morning they put out chairs and umbrellas. A pool is also available beach side or a short trolley ride and your are at the main resort area with 3 pools and 2 slides. My 5 yr old son has a great time here using the kids club, scoops for an ice cream, or an adult beverage poolside. We brought our own food and drinks BBQ areas are available. The resort has plenty of amenities and you can easily spend the entire day right on the property. This was our second time at the resort and plan to be back again. The condo unit had upgrades and was perfect for the 3 of us my son slept on the fold out couch and the room was attended to daily.

Room Tip: Ask to be in an updated unit when making your reservation. Keep checking rates our price went down d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMW33180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks for staying at South Seas and we look forward to your third visit and beyond.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been going to South Seas since the mid 80's. I have stayed in most areas of the resort. Although a lot has changed over the years, it is still one of my favorite places for vacation. The beaches cannot be beat. There are different types of lodging to suit just about any need. Lands End offers both the best views, as well as convenience to golf and the harbor. Dolphin, many species of fish, and manatees all call this home.

Room Tip: Stay at Lands End or in the beach cottages for the best views. Two restaurants are convenient from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Io79032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for staying at South Seas throughout the years. The picture of the baby manatee with its mom in the yacht harbour is wonderful - thank you for sharing.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this resort, including watching yachts come and go from our harbor view balcony. Even had a lightning show one evening - wow. Beaches & grounds were clean and fine service with umbrella, chaises and towels there. Think assigning one of the pools as "adult only" would be a no-brainer, but no, perhaps they do during other seasons? Trolley ride was fun, not only for transport, but to tour without moving the car, which we didn't do the 5 days we were there. Doc Ford's is a neat restaurant in the southern area, with friendly waitstaff and posters of the book covers of our Floridian author Randy Wayne White adorn the walls (he is a partner in this and two other eateries in Sanibel & Ft Myers Beach). The beaches were our major draw - we were delighted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveflorida84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We're happy to ready you enjoyed your stay at South Seas Island Resort. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to lose yourself!! The staff was exceptional as were the accomidations. The views from this area are very relaxing and soothing to anyone wanting to get away from it all!! There are also things to do in the surrounding areas such as swimming, sunning, fishing and beach combing just to name a few. South Florida is growing, but places like this are remote and have to be reached by boat.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for staying at South Seas and sharing your experience. The fall is a great time to get away and relax, and our location on the Gulf of Mexico means the water is warm, great fishing and watersports, great dining options, and much more. We look forward to your return.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, clean, homie, cozy, well designed and well kept property. Caters to all ages and it's safety it's definitely priceless for 100% peace of mind. There is always something to do and you can rest as well as stay active while having fun. The gum facility is very good and the location is secluded and very charming.

Room Tip: Rooms by the Tennis Courts are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miri1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks for staying at South Seas. We're glad you enjoyed the abundant amenities available. We look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is excellent. It has all you need.
Pools, grills, restaurants, beautiful beaches, nice people and super nice villas.
We stood in a 2 bed beach villa and it was more than what we expected.
Super clean, super big and super well located. There is a swimming pool between the villa and the beach, the pool has it's own bbq grill and It felt like a private pool.
will go back again anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaytShoreNYAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting Sanibel & Captiva and staying at South Seas Island Resort. The villas on the south end of the resort village offer a comfortable setting with easy access to the beach and association pools. Starbucks and Chadwicks Square, with the spa and boutique shops, are nearby too. Thanks for the great review.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second year at South Seas. We give this a 4 with a very big BUT. Some rooms are great and some rooms are awful. Prior to our arrival, I read the tips on here and emailed the resort asking if at all possible for our Beach Villa to be newly renovated and a direct view of the beach. We got a response saying that the request was entered into our reservation. We stayed harbourside in an older room last year with a 2 year old and infant and it wasn't kid friendly. Upon arrival today, we walked into an old room with a view of a giant tree blocking our beach view and the glass on the end tables were light enough for our youngest to move the lamps and almost come crashing down on him. Thanks! My husband went back over to the front and the receptionist seemed fairly annoyed that we were unhappy with our room, however, she sent a bell boy over to show us another room- which also was not newly renovated. Our bell boy actually then showed us a third room that was slightly renovated but the ac is so loud, it's like being on an airplane. But we will deal with it. It's a better view with a bigger kitchen that enables me to keep an eye on our 2 little boys while I cook. We typically never complain about service but we rarely take vacations and wanted this one to be as enjoyable as much as possible. It's just disappointing to see pictures of really great rooms on here and then have the room you pay and stay in not up to par. Day 2 tomorrow, lets hope it's a better day!

Room Tip: Have low expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,398 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,631 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $210 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing