We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
“Rooms are disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second year at South Seas. We give this a 4 with a very big BUT. Some rooms are great and some rooms are awful. Prior to our arrival, I read the tips on here and emailed the resort asking if at all possible for our Beach Villa to be newly renovated and a direct view of the beach. We got a response saying that the request was entered into our reservation. We stayed harbourside in an older room last year with a 2 year old and infant and it wasn't kid friendly. Upon arrival today, we walked into an old room with a view of a giant tree blocking our beach view and the glass on the end tables were light enough for our youngest to move the lamps and almost come crashing down on him. Thanks! My husband went back over to the front and the receptionist seemed fairly annoyed that we were unhappy with our room, however, she sent a bell boy over to show us another room- which also was not newly renovated. Our bell boy actually then showed us a third room that was slightly renovated but the ac is so loud, it's like being on an airplane. But we will deal with it. It's a better view with a bigger kitchen that enables me to keep an eye on our 2 little boys while I cook. We typically never complain about service but we rarely take vacations and wanted this one to be as enjoyable as much as possible. It's just disappointing to see pictures of really great rooms on here and then have the room you pay and stay in not up to par. Day 2 tomorrow, lets hope it's a better day!

Room Tip: Have low expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    859
    456
    205
    153
See reviews for
1,702
811
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful Resort catering to families and Couples alike! Great Amenities and Service. Beautiful Condo accommodations right on the Beach! Umbrella, towel, and Chair service on the beach included with condo makes your days on the beach so enjoyable! Beautiful grounds and landscaping! Condo had been recently updated with beautiful furnishings, inside and out on the screened lanai! We have been here a few times, with children, and without, one bedrooms to three bedroom units and all were nice! We always made clear at check in that we wanted an updated beautiful unit as I understand not all condos have been updated -- and South Seas was very accommodating! It is a classic old time East Coast Resort. Captiva has beautiful beaches, is relatively quiet and quaint. A great get away! Very rejuvenating!

Room Tip: We have stayed multiple times in the Beach Villas both on lower floors and upper floors -- both had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kstravlr2443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your visits to South Seas Island Resort. The beautiful beaches of Sanibel & Captiva perfect for a quiet retreat with or without family. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently rented two units, one two bedroom and one three bedroom, for 2 nights for a combo family vacation......was so disappointed ! Both units were really outdated and dowdy-not at all the "luxury" feel that I thought the price would provide !! The ancient carpets in the three bedroom unit, so musty and dusty, caused two family members to go into asthma and ruined their vacation. Both units were "bare minimum" in my opinion--outdated, not clean, bad smelling. Beds uncomfortable. We had not returned to South Seas for a long time and were looking forward to it--but will not return at those prices for no quality. Staff ranged from surly to bored indifference and all were not knowlegeable or helpful. Food pricey and ordinary, and resort very, very, very crowded. South Seas has had its day--it used to be really wonderful, but no more. Already shopping for some other place for next summer !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Your feedback will allow us to identify areas in which we can improve. I understand your disappointment but I hope you will consider giving us another chance. I have sent a private message to discuss your stay further.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from yet another amazing vacation at South Seas Resort. Over the last eight years we have been vacationing at South Seas, each time opting for different accommodations depending on our requirements at the time. When we want a quieter vacation (no kids) we stay on the south end (tennis and bay view villas), for a livelier, kid friendly vacation we opt for the north end where there is a huge pool with waterslide, activity center, sailing school and the golf course is a draw whether we stay north or south. We especially appreciate the upkeep not only of the grounds, which are lush and tropical, but also of the high standard of each villa in which we have stayed. We're always surprised how reasonable the rates are considering how luxurious that resort is. This time around, we especially enjoyed Doc Ford's Bar and Grille which just opened at the beginning of August. The food was delicious and the prices reasonable. We stayed the last week of August, known as the quiet time on Captiva and it couldn't have been more delightful. Can't wait until we return in March!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler3835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your continued visits to South Seas Island Resort and sharing your experience. Doc Ford's has been a great new addition to Captiva, and has allowed us to revise our menu at Harbourside Bar & Grill, with more changes scheduled to the other dining options within the resort village. See you next year.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have a timeshare in the South Seas Club and Cottages of South Seas where we have been going for 18 years. It is truly a paradise with all the attractions and sightseeing opportunities that Florida can offer. When we drive through the gate, we don't have to move our car again unless of course you want to venture further out to Sanibel and Ft Myers. Everything you could want is right here for you. The pools are gorgeous with a fantastic view of the Gulf and Pine Island sound. We love the boat tours, the fishing, and the views. there is golf, shelling on the beach and just plan relaxing! Doc Ford now has a restaurant on the resort which is a great addition to Captiva. their food is WONDERFUL- just make sure you try the chocolate banana bread with caramel topping and a scoop of ice cream. If that is not enough don't forget to hit up Scoops where you get your fill of candy, ice cream and pizza.
Our family meets there every year and we come away with the most wonderful memories. Our granddaughter provided us with the best memories ever this year along with the friends we have know for many years that we meet there every year. August is the slow month but that is ok by us as we have plenty of everything without having to wait in line.
Our condo sits on the golf course and we can see the sunsets every evening, but walk out to the beach to get the best views.
If you have never been to South Seas Island Resort you have not been on vacation!

Room Tip: Stay to the North end of the island as that is where most of the amenities are- large pools, slides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at South Seas Island Resort. We take great pride in offering amenities and services that are the backdrop to the creation of special memories for our visitors. We'll see you and your family next August.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Our rented two story, two room condo is close to the beach and a pool plus a short drive to the main area where there are three additional pools that seem to be segmented by what various age 'segments' might prefer to do.

We've had a wonderful vacation here.

It's truly for families and not extravagant which is what we wanted this trip.

I don't think I understand the claim about Sanibel and Captiva having the best shelling shores. Marco Island seemed to offer me better results in terms of size and diversity. But we didn't really come for that anyway.

Mosquitos are bad so bring repellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MBradbury33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to South Seas. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Captiva and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love this resort - everything is wonderful except there is no room service other than pizza, and chicken fingers, and the pizza is huge--XL. Too big for two people. The restaurant, Harbourside Grill is excellent, but sometimes, especially if your stay is a week, you just want to order out. We also enjoy ordering breakfast in. Again, the restaurant is great, and, the ships store has great little breakfast sandwiches, but it's nice to be able to order in if you want. That is the only negative thing for us about this resort; it's a personal issue. I want to add that we love everything else about this property. It's a place we love to return to again and again, and each time, we end up extending our stay. Accommodating staff, cleanliness, beautiful. If you do not mind no room service, then you will absolutely love this property. We always stay in the Harbourside waterview; fantastic views of Pine Island Sound, the T-dock, dolphins, birds, manatees. Please, please, offer room service in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at South Seas Island Resort. We're honored to be a favorite destination of yours and we look forward to your future visits. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us better serve you in future trips to Captiva.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
1.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
11.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing