We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“south seas paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“south seas paradise”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from yet another amazing vacation at South Seas Resort. Over the last eight years we have been vacationing at South Seas, each time opting for different accommodations depending on our requirements at the time. When we want a quieter vacation (no kids) we stay on the south end (tennis and bay view villas), for a livelier, kid friendly vacation we opt for the north end where there is a huge pool with waterslide, activity center, sailing school and the golf course is a draw whether we stay north or south. We especially appreciate the upkeep not only of the grounds, which are lush and tropical, but also of the high standard of each villa in which we have stayed. We're always surprised how reasonable the rates are considering how luxurious that resort is. This time around, we especially enjoyed Doc Ford's Bar and Grille which just opened at the beginning of August. The food was delicious and the prices reasonable. We stayed the last week of August, known as the quiet time on Captiva and it couldn't have been more delightful. Can't wait until we return in March!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler3835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your continued visits to South Seas Island Resort and sharing your experience. Doc Ford's has been a great new addition to Captiva, and has allowed us to revise our menu at Harbourside Bar & Grill, with more changes scheduled to the other dining options within the resort village. See you next year.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    891
    472
    217
    163
See reviews for
1,770
834
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have a timeshare in the South Seas Club and Cottages of South Seas where we have been going for 18 years. It is truly a paradise with all the attractions and sightseeing opportunities that Florida can offer. When we drive through the gate, we don't have to move our car again unless of course you want to venture further out to Sanibel and Ft Myers. Everything you could want is right here for you. The pools are gorgeous with a fantastic view of the Gulf and Pine Island sound. We love the boat tours, the fishing, and the views. there is golf, shelling on the beach and just plan relaxing! Doc Ford now has a restaurant on the resort which is a great addition to Captiva. their food is WONDERFUL- just make sure you try the chocolate banana bread with caramel topping and a scoop of ice cream. If that is not enough don't forget to hit up Scoops where you get your fill of candy, ice cream and pizza.
Our family meets there every year and we come away with the most wonderful memories. Our granddaughter provided us with the best memories ever this year along with the friends we have know for many years that we meet there every year. August is the slow month but that is ok by us as we have plenty of everything without having to wait in line.
Our condo sits on the golf course and we can see the sunsets every evening, but walk out to the beach to get the best views.
If you have never been to South Seas Island Resort you have not been on vacation!

Room Tip: Stay to the North end of the island as that is where most of the amenities are- large pools, slides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at South Seas Island Resort. We take great pride in offering amenities and services that are the backdrop to the creation of special memories for our visitors. We'll see you and your family next August.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Our rented two story, two room condo is close to the beach and a pool plus a short drive to the main area where there are three additional pools that seem to be segmented by what various age 'segments' might prefer to do.

We've had a wonderful vacation here.

It's truly for families and not extravagant which is what we wanted this trip.

I don't think I understand the claim about Sanibel and Captiva having the best shelling shores. Marco Island seemed to offer me better results in terms of size and diversity. But we didn't really come for that anyway.

Mosquitos are bad so bring repellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MBradbury33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to South Seas. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Captiva and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love this resort - everything is wonderful except there is no room service other than pizza, and chicken fingers, and the pizza is huge--XL. Too big for two people. The restaurant, Harbourside Grill is excellent, but sometimes, especially if your stay is a week, you just want to order out. We also enjoy ordering breakfast in. Again, the restaurant is great, and, the ships store has great little breakfast sandwiches, but it's nice to be able to order in if you want. That is the only negative thing for us about this resort; it's a personal issue. I want to add that we love everything else about this property. It's a place we love to return to again and again, and each time, we end up extending our stay. Accommodating staff, cleanliness, beautiful. If you do not mind no room service, then you will absolutely love this property. We always stay in the Harbourside waterview; fantastic views of Pine Island Sound, the T-dock, dolphins, birds, manatees. Please, please, offer room service in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at South Seas Island Resort. We're honored to be a favorite destination of yours and we look forward to your future visits. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us better serve you in future trips to Captiva.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We could not believe how dirty this room was. We did not ask for a room change because we unloaded our whole car (including infant gear) before we noticed all the filth and we were only there for 2 days. After driving with a 5 year old and infant who could not wait to get to the beach we decided to suck it up but, were very disappointed... we just got extra towels to cover the sofa and chairs and made our son wear socks because the carpet was FILTHY.... Very Sad we were looking forward to this stay : (

Also the pool with the slides (where my son wanted to live for 2.5 days) had HAIRBALL I found wrapped around my toes (which I thought was a hair tie) was disgusting!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmpfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry that the room was in such poor condition. We would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the resort village under better circumstances. I have sent a message to continue our discussion.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My children 11, 6 and 8 stayed for a week in August 2013 in the Harbour View condos at south end of the resort. The 1 bedroom condo had 2 queen beds and bath, and a pull out bed for couch. The condo was very clean and updated and had a pool right outside the condo. Cleaning staff was terrific...so very friendly. I was worried about being so far from main 2 pools but it actually was perfect. Whenever we wanted that that resort feeling, we would head down to the resort pools that were full service. The water slides were perfect for the kids. The area was never overcrowded and the kids could go up and down the slides w/o adults by their side. We hit the two beaches, one you could rent the body boards and there were plenty of chairs at the beach- which were great. I would highly recommend splurging for golf carts. We had them for 2 days. Kids LOVED them. We drove around one morning and collected the wrist bands- kids LOVED and took it "off road" around golf course paths. Cool views. There was also mini golf and bags over by the T dock. We did the kids fishing. Both kids caught fish and while we were there we watched a few dolphins follow the wave runners. This trip had the best of both worlds- amenities if the resort yet quiet condo vacationing. Overall we loved the trip. We hope to be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 649AgentP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for coming to South Seas and we're so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Drove down to South Seas for a night to relax from the Orlando madness. I was pleasantly surprised by the room since we reserved the cheapest accommodation in the tennis villa. Nice bedroom and full kitchen even though we barely used it since the point of the trip was to hang on the beach. We would love to come back and stay for an extended period. The beach amenities were nice although it was a little bit of a trek from the room unless you rented a golf cart. My one minor complaint is the $17 wireless fee that is apparently mandatory. I didn't drive 4 hours out to an island to be connected to anything accept my family and peace of mind.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sol2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for coming down to visit us from Orlando. We pride ourselves on offering a retreat from the daily grind while being the backdrop to connect with what's truly important - family and friends.

As a point of clarification, the resort fee covers more than WiFi - it also covers:
Trolley system (available 7am - 11pm)
Chairs, towels, and umbrellas at South Beach, Sunset Beach, and the Resort Pool Complex
Daily e-newspaper (NYT)
Tennis
Fitness Center
Art programs at Skully's Family Interactive Center
Access to other resort amenities and dining

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,250 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,501 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing