We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Seas Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jensen's "On the Gulf"(Captiva Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchell's Sandcastles(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgewater Inn(Matlacha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,575)
Filter reviews
3,575 results
Traveler rating
1,681
964
524
230
176
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,681
964
524
230
176
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis villassunset beachgolf cartscoops and slicesthe north endbayside villasmain poolbubble roommucky duckships storescavenger huntharbourside restauranttrolley servicedoc fordsbar grillbedroom villagreen flash
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,949 - 1,954 of 3,575 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our rented two story, two room condo is close to the beach and a pool plus a short drive to the main area where there are three additional pools that seem to be segmented by what various age 'segments' might prefer to do.

We've had a wonderful vacation here.

It's truly for families and not extravagant which is what we wanted this trip.

I don't think I understand the claim about Sanibel and Captiva having the best shelling shores. Marco Island seemed to offer me better results in terms of size and diversity. But we didn't really come for that anyway.

Mosquitos are bad so bring repellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank MBradbury33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to South Seas. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Captiva and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love this resort - everything is wonderful except there is no room service other than pizza, and chicken fingers, and the pizza is huge--XL. Too big for two people. The restaurant, Harbourside Grill is excellent, but sometimes, especially if your stay is a week, you just want to order out. We also enjoy ordering breakfast in. Again, the restaurant is great, and, the ships store has great little breakfast sandwiches, but it's nice to be able to order in if you want. That is the only negative thing for us about this resort; it's a personal issue. I want to add that we love everything else about this property. It's a place we love to return to again and again, and each time, we end up extending our stay. Accommodating staff, cleanliness, beautiful. If you do not mind no room service, then you will absolutely love this property. We always stay in the Harbourside waterview; fantastic views of Pine Island Sound, the T-dock, dolphins, birds, manatees. Please, please, offer room service in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us again at South Seas Island Resort. We're honored to be a favorite destination of yours and we look forward to your future visits. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us better serve you in future trips to Captiva.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We could not believe how dirty this room was. We did not ask for a room change because we unloaded our whole car (including infant gear) before we noticed all the filth and we were only there for 2 days. After driving with a 5 year old and infant who could not wait to get to the beach we decided to suck it up but, were very disappointed... we just got extra towels to cover the sofa and chairs and made our son wear socks because the carpet was FILTHY.... Very Sad we were looking forward to this stay : (

Also the pool with the slides (where my son wanted to live for 2.5 days) had HAIRBALL I found wrapped around my toes (which I thought was a hair tie) was disgusting!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmpfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry that the room was in such poor condition. We would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the resort village under better circumstances. I have sent a message to continue our discussion.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My children 11, 6 and 8 stayed for a week in August 2013 in the Harbour View condos at south end of the resort. The 1 bedroom condo had 2 queen beds and bath, and a pull out bed for couch. The condo was very clean and updated and had a pool right outside the condo. Cleaning staff was terrific...so very friendly. I was worried about being so far from main 2 pools but it actually was perfect. Whenever we wanted that that resort feeling, we would head down to the resort pools that were full service. The water slides were perfect for the kids. The area was never overcrowded and the kids could go up and down the slides w/o adults by their side. We hit the two beaches, one you could rent the body boards and there were plenty of chairs at the beach- which were great. I would highly recommend splurging for golf carts. We had them for 2 days. Kids LOVED them. We drove around one morning and collected the wrist bands- kids LOVED and took it "off road" around golf course paths. Cool views. There was also mini golf and bags over by the T dock. We did the kids fishing. Both kids caught fish and while we were there we watched a few dolphins follow the wave runners. This trip had the best of both worlds- amenities if the resort yet quiet condo vacationing. Overall we loved the trip. We hope to be back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 649AgentP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for coming to South Seas and we're so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Drove down to South Seas for a night to relax from the Orlando madness. I was pleasantly surprised by the room since we reserved the cheapest accommodation in the tennis villa. Nice bedroom and full kitchen even though we barely used it since the point of the trip was to hang on the beach. We would love to come back and stay for an extended period. The beach amenities were nice although it was a little bit of a trek from the room unless you rented a golf cart. My one minor complaint is the $17 wireless fee that is apparently mandatory. I didn't drive 4 hours out to an island to be connected to anything accept my family and peace of mind.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sol2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for coming down to visit us from Orlando. We pride ourselves on offering a retreat from the daily grind while being the backdrop to connect with what's truly important - family and friends.

As a point of clarification, the resort fee covers more than WiFi - it also covers:
Trolley system (available 7am - 11pm)
Chairs, towels, and umbrellas at South Beach, Sunset Beach, and the Resort Pool Complex
Daily e-newspaper (NYT)
Tennis
Fitness Center
Art programs at Skully's Family Interactive Center
Access to other resort amenities and dining

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews