We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at the tip of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The registration and check in was impeccable. Top of the line. The accommodations are spacious, clean and well appointed. Love the view, the wide open spaces, the home away from home feeling. Very family oriented, safe environment. Well lit and thought out property. Amazing right on the water location. So many activities to do, biking, swimming, beach, gym, tennis, shopping, dining, shell hunting, or simply doing nothing.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TobyBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 3,456 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just finished a trip to Captiva. First time. This place is amazing for families. Pools and slides and an arcade and Scoops and Slices and golf carts and on and on!! It's pretty far out on the island so at first you feel isolated, but quickly get used to what it is they offer. Time to spend with family in an unfussy environment. Great breakfasts at Harbourside, great staff too!!! Rooms need to be upgraded, old shower and tub, cracks, stains etc. The ONLY real issue I had was the need to call down to house keeping 4 times during our stay to ask for more towels. 4 people in a room and only 3 bath towels, one day they left us 2 and only 1 hand towel. Fix these little things South Seas and your gem of place will continue on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uticamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

4 days at South Seas in a Beach Cottage. Varied and professional sports tuition / hire, good children's activities, spread out resort so not crowded over Easter season. Ideal for tweenies: shell collecting, fishing, dolphin cruise, amazing sunsets, all special moments. Excellent service pre arrival helping choose accomodation / booking activities. We took a tip from another review and hired a golf buggy to get around. The trolleybus service is regular and faultless too. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4Familywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a Harborside waterview room (#1858) and it was fantastic. The room is very spacious for the four of us (2 adults, 2 kids) and the view is spectacular. We saw dolphins and manatees every day. The main pool area is great too. The kids loved the water slides and we loved the view. Food, drinks and service were all super for poolside lunches. The beach at sunset was so much fun - live entertainment and lots of families taking pictures. We went shelling every morning, visited the manatees in the Harbor, got munchies and great sandwiches one day at the Ship's Store. The only place I'd avoid is Scoops and Slices, but it was good enough for the kids. We met some guests who were there for the first time and they compared it to Aruba and Hawaii (two places we've never been.) It is expensive to stay here with the $34 per adult per day resort fee, but we're starting our vacation savings plan again so we can return to South Seas again as soon as possible. It really is a special place.

Room Tip: If staying in the Harborside rooms, the even numbers are on the top and have the better view. Anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oasisannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just came home from South Seas. It was the perfect family vacation. I was a little worried based on the reviews of the rooms but ours was amazing. We rented a beach cottage and it was perfect for our family of 6. The cottage was very updated and clean. The staff there was very helpful and everything was wonderful. Would definitely go back sometime. The kids could not decide if they liked the resort or Disneyland better...lots of great kids activities!

Room Tip: Beach Cottages were great for privacy and space. We had a loft in our cottage with 2 full size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

South Seas Island Resort is a great resort if you want a relaxing vacation. This is an excellent resort. There is everything in it. There is shopping, restaurants, and more. There are 3 main pools that you can spend all day at. At night if you are staying by the Beach, you can hear the waves crashing up against the shore. It is a fun place to stay. You can spend your whole vacation in the resort. The villas are mostly very clean. This is a great place to stay during school vacations. The flight is not bad here. I just wish there was an airport closer to the resort. The closest airport is Fort Myers. And that is an hour drive plus shopping for food. It is very quiet and peaceful. The best place to stay in the resort is The Lands End Villas. Overall this is a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizmo524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews below from spring break, I was worried. I shouldn't have worried.
We came for the 2nd week of April and loved our vacation! If you avoid the busiest week or 2 of "spring break" you will have a wonderful experience.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom 3rd floor Bayside villa (5344) and it was updated, clean, nice furnishings, had beautiful views and was quiet. The living room, porch, and kitchen is perfect for a group or family. There is one king bedroom on the main floor which is large with a great en-suite updated bathroom. Upstairs in the villa was a gorgeous master with 180 degree views and a large en-suite bath and large closets and king bed. The other upstairs bedroom had 2 queens and plenty of room for a crib for our baby. Also had a guest bath in the upstairs hall with washer/dryer. The furnishings were updated and the villa was always clean and the layout was perfect for our family!

The resort is gorgeous. The villas and buildings and pools are spread out with lots of natural beauty in between. The south village has shops, a Starbucks, a great fitness center, a pool, tennis courts, a small grocery/sandwich shop, and you can walk to town. The north village has the main pool complex, water slides, ocean views from the pools and a restaurant and a scoops and slices shop. The beach is fabulous at both the north and south villages. The shelling is great and there are beautiful sunsets and great frozen drinks!

I don't review the places I travel often but after seeing the reviews here I thought that the reviews were not representative of the experience here and the impression left by them is incorrect for 99% of the year.

We leave tomorrow and I can't believe it has gone by so fast!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLK333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,959 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,678 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $224 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing