We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Environment, Service and Rooms lack for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Captiva is a beautiful island and the South Seas resort is a very pretty property. This is our second visit to the resort.I agree with some of the other reviews, the rooms and service do not live up to the Spring Break price tag of over $500 dollars a night. During our stay, we needed to change rooms, I would of expected the hotel to link our reservations and help to execute a seamless transition from one room to the next. That was not the case. The new reservation was like checking in all over again, when we had already spent two nights at the resort. Our second room(beach villa) is tired for the $$$. Also, if you are booking a beach villa, from the first floor you do not have an ocean view. I would try to request the the third floor.
Tried to leave one day early, the staff would not work with us just greeted with a curt "NO", you will be charged for the night.
The cost value relationship needs to be improved at this resort.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Lambert20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 3,488 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Amidst all the previous negative reviews and pics, we decided that we would give this place a try .... and boy are we glad we did!
We had such a wonderful and most relaxing weekend ever!
We stayed at a peaceful and very clean cottage on the beach. It was just beyond wonderful. The staff is very pleasant and wherever you go on the grounds there is always a friendly hello. The grounds are extremely clean and well kept. Do not hesitate to stay here! We will definitely return to these cottages!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beambuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Like many others, came in over Spring break. Stayed in a three bedroom condo on the beach. The condo itself had drainage issues in bathrooms, and antiquated pots in kitchen. Unable to rent bikes or golf cart until the day we left because none available. Food poolside was just okay - service very slow. All in all, you definitely do not get what you pay for. This will be our first and last stay at South Seas.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachykee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The first thing that impressed me about The South Seas resort was our room. It was in the Tennis Villas area of the resort right next to a small pool and next to the extensive tennis courts. The room had a separate bedroom, a fully applianced kitchen, living room and a screened balcony - all extremely neat and clean. The cleaning staff did a great job of straightening up the room every day. There are two beaches on the property from which to choose - one just a short walk from our room and the other via a shuttle that runs up to the end of the island. Don't miss getting a freshly grilled hotdog from the boat-vendor (Joey's) who pulls up to the beach every day. We never ate any dinners on the property as there are a number of restaurants within a short walk. We had delicious meals at all of them - the Bubble Room, Captiva Pizza (try the pesto and shrimp pizza), RC Otters and the Pink Flamingo. What impresses me most about these place was that the waitstaff were very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. It seemed like they were actually glad you were coming to their restaurant.
If you are looking for a resort with a lot of nightlife entertainment - this isn't the place to go. It's a great place for active, daytime activities (biking, tennis, fishing, beaches) and nice and quiet in the evenings. The only small inconvenience to the trip was the traffic when we came in on Sunday. There's only only main road through Sanibel and Captiva and it was really gridlocked. It happened again on rainy day when people weren't going to the beach - so just don't be in a hurry to drive places. Overall a very relaxing trip.

Room Tip: If you are a late riser and don't like the sound of tennis balls bouncing early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bikeguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The grounds on the property are beautiful--landscaping is well done. The staff was very pleasant. However, our room (bayside view) was WAY below what I was expecting. It was stark...needed some paintings on the walls. It looked like it hadn't had a thorough cleaning (tile grout, baseboards, etc) in quite some time. The carpet in the bedroom should have been changed 2-3 years ago--it was so filthy looking that I couldn't bring myself to walk on it barefoot. The bathroom sinks had drainage problems. Kitchen was poorly equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 760JamesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The resort is way overpriced for the amenities and room quality. The room looked nothing like the website pictures. Our room was not ready until 5:10 pm, two hours after the 3 pm stated in the reservation. Then we get into the room and the refrigerator had leftover food from the previous guests!! How does this happen?? They will tell you the resort is "no cash", which is not true. The Ship's Store accepts cash, which is really the better option. If you don't make a reservation at the 2 restaurants on the property, you are out of luck. Even when half the tables are empty ALL NIGHT!! Too top off our stay, my wife's bracelet was stolen from the room!! Resort is setup for kids, not for a quiet, relaxing get away and shows the wear. The only thing they have going for them is the beach and the orange juice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BTMque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Golf carts, kids camp, kids night out were all sold out...I was not advised to make arrangements prior to arrival. Stayed in bayside condo...needs updating ...smelly bathroom, stains on sofa. No towels at the pool 2 days in a row...the small pool. No blanket for the pull-out sofa...it showed up the day after I requested it..... On the plus side, the grounds were pretty and the food was good. Not worth the prices they charge per night. Oh most entertainment canceled because of weather..no alternatives suggested... not much to do if you can't be outside.

Room Tip: go for a newer room and make arrangements for kids proir to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjmsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,504 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,018 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,710 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $281 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing