We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although there were some issues, it was still well worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although we had some issues, the natural beauty, and gorgeous views, made up for some mishaps. Also, important to mention, we dealt with two very nice managers. Unfortunately, we did not sleep well our first night, because there was a terrible musty odor in our bayview room. The bedroom has not view, and only a small window, and there was a rather dirty, and smelly rug in there. We complained to one of the managers the next day, Brendon, and he moved us to a much nicer room, with a beautiful bay view. Unfortunately, that room had some jet skis right under our terrace, so we were moved again. The manger that helped us with that was Angelo. He was extremely helpful and hard working. I can't say enough about his hospitality. We did receive some compensation for our hassles, as well. This room was really nice. It's the hotel room with a beautiful bay view. We were very happy here; although we did have one other issue. Apparantly, the resort had rented some rooms to a group of magazine employees & models, who were doing some fashion shoots. One morning, when we sat on our terrace at 7:30, there they were, about 10 of them, gathered just a few feet from us with camaras, and other paraphanlia, taking photos, and basically blocking up the whole of our little beach. It was not appropriate for a residential resort. We complained, and Angelo called them immediately, and they left.
The only other major complaint that I have is the failure of the tennis center to arrange matches for guests. Many of the tennis playing guests, including myself, were dissapointed by this, especially because they used to do it. Now, they just had you a bunch of cards with guests names and contacts, and tell you to call them yourself. Again, when I mentioned that to Angelo, he said he'd address it.

The nature, the dolphins, the views, the ocean, and the proximity to Ding Darling Wildlife Preserve, make it well worth all these hassles. Also, everyone we dealt with at the resort were courteous and respectful. We had a great time, despite these few setbacks!

Room Tip: Make sure the room was recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 3,403 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the resort. The apartment was well equipped and clean. The pools were very good (if quite busy) and we played tennis most days and were always able to get a court. The beach was great and we managed to pick up a huge rubber ring from one of the local stores which kept the kids occupied in the sea! Cycling around the island was a great way to get around and also fun. We rented wave runners on one of the days and had great fun bombing alone at high speeds. Our kids attended the Sea School which was excellent. They enjoyed the programmes on offer, learnt a lot and the staff were very good with the kids. We found the food at the restaurants to be quite pricey so ate in most days (shopping at the Publix about 20 min drive away from the resort). Overall we had a great holiday here and shall certainly look to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Arrived today to check into a two bedroom beach villa. We were told at the desk that we in fact had rented a one bed room villa; one king bed, and one bathroom for my family of 4. I showed them all my notes from my telephone conversation with the reservations agent stating the price I was quoted for a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. The email confirmation I received did not state anywhere on it what type of room, only that there would be 2 adults and 2 children. Despite all my evidence to the contrary, the desk agent, Brendan, said the resort was full and there was nothing he could do. He did offer to credit our bill for the difference in price of the 2 rooms. The room I originally rented cost over $800 a night, at this price I would not expect to have to call housekeeping to send up more than 2 two towels for a family of four, call for sheets, blankets, and pillows for the sofa bed and roll a way bed we were force to use. Rearrange furniture so we had room to set up beds before everyone could go to bed. The sheets were so rough and poor quality my 8 year old even commented on them. We reserved a boat slipped when I made the reservation. We arrived at the marina at 6:30 and the office door was locked. We had no way if knowing which slip to take but were forced to launch the boat and just pick an empty slip without any assistance at all. Just as we were all done tying off the boat 3 people came walking out of the office who were obviously in there the whole time we were launching the boat and when I had tried to enter the office to get the slip number.
The resort is beautifully landscaped but unfortunately they are not delivering the service and experience of a resort priced at this level. I have experienced many nicer resorts with friendlier staff, better service and much better accommodations. This is a large resort with lots of marketing dollars but don't fall for the hype. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTimeFL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from 5 days in a beach villa. When I booked, I mentioned that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and everyone wished us a happy day, from the woman who waved us in through the front gate to our lovely housekeeper on our anniversary day. We were also sent complimentary champagne and chocolates! The villa was clean and perfect, we felt at home and comfortable. We had excellent food at Old Captiva House, Mad Hatter and the nearby mexican place was delicious, too! We will definitely be returning next March!

Room Tip: loved being near the Starbucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights at South Seas for a conference. Our condo was a bit older with just a *hint* of some must, but not intolerable. Some little things were obviously being skimped. Towels were never (0 for 4) at the pool.

The location is a bit isolated at the North tip of Captiva. Fine if you want to walk the beach and mostly remain on the resort grounds, but a bit of a hike from everything else.

If I had it to do again I think I would try to find one of innumerable independent rental properties.


Restauant: Really liked The Mad Hatter

Room Tip: Our "bayside 1 bedroom" (6000 block) had a porch that did not see one single minute of su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dergondarkhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Exactly what my wife & I needed. Beautiful beaches; good selection of pools; very friendly staff; very well furnished units; good mix of leisure, wildlife, water-sports & relaxation. Slight negative dinner experience in the main restaurant but there are very good alternatives nearby. We departed vowing to return and felt totally recharged, if a little sad to be leaving.

Room Tip: Go to North Pointe if you want to be part of the resort. We were happy in the South village as other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quinssa1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a condo on the south side away from the major pool complex. The furniture was very dated and the lighting terrible - just one undersized lamp on a side table. Bathrooms very small - the one connected to the bedroom you could barely close the door - easiest if you were standing in the shower! Food was poor with very little selection. The pools, other than the main pool, are not serviced, so no towels, no drinks, no food. The location is nice but for the cost, there are much nicer places to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Sadkins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,386 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,625 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: $210 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing