We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch a fish on a bare hook??”

Native Guides Sanibel-Captiva Charter services
Ranked #10 of 17 Tours in Captiva Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want to experience a true view of south west Florida through the eyes of a native? Join Captain John Houston on one of his customized guided tours into the heart of Old Florida. Born and raised on Dinkins Bayou of Sanibel Island, John spent his childhood exploring the surrounding waters and educating himself on its ecosystem. Being a fourth generation Floridian, He has had the rare opportunity to learn firsthand how the rugged local history has shaped Southwest Florida into what it is today.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catch a fish on a bare hook??”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Captain John Houston can indeed catch a fish on just a bare hook....he really knows his business! We went on a 4hr fishing tour in hopes to catch our lunch and we did just that and more. He's personable, knowledgeable and determined to find the fish. He will make sure you are satisfied and won't disappoint. When we got back he cleaned and filleted our trout and redfish and our lunch at Lazy Flamingo was delicious.
No need to keep looking through reviews....can't beat him!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jzoiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish galore!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went on a private fishing trip with Captain John Houston and it was a highlight of our vacation on Sanibel Island! Captain John new the best fishing location and we caught about 30 fish (no joke) in under three hours. My teenager and pre-teen were thrilled. We saw a pod of dolphins on the way back and a lot of beautiful birds. Captain John was very knowledgable about the area and the wildlife. I highly recommend an outing with him. It's money and time well spent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tikihut69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Capt. John Huston- Sanibel native and s terrific guide”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Capt. Houston grew up on Dinkins Bayou on Sanibel and knows the area's waters and wildlife like the back of his hand. Went on a morning birding trip with him, found him engaging, with interesting insights into Sanibel-Captiva history, characters, and takes of an island childhood (he seems to be in his 30s) from not that long ago. We wanted to see a Black Crowned Night Heron, relatively rare and reclusive. John was indefatigable in the search, finally finding one of the birds. His boat was very comfortable roomy for our party of 4. If we'd had more time we would have booked a fishing trip with him. Book ahead with him during the spring busy season and have a great time!

Helpful?
4 Thank dwleanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kids had FUN!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We did the 3 hour shelling tour with Derrek. He went out of his way to find manatees and dolphins on our way to an island for seashells. We saw many dolphins, but the manatees were being elusive. Derrek pointed out various facts that we would find of interest. Derrek was friendly and easy going. Once we got to the island, there was no hurry up to leave. I chosed the 3 hours vs 2 hours because I did not want to feel rushed. Four hours might have been too long. Three hours was perfect for us. The boat had a canopy, which I really appreciate not baking in the hot sun for 3 hours. Once on the beach, Derrek showed us a few things of interest. We saw a jellyfish floating around and he talked a bit about that. He did give us some privacy to allow us to walk around and seashell hunt.

My teenagers said it was the best thing we did on the trip! They thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank annaegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close Encounters with Dolphins”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our trip with Captain John was the highlight of our week in Captiva! He was friendly, knowledgable, and clearly passionate about showing visitors around his native home in Florida. We were thrilled by the wildlife we encountered on the trip, including a plethora of birds throughout the mangroves, Manatees hanging out at the harbor, and most of all the dolphins-- who put on a special show for our group, playing and jumping along in the wake of our boat. The shelling portion of our tour was also amazing, with plenty of time to gather a gorgeous collection of shells, learn about the tiny but beautiful coquina clams, and even swim around in the waves of the gulf. Along the way, John shared plenty of stories and historical facts about the island and its homes, and gave us a great experience of our own to well remember our time in Captiva.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Guides Sanibel-Captiva Charter services also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Native Guides Sanibel-Captiva Charter services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing