We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great home”

Review of 031-Fish Tales

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stefmay13
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great home”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We rented this home to get ready for our wedding and then to stay for our honeymoon! Perfect water and sunset view. Only complaints we had was that some of the lights did not work, or were burnt out and the hot tub did not work. The water felt slimy and then the jets would kick on very weakly for about 15 seconds and then youwere just stuck sitting in bath water. Other than that its a great home, everything is in working order, of course being on an island floors get dirty pretty quickly and ants like to hang out in the bathrooms but it wasn't an issue. I would suggest that the owners get some new comforters, we did not use them during our stay due to blood spots being on the back side. Over all great home to stay at, games and books stocked in the house if you want to play a game with the family and watch the sunset. There is a regular coffee pot along with a kurig coffee maker along with the other amazing appliances and working kitchen. We will definitely be back! North Captiva Island is just so beautiful and so is the atmosphere of the people that stay out there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travellin...
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice secluded island, okay house”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Fish Tales in North Captiva Island for five nights in December with a family of 8. The house was bright and spacious. It has large principal rooms and many wonderful decks and seating areas. The kitchen is large and has a large dining table that seated our family of 8 comfortably. The cupboards and drawers were well stocked with dishes and cutlery. The pots and pans were a little old, but we made do. There were four bedrooms on the main floor. The master has a queen bed and ensuite. There are 4 bedrooms in total on the main floor and 2 full bathrooms. The third bathroom is upstairs in the main kitchen and family room area. The third bathroom being on the second floor was very inconvenient for us and we had to always go upstairs to use the bathroom. All the bathrooms were dated and had very slow drains. As well, all the bathroom counters had tiny ants on them During our 5 night stay, the internet never worked. There was a problem with the phone lines that was not fixed during our stay. The BBQ listed in the amenities was rusted and old. We called management and a new one was brought to us. For two days the hot tub did not work. We had maintenance look into that too. The Island itself is beautiful, warm, safe and quiet. The beach is unspoiled and private. There are very few restaurants on the island so make sure to pack your groceries or call Sandie for delivery which is what we did. We would go back to North Captiva, but not back to this house. When you are on a vacation renting a home, and you are paid in full before arriving, you would expect the house to be ready and for everything to be in working order. Having to call maintenance over and over and not having internet for 5 days was a pain!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are very sorry you had issues with the internet. Due to our island location internet and cell service can be temperamental. Our maintenance team is working with the owners to update the home. We are glad overall you enjoyed the island.

Thank you,

The North Captiva Island Club Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindar125
Lady Lake, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house was great! It was comfortable and had everything we needed but If you bring kids, bring your own beach toys. You can get 4 chairs from the island rental and that is nice, you don't have to carry them back and forth on the ferry. We had small problem with the shower and maintenance was there with in the hour to fix it. They were really nice guys. It is a short walk to the beach which the kids loved because they got to see the gopher turtle they named "Bob". Bring something to take all the shells home that you will find. It is amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beach, it was very private and a quick walk from the house.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids MI/Ft. Lauderdale fl
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Reviewed August 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing