We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining on seaside resort”

Harbourside Bar & Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OUR SIGNATURE RESTAURANT OVERLOOKING THE YACHT HARBOUR AND MARINA Open for Breakfast & Dinner South Seas' family casual restaurant Harbourside Bar & Grill serves both traditional breakfast fare and dinner favorites including steak, fresh catch, pasta, delicious sides and signature cocktails. Indoor and outdoor dining is available overlooking Yacht Harbour Marina. The fishing village-inspired décor is at once charming and intimate. Sidle up to the U-bar to watch TV or order libations while the kids are just steps away in a reserved play area. South Seas has taken great care to ensure the menu items showcase the bounty of Gulf seafood available. The fish is caught locally in the waters surrounding Captiva Island - home to the most sought-after delicacies in the world. By commissioning local fishermen in the procurement of dining selections, Harbourside offers you the freshest selection and finest cuisine from the Gulf of Mexico.
Chincoteague
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine dining on seaside resort”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of seaside resorts fine dining restaurants. Dress is resort casual. The harbor side sits on the marinas edge in the north pointe section of the resort. If you are staying up here you will end up here at least one night due to its proximity. We spent valentines night here. The atmosphere was relaxing. Our Waiter, Christian, was attentive, unlike some of the other reviews I have read about the establishment. The dinner was wonderful, compared to other resorts I don't think it was too pricey, but remember this the fine dining area not the pizza joint. I will be returning here. Ps if you get Christian he makes a killer espresso martini!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gryphon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    107
    85
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at South Seas and came here for dinner. Although the menu is quite limited, the food was great. Above average wait service. With that being said however, be prepared to open up your wallet, as it is quite expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Signature Restaurant of South Seas”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the main restauant at the resort which serves a dynamite breakfast buffet and has a rather limited but outstanding dinner selection. We had two dinners here and they did not disappoint. the redfish was fresh and beautifully prepared over a bed of cooked vegetables and the seafood pasta was very good also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Food - HORRIBLE service.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having been told they were busy that night and could only take us at an early hour (6 ish) we arrived to a near empty restaurant - which never was more than 25% full during our 2 1/2 hour visit.
The waiter was horrid. We recieved menus - and then waited nearly 20 minutes for any further contact - - - - he returned to tell us the specials - - which he did so quickly and so softly - that we strained to understand, asked him to repeat. He quickly left (without taking our drink orders) - at which point we turned to one another trying to figure out who had heard what of the specials. He returned roughly 10 min. later after several attempts to beckon him - to take our orders --and that got off to a bad start when we told him we'd need 3 seperate checks - - he actually looked away and rolled his eyes - though he did, grudginly, take our orders of both first course and entrees - then started to leave - at which point I had to actually call out to him to order my wine. He had never yet asked me if I'd like anything to drink. When I called out my wine request - He only nodded and walked on. We then waited nearly 40 minutes for our first course. REALLY ! Several times we tried to 'connect' with him - - thinking it might smooth things and make things more enjoyable - - nope. Despite our smiles and words of encouragement and 'thank you's" for everything from orders taken to water recieved - - never a response or acknowledgement. Never even eye cocntact or a smile. Not mean -- just nothing. We began to think it was "us" - until I realized the table next to us - having arrived right behind us - - still had their menus in hand.... at least they had drinks however... and were receiving attention from the waiter, a busman and the manager at times....
The main course arrived. The food, I will say at this point, was outstanding. Easily the best of any restaurant during our week on Captiva. But for the service I'd have returned MANY times for breakfast, lunch and dinner - - But the story is not over - Then the bills arrived. The waiter had so messed them up that he had to re-do 2 of them - - and mine, - he had to do over TWICE. He ripped up the incorrect bills in front of me - - did admit it was his mistake (I hadn't asked). Frankly - we were all completely appalled. At no time did the manager stop by to speak to our table or ask if we were enjoying the evening/meals. nothing. Over the course of the week we spoke to several other resort guests of our experience - and heard they've had "many problems" at Harborside -- have been trying to 'fix things' - - I'd say they have a way to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, RI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious, but pricey”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had dinner there several nights and the food is delicious, particularly the filet. They have a delicious breakfast buffet too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourside Bar & Grill also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Harbourside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing