We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss kayaking Captiva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva Kayak Company & Wildside Adventures - CLOSED

Captiva Kayak Company & Wildside Adventures
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Don't miss kayaking Captiva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Could not say enough nice things about this kayaking experience. Really appreciated the time that the owner, Barb, took to teach the basics. The teaching part could be a bit more concise and to the point. We found this part long and, at times, a bit condescending. Her heart is definitely in the right place. We offer these suggestions from our two hour experience.

You are experiencing a nature preserve. Take your time and try to see all of the things Barb tells you about. Distance yourselves from other kayakers. Barb suggests that you "glide" yourself through the "tunnel of mangroves" and keep talking to a minimum. Not anything Barb could have done, but we were followed closely by two very silly, loud, rude 18 year olds who scared the wildlife and ruined the sanctity. What a wonderful experience it should have been.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zha-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was a great quick excursion.
Great instructional before we hit the water.
Nicer life jackets would be nice.
Kayaks were easy to operate, and very nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Felt like kayaking with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Greg and Barb have a great thing going with friendly and educational kayaking tours. Our family of four (with two teens, ages 17 & 14) had a great trip with Greg out to Buck Key and through the mangroves marsh "trails." We saw a shark hunting in the shallows, many osprey, egrets and and large mollusks that hang out near the shore. We learned a lot about the area and the wildlife at a leisurely, no-stress pace. This was once of the high points of our trip and I would definitely recommend their outfit to those who want to do more than just vegetate on the beach (not that that's all bad!).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeschoolontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super kayaking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wheather you are a novice or an experienced kayaker you will have a great experience with Captiva Kayak Company. They take the time to educate you and match you to the perfect gear. My son and I enjoyed Barb's personal service and the time she took to assist us. She was able to provide a fishing kayak for my son and helped us with some paddling techniques. These techniques proved to make our experience much more enjoyable. We can't wait to try it again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal22SWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very educational, no rush, learned so much!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Wow! Barb and Greg are amazingly friendly people. There was a 5 minute lesson before we even touched a kayak about correct paddling techniques that taught me that I have never paddled correctly! We went across the bay and into a mangrove-lined creek, with tree crabs lining the mangroves! THAT in itself was quite an experience, as they look like flat spiders. I was looking right at them and didn't even know they were there til they moved. It was more amazing than scary. We saw ospreys, manatees, one dolphin, and I can now recognize muscular manatee poop. lol We learned new things about nature at 47, 21, and 25. Thank you, Greg and Barb, for an awesome experience! Wish we could live with you at the kayak launch! We will definitely come again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Kayak Company & Wildside Adventures also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing