We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Both side of the pass have a lot to offer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva Pass

Captiva Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Porpoises will eat the fish you release at Captiva Pass.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,599 reviews
1,081 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,292 helpful votes
“Both side of the pass have a lot to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We took our boat from Sanibel and went to Cabbage Key and on the way back we stopped at North Captiva. We found a secluded place to beach, but it is very shallow and you have to pay attention. It is a great place for people who like to shell, but don't like crowds. The Captiva side of the pass is as far as you can go and is less crowded than other areas, Good shelling as the tide goes out. Bring wine and watch the sunset.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
292 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Need a Boat to get there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Once you are there it is one of the most pristine, quiet and relaxing beaches I have ever been to. The more remote and quieter one I have been to is Little Cayman BWI.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peteo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Isn't this more accurately Blind Pass??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great place - fished a ton here as a kid, lots of snook, reds, lots of fish in general.... And shelling?? Yeah descent place to shell too (if you are into that kind of thing- I grew up doing it so it's really not much of a thrill for me.)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BPW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“SW Surf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good break on any deep water swell over 6 feet and can hold faces up to 7-8 feet. But, too deep on small swells, also sucks w/ strong on-shores, but what place doesn't?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tommy1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went there on our boat. Views are great. Must stay in the channel markers as very shallow waters. Great boat trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank janaroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Pass also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing