We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“So beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva Pass

Captiva Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Porpoises will eat the fish you release at Captiva Pass.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Don't miss this. It's at the end of the road, after Sanibel, but so worth the drive. Just a really beautiful spot that should not be missed.

Visited May 2012
Thank Catalina26miaxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely beautiful. We spent 10 gloriouse days at sanibel & captiva islands. It is picture perfect.
The first few days it was like being in the carribean & the last couple of days the waves resembled the atlantic side. Locals said;"storm was coming inn" but never did. Sunsets are amazing here.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Shelling, especially after a storm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wear your shoes....lots of shells. A fun place to check out for maximum shelling. Sometimes hard to find because if you blink, you'll miss the turnoff.

Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super quaint town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have recently moved to Southwest Florida and have been trying out different beaches in the area. We went to the very end of Captiva and watched the sun set! It is a nice beach and it was the perfect place to watch the sun set. The disadvantages were that there are port-a-poties and no water to wash the sand off your feet. Not only do you have to pay $6 toll to cross the bridge, you have to pay $2/hour to park. Parking is horrific despite the fact that you have to pay so much. Someone was nice enough to give us their parking pass...THANK YOU whoever you are out there! There are only a few public parking areas to be found and there were about 25 parking spaces (at most). The town is just beautiful!

Visited September 2012
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“North Captiva Island experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We recently spent a week on North Captiva Island, which is a barrier island with no cars and accessible by boat. We rented property 176 All Conched Out through NCICR during the last week of July. The island is small, pretty and quaint. I loved the fact that there were no cars and you used golf carts to get around. Our rental home was great and we didn't not have any problems during our staying or with the rental company. We had groceries ordered and delivered through Sandie's grocery delivery service. Although you need to be very specific and not expect to get the brands you may request, it was great to have everything there upon our arrival. We didn't have time to stop at a grocery store between our flight and the ferry time. Also, we planned on eating dinner out and got groceries for breakfast, lunch and snacks. We ate at Barnacle Phil's, Mango's and The Boathouse. We also ordered pizza from Mango's. The food from both Barnacle Phil's and Mango's was great. The pizza we ordered for takeout one night was mediocre (not a fan of thicker crust). The Boathouse restaurant is the most expensive on the island and you must make a reservation. The food was good, but the woman/chef doing all the cooking was one grumpy looking and sounding lady! Enjoyed the other two restaurants more. We wished there was a place to get coffee or maybe a bigger convenience store, but understandably this is a small island. We did get ice cream at the shop above Barnacle Phil's.

The beaches we were not impressed with.........but we may be spoiled having been to islands like Anguilla and St. John were the beaches are spectacular. The water has tons of sea grass etc so my kids didn't enjoy that. We scouted around for areas where it was cleaner. The shells all over the beaches are fun to collect. I have been to beaches on the other side of Florida and around South Carolina that were much nicer. Having said that, we still enjoyed ourselves and also spent a lot of time in the pool at our rental house. We had great weather almost the entire trip. Bug spray was always necessary and we still got bit up, especially at night.

This is definitely an island for people who don't need a lot of action and want a laid back experience. You can rent boats, bikes and kayaks if you enjoy that sort of thing. Overall, this is a very pretty and relaxing island to visit and we enjoyed our stay but would probably not go back again.

Visited June 2012
4 Thank LindaF752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Pass also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast

Been to Captiva Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing