We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Day, Nice helpful staff”
Review of Captiva Cruises

Captiva Cruises
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day, Nice helpful staff”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a beautiful day visiting Cayo Costa. We were lucky enough to see a dolphin with her calf in the harbor even before we left. The staff was great, knowledgeable and helpful. We enjoyed looking for shells. We found more that we had to leave behind because they were still alive. Met some nice people on our cruise. Had another chance to see a pod of dolphins up close near our boat on the way back. Way a fun day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrie3566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    159
    30
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just cruisin'”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely afternoon, nice and sunny, small breeze on deck, and heading to Captiva Island. Unfortunately we forgot the kids' snorkeling gear, but non the less, they really enjoyed themselves in their (& our) search for the best shells. They sell some softdrinks onboard! Shame we couldn't bring the shells home (custom restrictions...)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Dolphin Cruise!!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The dolphin and wildlife cruise was amazing the dolphins is what we all came out for. The first dolphin scared use because he flipped loudly right next to the boat. Then he put on a show for us. He jumped and flopped into the water. He was gorgeous.
Then we meet up with a family of dolphins who were doing tricks along side the boat. It was amazing to see them. On our way back the same family swam along with our boat flopping and swimming side ways. It was an amazing cruise. Definitely worth every signel penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful cruises”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went on two cruises with Captiva Cruises while visiting Sanibel Island this past week. The first one was the sunset cruise and we saw a beautiful sunset and dolphins. Then we went on the Cabbage Key cruise. Again, we saw many dolphins. The crew narrates while sailing and they are very knowledgeable and informative. The Cabbage Key Cruise takes you to the restaurant where Cheeseburger in Paradise became famous. The only issue is that the marina is difficult to find, so leave yourself enough time. But the people were great....we were running late and they called us several times to check on our location and even waited for 5 minutes for us to arrive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcoghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous shelling tour”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

On our last day visiting the Island, we decided to take a shelling tour to Cayo Costa to see if the waters were clearer than along Sanibel (due to the letting of lake water into the waters along the Gulf it was very murky this year). Easy booking with Captiva Cruises and it was an amazing day. The captain and guide (George and Richard) were extremely knowledgeable of the area (even though Richard is from the small island of Manhattan) and provided lots of info about the area on the way in and back. The ride was smooth, the beach was lovely and yes the water was clear. We didn't find a lot more shells than on Sanibel beaches, but we got to swim and the coastline is very picturesque, great for photographing. A really nice outing and we plan on taking the Cayo Cabbage tour next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannegMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Cruises also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing