We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel, and I have enjoyed both times. Nice swimming pool, nice location (right on the bay, and with a bus you are just 25 minutes from Miami beach).
Good breakfast with many food choices (I'd suggest a waffle), free internet, small gym room, laundry service, but the best part of the stay, in my opinion, is to enjoy a nice drink or a meal at the Shuckers bar in front of the bay. I would definitely reccomend this place.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room toward the bay and not near the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    714
    341
    78
    45
See reviews for
583
622
55
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We really had a great time in Miami and our choice of hotel was a huge part of our experience. First of all the front desk clerk Kristal made us feel so welcome and worked with us to find just the right room. Our view over Biscayne bay was beautiful both in the daytime and at night. The location couldn't have been better, out of the fray, but close enough to partake in everything Miami has to offer. We will definitely return to the BW Plus.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room in the newer portion separate from the main hotel on one of the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We travelled as a group of 3 women, from UK. Cannot recommend this hotel enough; it was perfect for visiting everywhere - without being in the middle of crazy south beach! We travelled to south beach, Everglades, took a boat ride around the bay, walked around the city and went on a cruise; it was a great base to come back to. Right from being picked up at the airport (complimentary), by Walter who is an absolute gent, to the reception, breakfast and housekeeping staff - all friendly, a good laugh and professional. The area felt safe, and was nice to walk around. Excellent bar/restaurant next to the hotel too; beautiful views of the bay and a great atmosphere.
Plenty of breakfast choices at the hotel, lovely comfortable rooms- pay extra for a balcony, well worth it for the bay views. On my next trip to Miami, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Book a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middl village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was very happy with how clean the hotel was. Our room was very nice,above standard. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us as best as they could. The location was nice because it was close enough to South Beach but you didn't have to deal with party people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get the most out of their money and enjoy a peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iliana217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel is not 5 star but has reasonable facitities at a fair price breakfast is free and adequate but a bit busy, hard to find a table at times. Otherwise mainly quite, bit out of town but there is a bus stop outside, Catch the L bus going west to get to south beach. catch the L bus going east to get biscayne boulevard then a no3 bus south to downtown miami. Cost $2 every time you change bus so get plenty of $1 bills which reception were very happy to supply us with. Did get to use the pool once but the rest of our stay was cold and windy and the pool is right on the bay so in the full draught. Staff all very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carinlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

For this trip we had 2 bad experiences with hotel shuttles at two different hotels. This was one of them. Its frustrating to see other hotel shuttles pass by you every 10 minutes and your waiting over an hour for yours (although it clued me in on what hotels to choose next time).

I phoned the front desk from the airport and was told in advance that it would take 45 min to an hour for the driver to get there. I went to another Bestwestern once in FLL and they told us to take a taxi and they would pay it because of shuttle problems, so I wasn't too impressed with this hotel's shuttle/customer service, especially after waiting an hour and a half for our ride. They gave us drink coupons to compensate when we got there, but having read other reviews, they seem to give those coupons to everyone anyway (they must be used on the same day of arrival). But I enjoyed my rumrunner anyway!

The hotel is nice enough. Friendly staff. Enough space in the room (2 double beds). Nice view of the bay. There are a few convenience stores in walking distance (a Walgreens on the other side of the bridge). It was cold the day we were there, but I would've used the pool for sure had it been a hot day. Nice size with a nice lounging area. The Shuckers Bar and Grill on the premises was good with a lively atmosphere. Paid 10$ each for the shuttle to the port the next day (make sure to reserve the day before). No problems with the shuttle to the port.

I wanted a hotel with a nice atmosphere before our cruise but the wait for the shuttle just wasn't worth it. IMHO, they should have more shuttles available because of the distance of the hotel from the airport, and they are dealing with tired travellers. For our next cruise I will probably reserve a hotel closer to the airport. This isn't a bad hotel, but I wouldn't stay there for a vacation in Miami, you would need transportation to the beach and nightlife. Head to Miami beach (for those who like to relax) or South beach (for those who like a lively atmosphere and don't mind wearing earplugs to sleep).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MizMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a Best Western, so don't expect a 5 star, but it's in a great location and the staff was awesome! The price was perfect too (we paid $120). My only negative feedback is the balcony rooms did not face the water... but not a big deal since we were only staying here for one night before a cruise.

The shuttle driver from the airport to the hotel was super cool. He pointed out the hotel where parts of the first episode of Dexter was filmed (where they find the body in the empty swimming pool), which was really cool. He answered all of our questions and was very helpful.

We paid $30 for the shuttle to the cruise port and got a coupon for a free beer/wine/soda at the restaurant. We didn't realize it was only good on the night we checked in, and we had planned to use it on the second day. Once we realized our mistake, we took it to the front desk when we checked out and the lady changed the date on the coupon and told us we needed to use the coupon because it was a good deal. If the restaurant gave us any problems, she said "tell them to call Anna at the front desk!"

The restaurant was amazing! Great view of the bay, great food, and great music. The staff here was quite friendly too.

The hotel also had a breakfast which was surprisingly pretty good. They had waffles, sausage, English muffins, etc. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bay Village
Oceanside Hotel
#100 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#81 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Deauville Beach Resort
#160 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,343 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Address: 1819 79th Street Cswy, North Bay Village, FL 33141-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably in our tranquil location on pillow top beds and enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, refrigerator, and single serve coffee makers are also available in the room. With convenient on-site hotel parking, poolside views overlooking Biscayne Bay and our fitness center make us a perfect location to stay. Book our balcony rooms for extra space with exquisite bay or city views. Worried about paying extremely high parking prices near the beach? There is public transportation located directly in front of our hotel that will take you to South Beach at a low and reasonable cost. Best of all we have no resort fees! Come with your family or friends and enjoy an exciting evening at our Shuckers Bar & Grill Restaurant and make it an enjoyable stay at our BEST WESTERN On the Bay & Marina. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing