We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value - nothing fancy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Good value - nothing fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location is on the north causeway - really need a car to get around. Free parking and an airport shuttle is offered as well as a free breakfast, pool and small exercise room. Restaurant on site. Had efficient service and clean comfortable room. Older hotel but good value for the price.

Room Tip: King deluxe rooms in the main building are spacious and have a balcony, along with a fridge and micr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane613_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    714
    340
    78
    45
See reviews for
583
622
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, MT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is an incredible place to stay while waiting for a cruise.
We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the bay.

The room was a little musty but you are on the water and should expect that.

Many good restaurant in walking distance

It has a great bar and restaurant and even though the partying continued into the night our room was quiet unless you opened the door.

The price was a little high, But what the heck, we were on vacation.

Shuttle from the airport was a little slow in arriving, but great driver, Walter!

And a shuttle to the cruise port is available for $30

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay and upper floors are best to get away from the bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayesGreatFalls_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

It should be called a motel. Rude staff. Rudest receptionist.3 nights they didn't change towels and didn't clean the room. Linens were not changed any 3 days. And the staff lie! When I arrived I found dirty and stained towels, and when I complained they told me that I had soiled. When I complained that room was not clean. Lie again! They said that I inserted warning to not enter. 3 days nobody took care of my room. Carpets dirty. Horrible. I needed to use the fax. Fax was out of order. Lie again. Front desk told me the other side fax that was broken. Then I went to hotel next Hilton Doubletree and I sent the fax perfectly.The front desk when did the check in did not indicate where is the room, where is the breakfast, no information. The key doesnt work 3 times! Very poor breakfast. There is nothing to praise. I needed to go dowstair 3 times changed the key! horror! a nightmare! this is the worst hotel that I have been. Best Western Plus? Wrong grading. Rooms and all hotel very noisy and very dirty. I have more complain that I will share with others travel agents, tripadvisor, yelp and partners of my company among others. Never again!

Room Tip: all rooms are dirty and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Agt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgrentner, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear former guest,

It is upsetting to us that you feel this way about your experience with our Hotel. As we attempted to communicate upon your arrival you had booked two separate reservations using a 3rd party website. Each reservation was made for different room types requiring the guest to move rooms during his stay. When a guest chooses to book through a third party website changes to the reservation at the property level can become near impossible. As a courtesy, we moved the room types around so he would not be inconvenienced with a physical room move. Instead, the front desk was very clear that he would need to approach the front desk on a certain date to check-out of his 1st reservation and check back in under his 2nd and be issued a new key. Unfortunately guest did not do this and thus his keys stopped working on his last night.

Housekeeping service is provided to all our guests on a daily basis unless the guest places a
do not disturb sign on their door or refuses the service. This guest not only left a do not disturb sign on his door, but also refused service to the floor housekeeper and housekeeping manager two days in a row.

We do apologize that you feel your experience was so poor. We did our best to communicate with you but feel this may be more of a case of misunderstanding then anything else.

For future travelers please note it is always best to book directly with a hotel. Third party sites are only re-sellers who complicate any transaction.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice hotel well kept great location on the water. The bar restaurant has good food I enjoyed the stay the hotel is old and needs some upgrade but a pleasant experience. The people were friendly and answered all our questions

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've been here already a couple of years ago and this hotel is still very good!
I got everything i need, comfy room, free parking, free wifi and free breakfast at a reasonable price. The location is perfect, just few minutes drive to the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We used this hotel for a 2 night stay before our cruise out of Port of Miami. The breakfast was average. The food from the bar on site was excellent. Arrived very early 9am. got our rooms by noon. Pool nice. Would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hooverpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Wound up here after having an issue with our other arrangements. Great basic hotel- on site restraunt and bar was good, packed with locals, with good service. Room was clean, and basic. Bathroom was tight, but everything we needed- a place to get cleaned up after the beach and get some sleep.

Not all rooms have a balcony- may be a good request upon booking.

RJ at the desk was an incredible breath of fresh air at the desk. Polite, courteous, and professional.

Plan on driving pretty much everywhere from here. 5-10 minutes to get to a wide variety of food, beach, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsendelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bay Village
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Oceanside Hotel
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#81 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Deauville Beach Resort
#161 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Address: 1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably in our tranquil location on pillow top beds and enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, refrigerator, and single serve coffee makers are also available in the room. With convenient on-site hotel parking, poolside views overlooking Biscayne Bay and our fitness center make us a perfect location to stay. Book our balcony rooms for extra space with exquisite bay or city views. Worried about paying extremely high parking prices near the beach? There is public transportation located directly in front of our hotel that will take you to South Beach at a low and reasonable cost. Best of all we have no resort fees! Come with your family or friends and enjoy an exciting evening at our Shuckers Bar & Grill Restaurant and make it an enjoyable stay at our BEST WESTERN On the Bay & Marina. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing