We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and YUCKY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old and YUCKY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is very old and dated you enter from the outside so it should be called a motel. The elevator made horrible noises and when we came back from dinner it was out of order. We were grateful we didn't get stuck in it. The furniture is old, it was like a flash back to the 60's. I would not stay here again. I do thank the staff they were very nice.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewildyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    714
    340
    78
    45
See reviews for
583
622
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in December. The hotel is older, well kept and is located right on Biscayne Bay. It is one of the better priced hotels for the location in North Miami Beach. The room was very clean, comfortable bed and flat screen TV. Location is about 15 - 20 minutes from South Beach, Aventura and the new Gulfstream racetrack and shopping center. Parking is free. From I-95 you have to drive through an area that is a little low rent but then you cross over the bridge into North Bay Village and everything is fine. I would definitely recommend for a short stay or a layover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

For almost 20 years we stay about 2 weeks every year in this hotel. Never we feel the need to look for another. Arriving here is a sort of homecoming! We have known many employees for a long period. Beautiful hotel, nice location on the Biscayne Bay and free parking. The rooms and amenities are very good, like free high speed internet and good variety of breakfast,
Shuckers restaurant is on the premises.
Very friendly and efficient staff at the frontdesk and the housekeeping department.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Liam995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were a large group of friends that took 15 rooms for 3 nights early December. I stayed in a bayfront room with 2 queen beds which were very comfortable. The view of the Bay was just magnificent. The hotel staff were so helpful with all our needs. The free parking is a plus. It is a reasonable drive to Lincoln road and to south beach. The restaurant and bar (which is not operated by the hotel) was great with tasty reasonably-priced food and drinks. Free airport shuttle!!. A good place to stay in Miami.

Room Tip: Bayfront rooms although a little more expensive. Really worth it !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naguib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here two nights before our cruise out of Miami. The hotel is older but kept clean. Our room had two queen beds that were comfortable a flat screen TV, small microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was smaller but fine. The location is good. Only took us about 15 to 20 min with traffic to get to South Beach. It was about the same to get to the Airport. We ate at the on premises restaurant which was good. We were happy with out stay. I was impressed on how clean the hotel was overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank northcoast1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Me and my couple stayed 3 nights at this hotel to shortly visit Miami prior our trip to Playa del Carmen. All I can say is that our stay couldn't be better.

PERFECT cleanliness on the rooms, on the bathroom, carpets, bed, everything. I was, in fact, surprised about this particular matter because I wasn't expecting this level of cleanliness on an hotel of this category, much better than superior hotels I have been at.

Room size is decent to big, you have a small table where you can eat if you want and also a brand new microwave and mini fridge.

View from the hotel is outstanding, staff is one of the best I have the pleasure to meet. They helped us on everything and were always willing to answer any kind of questions we may have. We also got a complimentary breakfast which was good enough to get a coffee and start your day.

I've heard some comments related to hotel's location saying it's not a safety area. I can say though that I couldn't understand those reviews after staying there. I had my car parked there and I didn't face any issue, police station is right across the street and everything looked pretty calm and nice.

I think for the price I paid, this is a remarkable hotel and I'd highly recommend if you are on a low budget trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaypeeTrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bay Village
Oceanside Hotel
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#81 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Deauville Beach Resort
#160 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,339 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Address: 1819 79th Street Cswy, North Bay Village, FL 33141-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably in our tranquil location on pillow top beds and enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, refrigerator, and single serve coffee makers are also available in the room. With convenient on-site hotel parking, poolside views overlooking Biscayne Bay and our fitness center make us a perfect location to stay. Book our balcony rooms for extra space with exquisite bay or city views. Worried about paying extremely high parking prices near the beach? There is public transportation located directly in front of our hotel that will take you to South Beach at a low and reasonable cost. Best of all we have no resort fees! Come with your family or friends and enjoy an exciting evening at our Shuckers Bar & Grill Restaurant and make it an enjoyable stay at our BEST WESTERN On the Bay & Marina. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing