We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great classic hotel minutes from Miami beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great classic hotel minutes from Miami beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights while enroute back to Canada from Cancun. This older property has lots of plus's. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and dropped us off. The staff are friendly and helpful, free hot breakfast was quite good and well used by the guests. The room is older but has been redone and was clean. The pool was a refreshing and deeper than most at 8'. The restaurant "Shuckers" is right on the water, lots of TV's for sports, real good greasy wings lots of beverages to chose from. Its a bit north of Miami beach but the "L" bus stops outside and takes you to Lincoln Rd. mall in about 1/2hr. You can walk from there anywhere in Miami beach/south beach or take the south beach local bus from there to get around. The hotel offers tour trips and they are a great tourist info. booth at the front desk. Pretty much every language was heard at breakfast people from across the globe staying here. We used airmiles to stay here. we were told that the "ratpack" used to stay here when they were in Miami.It was quiet at night apart from some loud guests coming home from the local club scene at 5:45am. Great spot overall.

Room Tip: the tower section has rooms overlooking the bay however your directly over the bar which has music g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    741
    358
    89
    51
See reviews for
608
651
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week with 2 kids. It is good hotel, very well located in the center - close to the main highways and the city. Offerce a free parking, free Wifi and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avivmo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a room on the top floor overlooking the bay, which was very nice. Staff was really friendly, helped our kids at breakfast, gave good advice on where to go. The restaurant downstairs was also pretty good, made a bit of noise late in the evening, but not in any annoying way. Wi-fi didn't really work though, it almost always said there were too many users logged in already. Oh, well, all those e-mails at worked proably didn't miss me anyway while I sat on the balcony looking out across the bay with a cold beer....

Room Tip: Get a bay-view room. They cost more but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great place to stay,very quiet. the breakfast was ok and the rooms were fine. good service. there is a very good restaurant beside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed for four nights hotel was clean and staff were all excellent.

Some of the communal areas looking a bit outdated.

Chose this hotel as prices nearer downtown very expensive this hotel had free parking, breakfast and wifi.

We had a car so no issues getting around apart from the general horrendous driving conditions in Miami.

Overall a great stay for us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broooce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for new year's eve, after a cruise on the Caribbean.

After looking for something cheap, I found this place with a very reasonable rate for that period.
All hotels near the beach or near South Beach were a lot more expensive...even very simple hotels.

If you compare the rates with others, you get suspicious...but I think it's a sort of "best kept secret".

Also, the booking conditions were good - I could cancel any time without any fines.

One month before this trip I was in Miami area and had the opportunity to visit the hotel and they were very cool and let me visit a couple of rooms.

Clean rooms, nice views...You don't have balconies, but the corridor is a balcony...

Far from everything, you'll need a car for everything...which is not a problem since you're in Miami and probably had rented a car. But at least the hotel offers free parking, not common in Miami.

There's a bar/restaurant on the ground floor, facing the bay...which seemed do be very popular to the nice local people. I mean locals to that area... keep in mind that you're not in posh South Beach.

Breakfast was included and very basic...If you want a really special breakfast, better to go somewhere else...but at least you don't leave with an empty stomach...you can grab a fruit, an bagel and take the road for a nicer spot by the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
377 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at the BW on the Bay after a Celebrity cruise, and because we were holidaying over the Spring Break the prices in SB itself were more than prohibitive. I had read all the reviews so I knew this hotel wasn't fancy schmanzy. I knew there was a 30 minute bus ride into South Beach but I had seen how lovely the views were, and I thought the very good price more than made up for some of the less fancy aspects of a hotel stay. I also rather liked being away from the noise of South Beach. If you walk around the main part of SB when it is busy season it is great for people watching but it is also very very noisy so we did our touring during the days and then returned to the hotel for a quiet evening on our balcony watching the sun going down - the diners below in Shuckers and the bustle of the waterways and the activities of the little airport way over the water (no noise.) Yes there was a bit of a chemical smell after your room had been cleaned but once you got the doors open it soon blew out and the room was huge and I have to say very very comfortable. We had a microwave and a fridge. You could pop downstairs for soda and ice out of a vendor. We loved it. My husband said it was the best bed of the holiday. The walls and the ceiling are not very good - I am not sure what you call the effect in America but we used to call it artex? It would be better plastered and wallpapered but then your room would cost more. :) I can't believe people complain about the FREE breakfast. Yes it got busy - but you could always take your breakfast outside or to you room. It was perfectly adequate considering it is free and you can get coffee all day long. The first time we tried Shuckers, the restaurant underneath we enjoyed it but I soon got sick of the same fare but we were too lazy to walk anywhere else. It is kind of burger and chips,, ribs and chips, fish with chips type of fair. I thought I would try fish one day seeing as we were on the water but it was a bit dry and over cooked. Our balcony more than made up for that though. I even managed to do a spot of bird watching one morning. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Miami and all the other hotels were asking silly prices.

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bay Village
1.8 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#166 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Address: 1819 79th Street Cswy, North Bay Village, FL 33141-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably in our tranquil location on pillow top beds and enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, refrigerator, and single serve coffee makers are also available in the room. With convenient on-site hotel parking, poolside views overlooking Biscayne Bay and our fitness center make us a perfect location to stay. Book our balcony rooms for extra space with exquisite bay or city views. Worried about paying extremely high parking prices near the beach? There is public transportation located directly in front of our hotel that will take you to South Beach at a low and reasonable cost. Best of all we have no resort fees! Come with your family or friends and enjoy an exciting evening at our Shuckers Bar & Grill Restaurant and make it an enjoyable stay at our BEST WESTERN On the Bay & Marina. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing