We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Florianopolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for new year's eve, after a cruise on the Caribbean.

After looking for something cheap, I found this place with a very reasonable rate for that period.
All hotels near the beach or near South Beach were a lot more expensive...even very simple hotels.

If you compare the rates with others, you get suspicious...but I think it's a sort of "best kept secret".

Also, the booking conditions were good - I could cancel any time without any fines.

One month before this trip I was in Miami area and had the opportunity to visit the hotel and they were very cool and let me visit a couple of rooms.

Clean rooms, nice views...You don't have balconies, but the corridor is a balcony...

Far from everything, you'll need a car for everything...which is not a problem since you're in Miami and probably had rented a car. But at least the hotel offers free parking, not common in Miami.

There's a bar/restaurant on the ground floor, facing the bay...which seemed do be very popular to the nice local people. I mean locals to that area... keep in mind that you're not in posh South Beach.

Breakfast was included and very basic...If you want a really special breakfast, better to go somewhere else...but at least you don't leave with an empty stomach...you can grab a fruit, an bagel and take the road for a nicer spot by the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    742
    358
    89
    51
See reviews for
609
652
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
377 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at the BW on the Bay after a Celebrity cruise, and because we were holidaying over the Spring Break the prices in SB itself were more than prohibitive. I had read all the reviews so I knew this hotel wasn't fancy schmanzy. I knew there was a 30 minute bus ride into South Beach but I had seen how lovely the views were, and I thought the very good price more than made up for some of the less fancy aspects of a hotel stay. I also rather liked being away from the noise of South Beach. If you walk around the main part of SB when it is busy season it is great for people watching but it is also very very noisy so we did our touring during the days and then returned to the hotel for a quiet evening on our balcony watching the sun going down - the diners below in Shuckers and the bustle of the waterways and the activities of the little airport way over the water (no noise.) Yes there was a bit of a chemical smell after your room had been cleaned but once you got the doors open it soon blew out and the room was huge and I have to say very very comfortable. We had a microwave and a fridge. You could pop downstairs for soda and ice out of a vendor. We loved it. My husband said it was the best bed of the holiday. The walls and the ceiling are not very good - I am not sure what you call the effect in America but we used to call it artex? It would be better plastered and wallpapered but then your room would cost more. :) I can't believe people complain about the FREE breakfast. Yes it got busy - but you could always take your breakfast outside or to you room. It was perfectly adequate considering it is free and you can get coffee all day long. The first time we tried Shuckers, the restaurant underneath we enjoyed it but I soon got sick of the same fare but we were too lazy to walk anywhere else. It is kind of burger and chips,, ribs and chips, fish with chips type of fair. I thought I would try fish one day seeing as we were on the water but it was a bit dry and over cooked. Our balcony more than made up for that though. I even managed to do a spot of bird watching one morning. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Miami and all the other hotels were asking silly prices.

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

free parking kind attendant people (all,from reception to cleaning people), not so good exterior and elevator, carpets, walls and pool area: dirties. Tv very old Breakfast: no proteins. Good location and views.

Room Tip: last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorge r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 17 nights. The room was very clean, the furniture was good and the beds were very comfortable. AC functioned great. There was always enough parking spaces available. About 15 minutes drive to south beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jirzimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice clean rooms. Beds were comfy. Airco functioned great. Enough parking spaces available. About 15 minutes drive to south beach.
Only downside was the airco in the breakfast area. It blew really cold air. Do something about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

What an adventure getting there. Thought this place would be great as good prices and free airport shuttle but what a joke.
Called in the day to check times were told to call back on arrival to airport. Then told 45 min wait. 1.5 hours later still no shuttle!!! Instead of letting us know there was a problem we had to keep chasing reception who kept telling us it wouldn't be long. Starving and tired from journey this was very disappointing to top it all of Frank the rudest receptionist ever instead of apologizing started to shout at us because this was a courtesy service and they didn't actually have to pick us up!!! And if we weren't happy we should pay for a taxi !!!

2 hours later still not at hotel!!! They obviously only have 1 chap who goes back and forth so cannot accommodate everyone and this service is not 24 hours so to me it's false advertising.
In fairness if reception had been professional and kept us in the loop we could have accept it but I guess some people are not built for customer service!!!
They do have a free breakie every day but it's not very healthy
To go to and from your room you have to go back the bin store which absolutely stinks, dread to think what it's like in the summer when it's hot
Rooms are spacious and comfy beds. The bar downstairs seems very popular too. Short bus ride to north beach

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent 1 night in February prior to our cruise. The price was our reason for this choice. It is not a fancy hotel, typical Best Western.The area is not that nice and it is not close to anything. The room was very clean and the furnishings good. This was one of the best beds I have slept in in a long time, We hung with fellow travellers at Shuckers and had a lot of fun, the food was great and it overlooks the intercoastal.I will say that the front desk people are too serious and never smiled. This is a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bay Village
1.8 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#169 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,555 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
Address: 1819 79th Street Cswy, North Bay Village, FL 33141-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably in our tranquil location on pillow top beds and enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, refrigerator, and single serve coffee makers are also available in the room. With convenient on-site hotel parking, poolside views overlooking Biscayne Bay and our fitness center make us a perfect location to stay. Book our balcony rooms for extra space with exquisite bay or city views. Worried about paying extremely high parking prices near the beach? There is public transportation located directly in front of our hotel that will take you to South Beach at a low and reasonable cost. Best of all we have no resort fees! Come with your family or friends and enjoy an exciting evening at our Shuckers Bar & Grill Restaurant and make it an enjoyable stay at our BEST WESTERN On the Bay & Marina. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing