We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time but not our last”
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“First time but not our last”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

You could not ask for a better location or service. Tekla & Robert were the best of hosts. Tekla was under the weather but still managed to greet us when we arrived. Can't wait to go back. Sorry we didn't get a chance to set and watch the sunset and enjoy a beer our glass of wine with all the other guests. We will definitely do that next year. This turned out to be one of most enjoy vacations to the west coast of Florida. We love just walking the beach and shelling each morning. The sunsets were pretty great as well. We feel like part of the family now. The only negative and this is a small one is the Wi-Fi system. Hard to get a signal sometimes. It worked best in the kitchen. Could need another router closer to the villa areas? No big deal - didn't miss much.

Room Tip: Rooms are hard to come by. This maybe the most popular place on Nokomis Beach. We stayed in the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekla D, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Our recently added antenna has obviously not given our WiFi signal a big enough boost, so we are now looking at "Plan B" which will include a dedicated line to the villas along with another router.
Thanks for your patience with this inconvenience.

Tekla
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ont. cda.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for one week Dec.31-Jan.7-14 in cottage #4. Very clean and nicely decorated .Everything you would need for your stay.Robert and Tekla had left a plate of cookies and candy in the frig for the first evening snack. Lots of towels and bedding. We had our own patio area and table and barbeque. Right on the Gulf down a short path. Nice sandy beach and lots of shells to collect. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Cottage # 4 , two bds. close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the second time we had the privilege of staying at The Beachcomber, and can't wait to return again & again. The hosts, Tekla and Robert run a 1st class property. Everything we could have wanted was at the apartment and convenient to restaurants and shopping. The beach is gorgeous just outside our door and the amenities top the list. Nicely decorated, very beachy and comfortable throughout.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apt. #3 which is on the second floor with a nice porch in back, and small seating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionQueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first time at the Beachcomber. It was just perfect so relaxing and so friendly. We stayed in the north villa it had every thing that you could wish for including a beach bag chairs and umbrellas gas grill we even had our own private area with loungers table and chairs. We had the best of both facilities just cross the road and you are on the beach. Tekla and Robert are all ways on hand if you require them and they made us feel welcome and we felt that we had been going for years. The location is perfect in every way and our stay was so memorable that we still have not got over getting back to the UK. We can not wait to get back next November.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are from the UK and having travelled in 49 states of the USA we can honestly say that this is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in a relaxed and friendly place on the beach. Tekla and Robert cannot do enough to make you feel welcome and your stay memorable. We had apartment 7 that was perfect in every way, everything used is top class and comfortable. Exceptionally clean throught. A lovely balcony to watch dolphins, pelicans and other seashore birds while you have breakfast on the balcony! Tekla and Robert are able to give you ideas where the best restaurants are located. In all a perfect place and cannot wait to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was actually our second time back at the beachcomber. This resort is such a gem. We always have such a good time and you can NOT beat the location-right on the beach! Our toddlers played all day on the beach, the resort provided chairs and umbrellas which were a welcome amenity. We would travel in the afternoon to the local market and pick up our dinner and grill on the one of the gas grills provided. If your looking for room sevice with turn down and a stocked minibar- this is not the place for you!! If you are looking for a pristine beach, family oriented with a classic old time florida feel, you found it! Just be sure to only pass it along to your closest friends!!

The rooms are absolutely (impeccably) clean with Florida style decor. I gave them only 4 out of 5 because it was so hot during our stay our a/c could not keep the room cool and we had to use the fans provided. Any other month I'm sure it would be manageable!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Price is reasonable, clean, nicely decorated, great hosts, AND Casey Key. Beachcomber is also within walking distance to the jetty, with the Casey Key drum circle very close by. I know I'm probably in the minority but I think I prefer the villas across the street, or at least equally. My wife might disagree since we had a split stay and also stayed on the ocean side too. Our villa was very spacious, great size kitchen and living area. There is a patio, grill, and a dock out front if you'd like to do a little fishing. It wouldn't bother me at all if I had to settle for the villa again since I like the serene view and private patio area on the inlet. You can't go wrong either way. Tekla and Robert were great host. Robert needs to work on his english though, he still speaks British :)

Room Tip: The villa across the street (with the patio) more than met my expectation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richaaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nokomis
0.1 mi away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 12 in Nokomis
275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Addys Villas
Addys Villas
#3 of 12 in Nokomis
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.0 mi away
On the Beach- Casey Key
0.1 mi away
Gulf Shore Beach Resort
Gulf Shore Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Nokomis
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Property: The Beachcomber
Address: 129 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber consists of twelve apartments & cottages located on the beach on Casey Key We are an intimate friendly place where you can enjoy a quiet bit of "Old Florida". Our units are exceptionally clean and fully furnished. It's the kind of place where guests return year after year and bring their friends. Give us a call and we will save a sunset for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Nokomis
Beachcomber Hotel Nokomis
Beachcomber Motel Nokomis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing