We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It gets better and better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It gets better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from our 5th successive year at the Beachcomber, the first year we were impressed and in each successive year it really has got better and better. This small group of beachside apartments are situated on the beach at Casey Key, a barrier island on the Gulf of Mexico about 15 miles south of Sarasota, the location is stunning, with each apartment just a few steps from the beautiful beach. The units, some circa 1950, others more recently built are spotlessly clean, well equipped, meticulously maintained and regularly refurbished. The efficient owner Tekla and her ever available to help, husband Robert are friendly and genuinely concerned that you thoroughly enjoy your stay. Try it I guarantee you'll go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Emberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As an innkeeper myself, I have a tendency to be very picky about where I choose to stay. After reading previous reviews, I felt that I had made a good decision to stay at the Beachcomber for my only annual "getaway". The fact is, I was absolutely blown away by the owners, the staff, and the quality of the establishment. Nothing is overlooked. A welcome note, accompanied by fresh flowers welcomed us, along with a plate of "goodies" in the refrigerator. The kitchen is as complete as any gourmet cook could imagine, complete with smooth cooktop range with convection oven, more than enough dishes and glasses to suit a large family, extra cooking/serving containers, and large serving dishes for entertaining. Nothing was lacking in the kitchen and the quality of the cookware, dishes, etc. was exceptional, right down to cloth napkins and an electric mixer.

The living area was furnished exquisitely with comfy chairs, a sofa and a huge TV. Sitting on the lanai having coffee in the morning was a special treat. Having champagne in the hammock was pretty great, too. Robert, Tesla and Tesla's mom, Valerie are super hosts! They made us feel like one of the family and guided us toward some local attractions and restaurants that turned out to be spot on.

You could tell that nothing was spared in the refurbishment of this establishment. There were plenty of extra towels in the linen closet and even a beach bag, containing beach towels! The beach chairs were good quality, too. We were invited to a Friday night drum circle which turned out to be quite unique.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this secret hideaway to anyone looking for something that will certainly exceed their expectations.

Room Tip: I wouldn't try to save a few bucks and not have a view of the water. This place is special - an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveDiva314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 glorious nights in Sept. 2012. We stayed in apartment 6 in the New Florida Section. It was as perfect as could be; extremely clean, extremely well-stocked, comfortable bed with an amazing view of the beach!!!! Tekla and Robert were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, kind or accomodating. Truly amazing service! They obviously LOVE what the do. Oh, and, the room is decorated so nicely. The beach at Casey Key is very beautiful and peaceful. We found lots of unusual shells. According to my mother, a local, the shells are actually what keep the beach so uncrowded; people seem to prefer the very fine, powdery white sand of the much more crowded beaches. I just wore my flip flops to walk over the few feet of broken shells (although I could've gone barefoot) and enjoyed having the gorgeous ocean and beach practically to ourselves! Love it!!! We hope to come back several times a year!!!

Room Tip: I would not hesitate to stay in any of the beachside rooms, but if they were full, I'd surely st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilinSkylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one week in August and had the best time! Great location to area attractions and beautiful beach! The room was very clean and spacious, and felt very cozy. Valerie, Tekla and Robert made us feel right at home. We just can't say enough as to how pleased we were to stay here and how accomidating our hosts were. There is no doubt we will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and our 2 little boys (2 yrs and 2 months old) took advantage of a work conference in Orlando and headed to Casey Key. We had driven through Casey Key on a previous trip to Florida and decided that we'd like to come back. I read through some reviews online and must say that they were all very true for the Beachcomber. We were lucky to get an apartment at the Beachcomber for just 3 nights and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We loved the apartment that was so cozy and with a view of the ocean. The couple that own the place were super nice and made sure we had everything we needed. We had a lot of fun just hanging out on the beach and in the apartment with our two boys and would recommned this place to anyone that wants to experience Casey key at its finest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family stayed here for 4 nights in August and had a great stay. We were in room 106 which is a 2nd floor balcony room facing the ocean. The beach is approx. 30 yards from the room. The room was spacious and had lots of ammenitites. The bed was very comforatable as well.
The only thing missing was a pool but who needs that when the gulf is right there.
My family will definitely stay here again when visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Beachcomber, and I am extremely impressed. It is rare that I encounter service as excellent as we received this week. We read all of the reviews prior to going, and we were impressed that only one review was less than 5 stars. We had high expectations, and they were exceeded. There is a reason that nearly every review references Tekla and Robert. They are truly excellent hosts. If you are looking for the best sunsets with outstanding service, look no farther.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nokomis
0.1 mi away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 11 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
9.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach- Casey Key
On the Beach- Casey Key
#2 of 5 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Property: The Beachcomber
Address: 129 Casey Key Rd, Nokomis, FL 34275-3304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber consists of twelve apartments & cottages located on the beach on Casey Key We are an intimate friendly place where you can enjoy a quiet bit of "Old Florida". Our units are exceptionally clean and fully furnished. It's the kind of place where guests return year after year and bring their friends. Give us a call and we will save a sunset for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Nokomis
Beachcomber Hotel Nokomis
Beachcomber Motel Nokomis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing