We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachview Room”
Review of A Beach Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Beach Retreat
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beachview Room”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful beachview room with a kitchenette. Outdoor grill and beach chairs available for guests. Bed and sofa comfortable and rooms were clean. Perfect casual spot to relax and watch the sunset!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    65
    21
    2
    9
See reviews for
99
108
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Virgin Islands
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent two nights here while in the area, and we wouldn't go back. We were in room #5, a sort of studio. The mattress was worn out and stained, which I became aware of because the sheets and mattress pad did not fit and kept popping off during the night. The sheets were made of polyester - too hot for Florida - and were torn.

The kitchenette was okay, but who needs a fridge and full stove with oven on vacation. The furniture was dated. The best thing was the cable TV, which had a good selection of channels.

The beach looked nice, although we did not have time to use it. There was decent parking not too far from the rooms.

I requested a bill for our stay, but was told they only issue the small credit card receipt. All in all, not a very professional operation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latifolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is really an awesome stay. We got a condo overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the view was stunning. Just steps away from the beach and plenty of restaurants and stores nearby by. The condo was clean and had ample room for 2 adults 2 children with a good size kitchen area. The location is the true treat when you stay at this hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99RobinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was such a pleasant get-a-way! We spent two nights this weekend for our wedding anniversary. this was s departure for us, being mostly full service hotel or BandB travelers. A Beach Retreat is a Do It Yourself spot. Efficiencies, clean, well maintained grounds, safe. Beach and gulf units. We had a small kitchen, fully appointed with full size fridge, coffee pot, microwave, toaster and plates, glasses, etc etc. We were able to make breakfast both mornings. And take our wine and cheese out for two spectacular sunsets! The room was steps from the beach, and - for the price - was an amazing experience. The complimentary loungers made our beach time so comfy. This is a not a "Dial 0" place. You are pretty much on your own, but frankly, we felt like we owned the place! Private, intimate, comfy. A MUST TRY!

Room Tip: Stay beachside for the few extra dollars! Bring your groceries to save time and money during your tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie-n-Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We wanted a beach and spring training baseball weekend and found this online. Casey Key is new to us and a nice little find. Easy drive from most of West Florida and convenient to both Ft. Myers and Tampa airports, it's got a bit of Old Florida feel. There are many different room choices at this hotel but because of Spring Break we did not have as many. The resort is split in half by the main road (small enough that it's almost not noticeable) with one side on the beach and one on the canal. Our room #45 was on the canal side. It was an efficiency for 2. The room was nice, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice and more than enough. The was a full size fridge, stove, microwave, sink, and coffee pot with all the plates, cups, and silverware needed. Office Staff was very nice. We brought our bikes and found it a perfect bike riding area. Quick drive to either Sarasota or Venice.

This room had a beautiful view from the slider to the canal and the boat docks, but unfortunately it was right next to the public boat ramp which was noisy. Not a huge problem except for a group of very noisy and rude teenagers that seemed to hang there everyday we were there. One kid would park his blue hydrosport with a Yahama engine at the dock and commence to raise hell with his teenage friends for the rest of the day. (local kid, friend of the staff?). My suggestion would be to avoid any room by the canal/docks as the hotel seems to allow anyone to just fish off the docks or throw cast nets.

All in all, a nice experience. If management would enforce their No Trespassing rules, it would make it all the better. I would recommend this hotel if you got a beach side room away from the boat ramp. If you can't, choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the canal side due to loud local teenagers and lack of enforcement of No Trespassing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank floridaisparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This place is like paradise. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Unlike a hotel you can get a 1 bedroom unit which I love for a little privacy. I love having a kitchen to cook some meals. The beach is beautiful and very clean there are tons of sharks teeth to find during long sea shell hunts. My favorite part is the drum circle on wed and sat nights. We love dancing with belly dancing skirts to at least 20 bongo players. A sea shell is blown at sunset and then the most beautiful orange skies dance to the beat as the sun dips below the water. This place is so very perfect a local secret no high rise hotel anywhere.

Room Tip: get at least a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

A Beach Retreat-Unit   -What you should know- All the units are independently owned and furnished.  We stayed in Unit #14 .The unit you rent may be under stocked or not. if you are in need of fine amenities this is not the place for you. Good features are a fine view of the beach and a serviceable mattress.  Features
 I wish I knew about before I signed on - the window in the bedroom is a fixed unit, which means there is no access to a sea breeze or gulf lullaby. The unit is advertised as suitable for four people, why then are there only three teaspoons. The is no full length mirror, no real closet pole to hang you clothes up with and a shortage of towel racks in the bathroom. 
 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phytowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nokomis
1.9 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nokomis
2.5 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Addys Villas
Addys Villas
#3 of 12 in Nokomis
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gulf Shore Beach Resort
Gulf Shore Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Nokomis
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nokomis Inn and Suites
Nokomis Inn and Suites
#6 of 12 in Nokomis
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Retreat

Property: A Beach Retreat
Address: 105 Casey Key Rd, Nokomis, FL 34275-3304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Beach Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key is a condo hotel that offers beach and bay front vacation rentals located directly on the Gulf of Mexico in Sarasota, Florida. Whether its a weekend getaway or family reunion, A Beach Retreat is the ideal location next to world famous Siesta Key and just north of Venice, Florida. Experience the quiet island charm of Casey Key while still being close to everything Sarasota has to offer. Our tropical setting with fabulous beachfront vistas is perfect for weddings, family vacations or simply a much needed escape from the hustle and bustle. Bring your boat - we have private slips available with shore power. Waterfront dining as well as Gulf Harbour Marina are within walking distance. Casey Key is known for its excellent fishing. Bring your camera and capture one of our amazing sunsets. Nightly, Weekly, and Monthly Rentals Available. Be sure to ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your A Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beach Retreat Hotel Nokomis
a Beach Retreat Nokomis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing