We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - great service - local fun flavor!”

Captain Eddie's Seafood Bar
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Nokomis
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food - great service - local fun flavor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate there twice .. great food .. coconut shrimp, gumbo .. can't go wrong! Very friendly and knowledgeable staff! We noticed many of the locals eat here on a regular basis!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargeK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    187
    101
    40
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not that good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

service so-so,food sometimes good sometimes very good,prices are high unless you get early birds which you have to ask for!!3 visits not once did the server give early bird specials with-out me asking.paper plates and plastic silverware,you'd think prices were a little less.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank herv r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Fun and friendly atmosphere. I had the broiled Scallops and they were done perfect. My partner had the Oysters and they were huge. We also tried the crab cakes and peel and eat shrimp. Loved the fried okra and hush puppies. They have a great wine list, very reasonably priced. Even though we were full we split a slice of Key Lime pie. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We plan on going back and I'm going to try the Gator bites!

Helpful?
Thank mocorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had lunch here with my parents. The waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. On her recommendation, we shared an order of stone crabs, which we never prior to this. They were excellent. I had a dozen raw oysters; they were fresh and good size. The decor and atmosphere is typical Florida/Sea, comfortable and love the paper towel roll on the table. They have a tiki bar which looks fun and is apparently crowded with the evening/night crowd. We will definitely be back when visiting the Venice Area again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Several years ago the food was much better than it is today. From what we were told by the staff was that their supplier has changed over the years and that's the reason for the decline in food quality. The staff has always been very friendly & courteous. But that doesn't make up for the food quality. If fried frozen food is what you consider seafood to be then this place might be of interest to you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Eddie's Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Captain Eddie's Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing