We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An awesome stay in paradise !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island House Apartment Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island House Apartment Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Nokomis
Valdosta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An awesome stay in paradise !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just got home from a 3 week stay at Island House, that was the most awesome vacation ever. The managers, Staci and Earl, are absolutely the greatest. They make each guest feel welcome and at home. Earl went out of his way to show all the guest that were interested, a sea turtle release one night. Staci, at the end of her shift, knowing that we would be gone by the time she got back, personally came to our room and wished us a safe trip home. The beach is beautiful and basically right out the back door. The accommodations are extremely inviting but don't expect maid service because you are at home away from home. We liked it so well that we made reservations for 4 weeks next summer, but will be back again for 2 weeks at Christmas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but we feel the top floor is better for the views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Spending 8 days here and am nothing short of impressed. The place is old fashion, with no pool but when you step out your back door and are 20 feet from the beach sand who needs a pool! The managers (Staci and Earl) are AMAZING! Super friendly and willing to accommodate! I honestly cannot speak high enough of this place. There is no maid service but you get a true feeling of being home here, they provide fresh linens and supplies as needed. I don't think I have ever experienced peace and quiet like I have here. If peace and quiet is what you seek, then THIS is the place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just spent 11 days at the Island House. This was a yearly visit as we have stayed there at least the past four years. If you want everything you need, especially peace and quiet and relaxation, this is for you. Staci and Earl, the managers are there to solve any issues you might have. We love it because you can sit on the "patio" and watch the sunset with new friends that you make while you are there. It is so relaxing and wonderful. Plan ahead because everybody who stays there wants to go back and there is limited space. We have our room reserved for next summer!

Room Tip: All the apartments face the water. The motel rooms do not but the beach is just a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok I really wanted to keep this a secret but.... This place is awesome, immaculately clean room, awesome view of Gulf, quick access to beach, everything we needed in the efficiancy room . We walked in and were taken by surprise, all we had to do was hit the beach! And a huge thank you to the management Stacy and Earl two wonderful people. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay of true relaxation!

Room Tip: A true touch of old Florida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie10002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I can't rave enough about Island House. The rooms are clean and simple, which is perfect when you spend 99% of your stay covered in sand! I was wary about the murphy bed, but both my husband and I found it plush and comfortable. The beach is clean, uncrowded and immediately at your toes when you walk outside. I loved that there was a kitchen in our apt. and grills available outside. We bought fish from Walt's Fish Market in Sarasota and grilled it while taking in the amazing view! Staci and Earl are super friendly, too. We already booked our next visit! What a gem!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelyoung14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We love the Island House! The location is perfect, the view is fantastic, and Staci and Earl are the most accomodating hosts/managers! We go every year and have never been disappointed. Book early for best room selection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My cousin and I only had one night to spend at the beach, so we stayed in one of the road-side motel rooms. I cannot wait to come back for 3 nights, so I can spend them in a gulf-side room! The location is awesome! The view is amazing! Earl, the hotel manager was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nokomis
0.1 mi away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 11 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
3.1 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nokomis Inn and Suites
Nokomis Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Apartment Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Apartment Motel

Property: Island House Apartment Motel
Address: 205 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Nokomis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island House is a quaint two story beachfront resort located on beautiful unspoiled Casey Key, approximately 15 miles south of Sarasota. The efficiencies or studio apartments and 1 BR apartments open directly onto the Gulf of Mexico and have full, well equipped kitchens. Guests enjoy the quiet tropical paradise. Island House also has motel rooms which do not face the gulf, but are equipped with a refrigerator/freezer, microwave and coffee pot, and are just steps from the beach. Owned by the same family since 1960, our guests keep returning year after year and so will you. Join us for beautiful sunsets at your Island House getaway. Our managers Staci and Earl handle our reservations and bookings directly to give the best personal attention to the details of your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing