We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere at the fire pit tables”
Review of Pops Sunset Grill

Pops Sunset Grill
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Pops features fresh grilled seafood, oyster bar items, over sized burgers, sandwiches & wraps. Daily Specials and weekend entertainment.We now feature several Craft Beers on Tap and by the bottle. We have seating for large groups and welcome families. Pops is a local favorite. Try one of our Fresh Oven Baked Flat breads or nosh on a basket of fried shrimp, clams or crab cakes. Our little place is located right on the water, we are laid back and have an excellent team of friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff! Drop by for Happy Hour 3-6 Daily!
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere at the fire pit tables”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We met friends at Pops Sunset Grill on a Sunday evening around 6pm and were fortunate to find an available fire pit table. These table seat 8 if you have a larger party, but there were just four of us. The service was outstanding and fun. The pina colada absolutely the best any of us had ever had…hand mixed with the rum floating on top and not too sweet. I had the teriyaki burger with pineapple and it was great. My husband had the ribs which he said were meaty but needed barbecue sauce for flavor. We would definitely go back and would wait for seating in the area with the fire pit tables. That is the only part of the restaurant that has any atmosphere to speak of, but on a cool night, we thoroughly enjoyed the light and the heat of the fire.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi elsh- Thanks for your recent visit to Pops and sharing your experience on TA! Sounds like you all enjoyed a cozy evening around one of our fire pits is a great way to enjoy Pops on a cool night. The weather is continuing to improve and we hope to see you again soon and often! safe travels and cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    500
    197
    70
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite spot”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been going to Pops for over 40 years. Have always had great food and excellent service. All of the staff are very pleasant. We especially enjoy being served by Steve (waiter) and Dana. Both always friendly and very efficient. Also, the view is the best in the area. Will continue to go often when we are here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1946Patricia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Greetings 1946Patricia07! Thank you for making our favorite place you favorite place as well! We truly appreciate your long time patronage of Pops and can imagine all of the changes you have encountered over the years. We are happy to know that our friendly service, good food and great view have remained in tact! Thank you for sharing your kind comments on TA and we look forward to serving you again for another 40 years! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pops rocks!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Donna, Nazareth, and Paul are awesome. Extremely friendly service and an outstanding atmosphere. You must try Pops!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gbaker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Greetings Gbaker8! Thank you for stopping by Pops recently and sharing the nice comments on our staff on TA! We think our staff "rocks" too and will be sure to pass along the compliments! We hope to see you again soon! cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“We found a new favorite!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We told were told about Pop's by a couple we met while shark tooth hunting at Caspersen Beach. Pops was everything they promised! The drinks were great and the food was fantastic! Highly recommend the Resolution Salad and the Mixed Grill ( lobster tail, mango grilled shrimp, and a Mahi-Mahi fillet). We had a great "fire pit" table and our server Tiffany was super!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caferacer625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Caferacer625! Thanks for taking the "tip" and visiting us at Pops! We have been fortunate to make many new friends this way, thanks for sharing your great experience on TA and we look forward to seeing you again when you are looking for a fun and friendly place to go! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food with beautiful view overlooking the Gulf”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Pop's is a popular local hangout for a brew and a burger - especially on Monday when burgers are half price. My wife had a lightly battered seafood platter. Servers are friendly and efficient. Some tables have a small fire in the center of the table to warm a chilly night. Worth the effort to find Pop's which is at the end of a street behind a boat storage warehouse.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello guitarzan06031946- some places are worth looking for and thanks for make the trip to Pops!
Good timing as well as Burger Mondays are ending soon- but don't worry- they will return again in June as we have done for many years! We appreciate your sharing your comments on TA. We look forward to seeing you again soon and often! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pops Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing