We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Pops Sunset Grill

Pops Sunset Grill
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Pops features fresh grilled seafood, oyster bar items, over sized burgers, sandwiches & wraps. Daily Specials and weekend entertainment.We now feature several Craft Beers on Tap and by the bottle. We have seating for large groups and welcome families. Pops is a local favorite. Try one of our Fresh Oven Baked Flat breads or nosh on a basket of fried shrimp, clams or crab cakes. Our little place is located right on the water, we are laid back and have an excellent team of friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff! Drop by for Happy Hour 3-6 Daily!
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We live here full time and have really enjoyed going to Pops for many years...lunch with grandkids, dinner. But, ever since they replaced plastic plates and silverware with the real thing the quality of food has decreased. We tried yet, again last night. Service was wonderful and the view great, as always. However,the food is beyond greasy. The quality of the great burgers isn't the same. What a shame. So sorry we won't be going back unless we hear that food quality has improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeannie652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi jeannie652013- I was "disappointed" to read your comments on TA and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Yes, we did go away from paper plates and disposable cutlery a little while back, we are trying to be good stewards of the environment and know that many of our visitors always got a kick out of the very casual "dinnerware" we used... however; we didn't change the great burgers or other Pops favorites I assure you! I discussed your comments with our team to insure our procedures are in place to deliver a consistent and quality product time and again. I do hope you will come back and give us another try...cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,168 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

The place is not very clean and smells like pine sol. I have never in my life tasted such bad wine. I think they poured it out of a 5 gallon bucket or made it themselves in a barn somewhere or prison perhaps.lol The food is bad and shrimp seems thawed out and very old. I suggest you get everything fried so it will disguise the seafood. Do not get any salad for, this is not the salad place(if you know what I mean.) Old redneck drunks at bar that get in their cars and drive since they can't walk. The server said they did not have change so could we could not use cash. Server also stated they did not like cash because other servers cant count back change. WHAT? THIS WOULD NEVER happen in New York but, we hear it all the time in Sarasota. Owners must love paying Am Ex 5% in Florida! Do not get it. They do except cash in Pelican Alley and have better food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Classact10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Greetings sarasota69! Thank you for you your recent visit to Pops! I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience. We share all of the comments we receive with our management team and staff in order to continue to find ways to improve the experience for all of our guest, visitors and patrons! Safe travels-Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food is delicious, they have specials almost every night and the staff are very attentive. We went on a Friday night and they had a band playing, fun to dance and sing along!

Thank MaxandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Greetings MaxandDiane! Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and sharing your fun experience on TA! Lots of good weather of late and a wonderful time to chill out at Pops and have a little fun! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe travels and cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the intercoastel's best kept secrets. The food is awesome. The shrimp and scallop basket is one of the best. The steam pots are excellent. The drinks are yummy. The atmosphere is out this world. The servers are very, very good and attentive. A must stop if you are in the area.

Pat & Al

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Patricia R- You are too kind! Thank you for another visit to Pops and sharing such wonderful comments about your experiences! We know you have have many food and beverage establishments to choose from, we truly appreciate your patronage and will continue to work every day to make the experience you shared the same for all of our visitors, guest and patrons!
We look forward to seeing you and Al again soon! Thank you again & Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stopped in for a drink and bar food. Tried the wings - teriyaki style were delish and went for these upon recommendation from the barmaid. Service was prompt & efficient. Just wouldn't sit near the bar blender again as every time they made a drink, you couldn't hear the conversation from the person sitting right next to you!

Thank Trav-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hi Trav-Val- Thanks for stopping by Pops and giving TA readers something to look forward to! Our Teriyaki Wings are very tasty and one of the interesting varieties we offer. I appreciate your comments about the Bar Blender noise, we will explore some solutions- giving the lively conversation that takes place at Pops...we don't want anyone to miss a word! See you soon! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pops Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing